A Year in Review - 2021 - Hive Investment Overview

in LeoFinance2 years ago

I do not have a Wealth Tips post in mind to add to my series right now, but I did I want to write something before ringing in the new year. I was looking back on how long I have been here and weighing my decision to get involved in #LeoFinance and by extension, Hive.

I have not taken the time yet to analyze the Leo and Proofofbrain voting that I have done, but I know they are making money for me. I do plan to invest more in those tokens as time goes on.

A Word of Thanks.

To all of you who have voted on my posts, commented, and engaged with me at different levels. Thank you. Many names come to mind as I write this and you know who you are based on the appreciation I show when you posts come up on my feed. I spend a lot of time scrolling through the new posts when I am on and I like to encourage new users as I was encouraged.

Sometimes I need to run into someone's post a couple times before I hit the follow button. I am working on developing a routine though. Thanks again to you all.

Hive Investing

I cannot state how pleased I am with my choice to toss $17,600 worth of paper debt notes into this little community called #Hive. It is not the most profitable investment I have ever made, but I am pleased nonetheless.

I got about 160,000 Hive and powered them up. Since then, my HP has increased by 20,000 and I am up to 180,000 now. This all happened due to voting and posting during the course of one year.

According to CoinMarketCap.com my little eighteen thousand entry spiked to over a half million dollars at the end of November. Since then, that same money dropped down a bit to a dollar value of over a quarter million dollars.

$17,600 --> $525,600 --> $273,600

I guess I am supposed to cry and pound my fists that I lost a quarter million dollars by not powering down on that day and cashing it all out in one day at the moment of the spike. I think it takes a couple of months to actually unstake Hive Power, so that would not be an option.

I choose to look at the glass as half full not half empty.

The truth of it all is that the price of Hive is up more than thirteen times that of my purchase price, and with the money earned by simply voting, the dollar value of my little investment is up over fifteen times what it was a year ago.

Percentages

If you have read my Wealth Tips posts, you will know that the same has happened to any of you who put in a bit and did not touch it. Just by posting and voting, you would have seen higher returns according to the percentage you put in.

A $1,760 one year ago would be worth $27,360 right now.

$176 would be $2,736 and $17 would be $273

Play with the trailing zeros all you want. Everyone who decided to keep money on Hive made money this year. The differences come in based on percentages invested and the number of posts created during the year. Your results would likely be higher than mine, percentage wise, if you had posted daily.

Further Logic and Stats

I double checked on the average, weekly, dollar figure earned in recent weeks and if the price had been at 1.52 all year long, I would have made over $37,000 in 12 months just for voting on Hive posts and making a couple posts per month. That is amazing in itself.

In reality, that figure was lower because of the first part of the year stayed in the ten to thirty cent range.

Conclusion

This year has been an experiment for me with a new kind of blockchain and a different way of mining using words and votes.

It did not take a lot of patience to see returns on the money that I placed here. My parents never got anything like this on their compound interest from the bank or on their Certificate of Deposits.

Now that I have a full year behind me and a bit of experience with the main blockchain plus some of the other sites built on top of it, I will be ready to invest more and get more involved in projects and proposals in 2022.

One can only learn so much about the workings of Hive in a year. I have an idea of what is out there now and a notion of what other additions are being built to support it all.

If the madness ends related to personal medical decisions and government intervention, 2022 will be a great year for people who choose freedom oriented social media like Hive.

Happy 2022 to all!

Sort:  

Happy New Year.. I'm starting to use the savings account that pays 12%

Hive is platform that has given life to many people during pandemic...and thanks to investors who did their best in helping them.

Now that I have a full year behind me and a bit of experience with the main blockchain plus some of the other sites built on top of it, I will be ready to invest more and get more involved in projects and proposals in 2022.

I have been with Hive since 4 years saw many ups and down ....but honestly there is nothing g better than this place...invest your money, invest your time...one will definatelly be rewarded.

I go through many blogs a day but yours definitely the most interesting. Although you don't post that many, it's the quality that matters. The same with me at the peak my portfolio on hive was about $1300 but since its $700-800. Nevertheless I'm still happy with this. I just want to say good health, take care and the best to you !

Glad your here. And we are all doing well because of Hive.

2021 was a really interesting year for Hive and next year there are all the premises to continue to grow!

I'm glad to be here by some Anmus and enjoying this evolution as a protagonist.

Happy New Year 🥳

Happy new year!

