Community Celebration : SilverGoldStackers

in LeoFinance2 years ago (edited)

It is impossible for me to talk about great communities on HIVE without talking about the SilverGoldStackers. I was a stacker of precious metals before I came to the blockchain in 2017 but when I joined up with the fledgling SSG (as it was then known) not long after...I became an international stacker and part of a brother and sisterhood of really quite amazing people from around the world.

sgs_logo_main.gif

The SGS community is now into it’s 5th year and it's here to stay. Over the years it has ebbed and flowed a bit, but there has always been a solid and dedicated core of people who just want to share and enjoy each others love and appreciation of precious metals. Old faces may fade away and be replaced by new faces, but all are welcomed to get involved and when those old faces resurface they always fit right back in as if they were never away.

Over the years this community has done some pretty cool stuff. Like minting it’s own silver rounds, holding massive fundraising raffles worth thousands and even crafting special items and prizes for each others contests and competitions on HIVE. Every year the community does a “Secret Santa” and posts beautiful precious metals treasures to each other across the globe. It’s always fun to watch those “unboxing” posts every year as community members put together unique gifts and messages for each other.

ssg_round2019.png
Source

The SilverGoldStackers community also has a vibrant Discord Channel where there is a lot of banter and it is a great place for newbies to ask questions and seek advice about stacking. If anyone out there has an interest in precious metals or alternative physical currencies then I’d strongly encourage you to check out the SilverGoldStackers and get involved. You’ll be glad you did!

EDIT - This post is part of the Community Celebration Challenge being promoted by @guiltyparties

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

We must have been the first "true" community?? So glad to have found you guys so early on. Youve all been a big part of mynlife for these past 5yrs

I reckon so. SSG showed the way before the communities feature was even built.

Yep, it’s been that long. Dam time flies. Life throws us plenty of curveballs, so taking a break is necessary some times. I’ve been pretty fortunate that I think of this place as a sanity check. So I’ve only missed one day of posting ever when my dad passed away. All are welcome back with open arms. Well said brother, it’s also good to see you posting once again more frequently.👍🍺 Cheers mate

Thanks man. You are solid as a rock my brother.

It's hard to believe 5 years has almost passed, I was so happy to find other stackers.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Indeed. I knew a few Australian stackers before, but have learnt heaps from the International stackers of this community.

I put up with many sub dollar posts, lost a lot of sleep writing, and spent the first 3+ years only able to upvote dust yet I've managed to stay. There were so many times I wanted to give up. If I got asked, "Was it worth it?" I'd still hesitate to answer, if it were not for timely support and the friendships.

A little bit of support can make all the difference. I've had burnout plenty over the last 5 years and wouldn't have made it this far without the friendships. Glad you're still here!

Our 3 word never ending story on discord runs 5 years already too. Guiness record ?

I'm glad to meet all of u

I celebrate the silver stackers too.. You all are doing a great job