My Splinterlands Story - How It Started & How It's Going

in LeoFinance2 years ago

thumb.jpg

Are you new to Splinterlands and searching for some advice, then you found the correct series! In this Beginner’s Guide Series, we are discussing things that new players of Splinterlands should know or try to learn. In this specific episode I want to highlight my personal path in Splinterlands. We will talk how I found this amazing game and how I started to progress in the beginning. Furthermore, I will cover what really helped me to step up my game and what my future goals are. If this article motivated you to start playing this amazing game, then feel free to join the fun over the following link:
https://splinterlands.com?ref=ga38jem

The Light At The End Of The Tunnel

Every story begins the same: in a dark tunnel called Unawareness. It all began when I first started to get interested in personal finance. I quickly stumbled upon Bitcoin and this was the beginning of a long digging into a deep rabbit hole called crypto. I think that everybody’s introduction to crypto was Bitcoin and in some cases probably Ethereum. I was not an exception, but while many people stay at this level I tried to search for more. I started to research about projects like ATOM or Cardano and start to invest my first money int these projects as well. Soon after I found out about DeFi which was just another world for me.

Because I am a passionate gamer I always had the affinity towards earning money while playing. Unfortunately, I was never talented enough to be as good as all those pro-gamers out there who are getting paid millions in the E-Sports industry. But with the exploration of the Play 2 Earn niche in the crypto space I soon knew that there was another way to grind myself up to a new income source as well as having fun playing a game at the same time. This is how I started my search for an interesting game to engage in!

I tired several games but never felt like it was a true love story, so to speak. The games were either very basic and I lost interest very quickly or they needed a big investment upfront and I did not want to risk my money into a game that I was not sure if I would play it or not. I was very close to giving up upon my dream but then I saw the light in the darkness. I stumbled upon an article about Splinterlands and immediately felt that this could be a game worth engaging in. After some research I would describe it as a mixture of Yu-Gi-Oh and Hearthstone. When I was younger, I loved both games as they involved strategic planning as well as a trading card system with some gambling involved. But while Yu-Gi-Oh always lacked the digital aspect, Hearthstone did not have the ownership aspect.

This is where Splinterlands comes in! Because of its NFT system, every card you purchase or pull belongs to you. Furthermore, you can use these cards in battle and spend time planning your next strategy. Not only that but it has a similar system to Hearthstone where you can buy packs and pull some amazing cards to either sell on or integrate in your deck. A new passion started to develop.

Bild1.png

source

First Steps

But before this could be a true relationship there must have been some steps done before. The first few dates with this game were really rocky to say the least. After understanding the key mechanics I decided to give it a serious go and invest the 10$ into the summoner’s spell book. A few months ago this was a serious investment for me but I would quickly find out that this investment was not my last one into this game.

Bild2.png
source

My first steps were to get out of Novice and getting stuck in Bronze 3. This is when I first learned about your Collection Power. In my juvenile recklessness I thought that the steps out of bronze 3 into Bronze 2 would take me one season or two if I would continue playing every day. But the reality hit me very quickly very hard! I was not earning any battle rewards and my daily quests were nothing but a few Credits. Not only that but it seemed like I was getting outplayed every time and I was also a little bit overwhelmed with the shear possibilities of which monsters to play. It was a time of learning and understanding. After a few weeks I started to understand the Abilities and work on some strategies. The wins started to come in and the a new sense of competence started to raise in me.

Step Up My Game

This was the time when I decided to step up my game and finally get out of Bronze 3. I understood that I would just be miserable if I do not get out of Bronze 3 and start earning some battle rewards. The decision was a very hard one for me but it should soon pay out: I invested a few dollars worth to get myself two legendary cards which would put me over the 1000 CP threshold for Bronze 2.

Bild3.png

source

Finally! I was able to earn my first battle rewards and my daily Chest rewards started to get nicer as well. While I was very happy with the current state, I knew that this should not be the end of my journey in Splinterlands. I knew that I could achieve more and that the game had so much more to offer.

