You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Top Ten movies of the Horror Genre.

in Movies & TV Shows3 years ago (edited)

Horror is also my favorite genre, and you had a great choice of movies there. I have seen them all but not entirely about Eden Lake, maybe I would need to give it a rewatch.

About this:

In recent years the Horror Cinema has experienced a fall, films are made with the typical scares, the same legends

I think you are right for the most part with that observation, however, you will be surprised if you take the time to research horror from previous decades. The most likely thing to happen is that you will encounter some films/series that you haven't seen and are great. This is what has happened to me. I can recommend you these productions that you didn't mention in the post so I assume you haven't seen them.

  • Lake Mungo: excellent horror story if you like the found footage subgenre. This is the best found footage horror film I have seen.

  • The Haunting of Hill House: this was a horror masterpiece from Netflix, especially in the first episodes. If you like horror you need to watch this series. In the second half of the season, it becomes less scary but at the beginning it was awesome. This is an anthology production, so each season has a new story, the second season is called The Haunting of Bly Manor, and even though it was good, it was far from being as scary as the first season.

  • Marianne: Netflix also has this French series about a witch. It isn't as good as the Haunting of Hill House but again, that series for me was a masterpiece. I think this series was canceled but it was cool :(

  • The Outsider: great mystery series from HBO involving a very creepy being that can make unexplainable things. It had a great cast and good writing. This series is mainly mystery and suspense and not really horror though.

  • Channel Zero: you should also check this anthology series from Syfy. I recommend you to skip the first season and watch the other 3. Season 2 called "No End House" has an excellent opening scene that I absolutely loved. The series can get creepy and intriguing and you will probably enjoy it. This series was also canceled, but since this is an anthology at least the stories don't end up incomplete.

  • Servant: this is an apple TV+ series, again, this one isn't really horror but mystery and suspense. First season was awesome, second season not so much but I am expecting an explosive third season.

As you can see, nowadays most productions are taking the form of series for streaming platforms. I hope these recommendations can help you find good content.

Cheers!

Sort:  

Hi thanks for your comment:

I missed quite a few movies in the post.

Lake Mundo: I'm not sure if I saw it, I'm planning to look for it.

The Haunting of Hill House: I haven't seen it, I'm going to look for it.

Marianne: One of my favorite series excellent.

The Outsider: I watched several episodes, but it didn't appeal to me.

Channel Zero: I watched the first season and did not continue. I will follow your recommendation and watch the other seasons.

Servant: Spectacular I just finished the 2nd season.

I love cinema and almost all its genres, like action movies, crime, war, drama, etc.

Cheers