Reflecting on the meaning of mana in Hive

in LeoFinancelast year

There is always something to be curious about in Hive.

Today I am curious about the meaning of mana in Hive. I was reminded by a well-meaning fellow Hiver to keep my mana higher if possible. But why did everyone calls it mana. Am I missing out something?

We all know mana has something to do with the value our vote bestow. I had wrtten about how long it takes for votes to replenish to 100% previously. I didn't use the term mana then.

Mana was a strange term for me. It's a cool term, but what does it mean?

I searched online for some answers, and I gathered that it has to do with energy, or force that permeates the world, like what Wikipedia suggests. Some ancient cultures have their interpretations of it as related to life force or what makes the world go around, so to speak.

Wow!

It's a beautiful term!

It is clever that the Hive blockchain adopts this lingo of referring to energy within it as mana.

In fact, it is rather esoteric if you ask me. The mana we hold changes the world as it accompanies the activities in the Hive blockchain.

The takeaway revelation for me is this:

There is no right or wrong use of one's mana. We can vote anyhow as we wish. As this process goes on, definitely something about the world would have been changed as a result.

I guess we could say "use your upvotes wisely". But wisdom is subjective and personal. There should be no judgment on how the Hive world should turn out.

We get the Hive we collectively deserve, anyway.

P/S: This is not financial advice, and please do your own due diligence before investing.

If you read this far... and if you are a like-minded Hiver who is on the path to learning more about Hive and crypto investing, and if you like to be tagged when I write such posts, I welcome you to leave a comment below and let me know. We can form an alliance to support each other's growth.

You might be interested in this post, @graciousvic, @deflacion, @jacoalberts, @young-kedar, @svanbo, @sumotori, @zakludick, @poplar-22 and @hankanon!

What is Hive?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

The term mana is very tied to magic in my opinion. Atleast that's what it's called in video games and such... The more "spells" you cast the more mana you use... Sort of like you described.. The energy flow... So once the mana is done you become weaker and have to wait for it to regenerate...

And that's a big reason as to why I see Hive as some sort of game 😂😂

It is!

What is magical is that the value of mana increase in a bull market!

!PIZZA

Vote Mana = Ressource credits, isn't it? How does your vote mana drop? I've been delegating a good part and I still don't get under 99%.
Different to my voting power, which drops quickly when I get myself to curate !LOL

They are different things. Vote mana is reduced with voting, resource credit is like gas fees to be used for transaction. Beautiful thing on hive: they get replenished!

Hope your Voting Mana gets replenished fast enough to keep with your rapid voting! 🤗

Have some !LOLZ with !LUV! 😁

I like to think my mana change the world for the better!

https://peakd.com/hive-167922/@cryptothesis/reflecting-on-the-meaning-of-mana-in-hive

!PIZZA

If you vote at 50% Voting Mana (or "Voting Power" as it appears on #HiveBlocks and Hive.Ausbit.Dev) at 100% Vote Percent, your vote will be worth only half of what the value should be when you vote at 100% VM (though I also recommend not to let your VM sit at 100%), but almost 2% of your VM will still be consumed when voting at 100% Vote Percent regardless of how much your remaining VM is. 🤓

In short, the lower your Voting Mana when you vote, the less curation rewards you will get (as well as the lower the author rewards the publisher of the post or comment you voted on will get). 😏

!LUV

Got it!

It’s a good question how much minimally would make people pay attention to a vote… but I don’t have an answer. I just go by feeling! !PIZZA

At least for me, no matter how tiny the upvote is, it's !lovely to see upvotes. 🤗 #dustsweeper and #dustbunny are here on Hive to help pick up tiny dust votes. 😅

I like to think my mana change the world for the better!

https://peakd.com/hive-167922/@cryptothesis/reflecting-on-the-meaning-of-mana-in-hive

I wonder why you made a very similar reply under my comment about 7 minutes after the previous, but this time without a tip token. 😅 !LOLZ

I wonder too! Heheh

It's possible that there was a little problem with the Hive RPC node that you connected to when you tried to publish your comment, such that you thought that the comment wasn't published yet and then you tried sending the comment again. 🤓 !LOLZ

Where does a martial arts instructor in Bankok live?
In a Thai con-do.

Credit: reddit
@cryptothesis, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @savvytester

Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ
(8/8)

Wait a second... is Vote mana than the same as vote power. if not where can I see it when I don't see it here?

I'm in a club for kids who love math.
We are called the Algebros.

Credit: theabsolute
@cryptothesis, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @svanbo

Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ
(1/8)

I thought you already knew that Voting Mana (used for voting) and Resource Credits (used for making any transaction on Hive) are different from each other. 😅 The only similarity between the two is that both of them are dependent on your Hive Power. 🤓 !LUV !CTP

I see now. RC and Vote Power I can see in https://hiveblocks.com/@svanbo, But where can I see how much Voting Mana I've got (left)? !LUV !CTP

Voting Mana is shown as Voting Power on #HiveBlocks (and others such as #HiveAusbit at https://hive.ausbit.dev/). 🤓 It is called "Mana" because the lower it is, the same "Energy" is consumed but the less effective it becomes until it is allowed to regenerate. 🤓😅 !LUV !CTP

I see. But it would be easier if it would be called "Mana" everywhere. !LOL Less chance to confusion !CTP

The person who invented the umbrella actually wanted to call it the 'brella.'
But he hesitated.

Credit: reddit
@savvytester, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @svanbo

Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ
(2/8)

Maybe the Hive community should vote on that (though no matter what the result is, it should not be required for Hive dapps). 🤓😏 !LOL !CTP

Good idea that this kind of things could be voted. !love that. But are there regular voting possibilities for such kind of things? !CTP

What did the retired detective call his new real-estate business?
Sherlock Homes.

Credit: reddit
@svanbo, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @savvytester

Are You Ready for some $FUN? Learn about LOLZ's new FUN tribe!
(2/8)

It might be not a bad idea to write something about the difference between Vote mana / resource credits and vote power...

You should do it! I will upvote it! !PIZZA

Thanks mate, it's not that I don't want... It's a bit a lack of time thing... You see, I'm even again 3 days behind in commenting !LOL

I was told that Microwaves were invisible
But I can see mine on my counter.

Credit: reddit
@cryptothesis, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @svanbo

Delegate Hive Tokens to Farm $LOLZ and earn 110% Rewards. Learn more.
(2/8)

Rather than mana, I tend to use voting power and it recovers at 20% a day. I do agree that everyone can choose to do what they want with their mana/voting power though.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
svanbo tipped savvytester (x1)
cryptothesis tipped savvytester (x2)
cryptothesis tipped technicalside (x1)
cryptothesis tipped svanbo (x1)
@savvytester(1/5) tipped @svanbo (x5)

Please vote for pizza.witness!