Where The Fun Really Starts

After a few more weeks I started to understand the Battle mechanics better and better. I started to outsmart my opponents and even win battles against enemies with a lot stronger decks than mine. I really felt proud of me. I began to think about different teams and how I would evolve them. In the meanwhile I invested my Battle Rewards into more cards. Especially summoners were very important in the beginning as they determine the power of your monsters.

Next to the battle rewards, I started to write about my story on Hive. Additionally, to my normal crypto and Finance content I began to write about the strategies I used to get out of Bronze and into Silver. This allowed me to generate more funds to reinvest into the game as well as use some more of my own money as my confidence in this game grew more and more. One of the main reasons this happened, was the constant communication by the developers. It really seems like they are here for the long game and the recent partnerships show that they are serious about it. With time my collection grew to over 45k CP.

Bild4.png
source

Cherry On The Cake

What is truly the icing on the cake are the different income streams that you can create in this game. Not only are there battle rewards and the flipping card mechanism on the market. It is also possible to lend out your cards and earn some additional DEC in doing that. Especially at the end of the season the prices are spiking which promises you a nice chunk of change. But be careful, only lend out the cards that you do not need for battle or to maintain your current division because if you do not have the cards by the end of the season, your reward gets downgraded.

Another very popular income stream are currently the SPS airdrops as well as the SPS staking. SPS is right now a governance token in the game and will have a lot of utility in the future. Furthermore, the airdrops are ending in less than 100 days which will make the supply drop by a big margin. As an additional sweet you can earn Vouchers by staking SPS which you can either sell for a good amount of money when they are needed or keep them to use them during a new packs promo.

While of this is nice I am currently my way up to Silver 1. Like mentioned before, I am standing at around 45k Collection Power and need only 25k more for Silver 1. I am using my earned DEC to purchase more cards, as right now I am focusing on developing my Water Splinter to stay more competitive.

Bild5.png
source

Future Goals

This brings me to my future goals: My intermediate goal is to reach the Gold Division as I am always up for a challenge! This will need some further investments into cards but I feel like I am on a good way. The other goal I have is to reach 2.5k SPS by the end of the airdrop period. With my current Collection Power and Staking rewards I should be able to do that and use the SPS for either future promos or other utilities in the game.

Final Advice

Last but not least I want give new players some final advice. Do not get discouraged straight away. Like you saw in this article every beginning is difficult but this game rewards you later on! Not only that but you will definitely get your money worth back. But the most important advice I could give is to treat this game as what it is: A GAME! Don not start playing this game because you see a million dollar opportunity in it. I am certainly playing this game because it gives me satisfaction to think about new strategies and stumble upon an opponent with a bizarre line up that I will have to recreate. With this being said, I really hope that my experience motivates you to start playing this game and I hope to see you in the game soon! 😊

Bild6.jpg
souce

Previous Beginner’s Guides:

Guide & Tips
Battle Strategies
Things I Wish I Knew Before
Why You Need To Start Playing!
Splinter Overview & Rating

Published by ga38jem on
LeoFinance
On 10th May 2022

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Awesome post, mate.

I just started this game a few days back and it’s still really overwhelming. I haven’t won any games yet but that doesn’t bother me. I want to learn this game so bad. I’m gonna get that Spellbook first and then see how far my efforts will get me.

I guess I’ll follow the tips from your blog. Thanks for all the helpful info.

I am happy that the article is helpful! Do not get dicouraged, the successes will come for sure :)

Sure. In a month or so I’ll begin to share my battles here. You can count on that

I can not wait to see it! Make sure to tag me in your first post! :)

Sure thing man!

Thanks for sharing! - @mango-juice

Thank you for making such a helpful and inspirational post for beginners in splinterlands.

Thank you for the support! I am always happy to help the new palyers with advice! :)

Congratulations @ga38jem! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 600 replies.
Your next target is to reach 700 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

We have finished upgrading our website
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!