Thanks for all on the information

In 2021 think your trial, investment prospects and all has turned out really well. Imagine buying hive and wasn't even aware of the moon and prepared for the abundance that came with the moon.
My life hasn't been an experiment, it's been a year where I took to repairing everything 2021 has taken care of. Monetary wise you've been definitiely killing it. Hive has broken up all the possibilities even as one had expected and more. Happy to see your stake is continously growing too.
Thank you for all the support in 2021, you've changed a life and im grateful.

I know your quality. I like that you post every day because it helps me keep my voting power below 100%. If I am not voting, then I am not making money.

Yeah this is absolutely true as well, hopefully 2022 would even be better for hive. Cheers!

Thank you for your great support and this very motivating review. Much health and peace to you and your family. Let's keep working and putting into practice these good examples to keep growing. Happy New Year my friend @ezrider

Wishing you a happy New Year and hope the coming year will come with more success...

Happy 2022 to you too,
Damn, you got it at a very good time, wait a few months and it would have been too late for you! Congrats, man, I can bet this is a start of something really great, the future of hive is about certain, prices may go up and down but what we're collectively creating here would always be valuable.

I was mining bitcoin when it was at $1.52 and I did not sell any when it hit $3.00

Same as I did not sell Hive recently. If we keep posting, commenting and voting the Hive price will do what bitcoin did.

Wow!

Didn't sell any Hive, and you were mining Bitcoin way back it the day!

Have you written about your Bitcoin journey anywhere so I can go and read it?

I choose to look at the glass as half full not half empty.

This is also my philosophy of life :)

You have achieved a great result and you did well to invest in Hive.
I invested a lot of time here on Hive but what I got was always a lot and I'm not only referring to the economic result but also to the new things I learned reading the posts of other Hive users.

2022 will be a great year for people who choose freedom oriented social media like Hive.

Completely agree
Hive is alive and dynamic and the many projects built in 2021 and those coming in 2022 will take Hive even higher!

Happy New Year
!BEER
!PIZZA
!LUV

Thanks for sharing the Luv all around. I took a look at your Farming Tales post and you have me looking to try it. I do not have any NFT's yet (I am an old school crypto guy) but this might be a good way to get involved in them.

Always amazed at the ...

new things I learned reading the posts of other Hive users.

I do not have any NFT's yet (I am an old school crypto guy) but this might be a good way to get involved in them.

Blockchain-based games are my passion and I have NFT of all the games developed and created on Hive.
Also like you I was never attracted to NFTs except for the NFTs of games that are not just artistic works to sell and buy but have utility because they allow you to have fun playing and earning tokens.
Farming tales is a game that looks interesting to me but it's a game I'm still studying. If you don't have NFT and you decide to start I suggest you to start from Rising Star that is a Hive game that doesn't require initial investments and from Splinterlands that is my favorite blockchain based game.
!BEER
!PGM
!PIZZA

I'm glad you made the decision to invest in Hive, stay on the chain and post. I'm also glad you're satisfied with the result. It's been a good year for our blockchain and I think the next one will be even better. With all the development going on in every direction, we're in a very good position.

I also want to thank you for all the support you're providing and helping users and the chain grow.

Happy New Year and let's have another great year on Hive as well as in real life 🙂🥳

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

You are welcome. You put tons of work into your posts and everyone wants that kind of content here on Hive. I wish you the best in 2022 also.

Thank you very much!

Happy New Year, admire your vision and look forward to following your footsteps.
Have a !PIZZA

I hope you continue with your good investments for 2022, and you already have the necessary experience to continue obtaining good results here in the #Hive community.

First of all, happy year 2022, friend, telling her story of how she has evolved in #Hive, it is interesting to see how she trusted her and got very good results. The best option is undoubtedly to continue trusting that surely for this new year we will overcome the #ATH again and there its investment of just over $ 17,000 will approach $ 1,000,000 since with what it manages to achieve in its publications and in curations it will continue increasing. I wish I could also have made an investment like this, although I have been in the #Hive community for almost 9 months, I have not evolved much but little by little I am finding dApps to develop myself, such as #LeoFinance #Splinterlands Greetings again and happy 2022.

I just saw your post. I hope you are starting to feel better. The vitamins should do the trick.
You and I are both just above (60) reputations. We will both advance and will be talking this time next year to see how it all worked out here on Hive. Thanks for stopping in.

If I also hope that vitamins do their job and help me improve, we do have a similar reputation for over (60) also for this new year my motivation is to continue growing and learn to use the dApps within the blockchain of # Hive and thus be able to obtain the maximum possible benefit. Thank you for your visit and happy evening

May the New Year bring you happiness, peace, and prosperity.
Wishing you a joyous 2022!

Thank you for joining and investing in Hive! It's awesome to see people investing in the platform in various ways. I've spent a few hundred dollars myself to invest in it out of fiat/crypto holdings elsewhere so really appreciate that you bought a bunch of Hive!

It's definitely a fun place to be, to earn some funds for doing things that we enjoy and also for learning the ins and outs of what is going to be the future of the world economy, though hopefully the world economy we are able to shape as best we can instead of what is dictated to us.

I appreciate the support you've given me and many others over the past year! I remember poking Leo finance and stumbling upon your post, not realizing you invested a lot into the platform until afterwards. I'm glad to see your post pop up in my feed every so often, and look forward to engaging with you in the future!

All the best in the new year, let's try to keep improving our personal finances in one way or another!

Very nice of you to make my cheeks red 🥰 in your comment. Glad you stumbled upon my posts and glad to hit your post when I see them pop up too. Just hit another one you made.

Compliment of the season 🎊

Happy New Year.
Have a !PIZZA
!LOLZ

I was going to tell you a time travel joke...
but you didn't like it.

@ezrider, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @steem82868
Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ. (4/4)

I wish🙋‍♂️ you a much better new year than the one that will pass - Happy👨‍🌾 New🎆✨ Year🎇 and Thank you so much for your awesome support. !LUV !BEER

Happy 2022,Thanks for all on the information

This is really awesome that one can earn some good Hive just by curating. I believe you still have made a good decision as it is not only covering your initial investment but also get you some profits.

Hey, I don't know your affiliation with btu/done/etc, but I'd appreciate it if you took a look at some of their voting patterns compared to other posts Hive attempts to reward. Not only is the quality and effort extremely low, but they also barely attempt to connect with other users to try and bring some value to Hive in the form of socializing and having genuine connections with others.

https://peakd.com/hive-150329/@least/the-heat-of-the-moment-hot-pink

Not to mention my attempts to downvote a similar account as the one above, @bytzz were met with hostile retaliation towards random users that do way more than the accounts above. Would appreciate your consideration or at the very least have a proper discussion about it, something that neither done nor btu seem to be able to do.

I know @done. He was the one that recommended Leo and Hive as an investment. I am very happy about the results and future potential. I wish I had put more into it. I will send him an email and set up a time to talk about the patterns. Thank you.

And so you did. It was good to see you again. Let me know if you have any questions. I am at your disposition.

Appreciate it.

Congratulations @ezrider! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 4250 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 4500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

PUD - PUH - PUM - It's all about to Power Up!
Christmas Challenge - 1000 Hive Power Delegation Winner
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
libertycrypto27 tipped ezrider (x1)
@brianhuang(4/5) tipped @ezrider (x1)
steem82868 tipped ezrider (x1)

Join us in Discord!

Happy new year And Good luck Too all for 2022

Im A new Player Frome Germany i play more then a week but not 2 weeks my sps 0.486 its this okay for that

Happy new year to you all frome Germany

Dear @ezrider,

The current HiveBuzz proposal will expire in a few days.

Do you mind supporting our proposal for 2022 so our team can continue its work next year?
You can do it on Peakd, ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.
https://peakd.com/me/proposals/199

Thank you. We wish you a Happy New Year!

Congratulations, @ezrider, but be careful with speculations. They rarely end well.

Nice call investing the FIAT.

bilgilendirme için teşekkürler.

@ezrider hey man! Just wanted to say thank you for upvoting my recent Splinterlands post!

Hope you're well!

Morning, I guess I'm well and truly late to the party commenting on this post - but the title grabbed me, and I wanted to see how it ended up - and I'm so happy for you that HIVE has (I'll assume) been a life-changing experience for you. I've been on PeakD for just over two months, and while I don't expect to see the same returns as you - I can see that it's a powerful little platform for big things to grow out of.

Hope you're well, Tim.

Very much agree.
This is why I have joined Hive and I know that it's a long way to go but at least I can try :)

Do have a wonderful weekend friend @ezrider

Hello my friend hope you’re doing well! Wanted to check on you since I haven’t seen you post in a while, figure you’re between living places being a bit of a nomad!

Take care!

Greetings @ezrider thanks for your kind support to my posts. Stay blessed! Have a nice day 💖

Thank you so much sir for your kind support, have a nice day :) @ezrider

So happy for you! just wish I found Hive sooner and invested more just like everyone else here. but i will get there soon!

Wow, big stake in Hive. 💪🏻
Do you also invest outside crypto?