Splinterlands - Why You Need To Start Playing!

in LeoFinance2 years ago

thumb.jpg

source

Are you new to Splinterlands and searching for some advice then you found the correct series! In this Beginner’s Guide Series, we are discussing things that new players of Splinterlands should know or try to learn. In this specific episode I want to highlight the reasons why you should start playing Splinterlands. So if you are hesitating to sign up, this article is the one for you! We will talk about how I started in this game and what the main reasons were for me to continue playing it. And if this article motivated you to start playing this amazing game, then feel free to join the fun over the following link:
https://splinterlands.com?ref=ga38jem

How I Started

First, I want to talk about how I personally started to play the game. Every now and then I read a post about this Splinterlands game and thought to myself: “What is this and why are so many different people talking about it?”. Then I started to dive deeper in the whole Play 2 Earn niche and was searching for a fun and engaging game to play. After several and unsuccessful tries I finally stumbled onto another Splinterlands article which finally gave me the push to start and play this game. This was around November of last year and it was a hell of a ride since then. Shortly, after I joined some great news about the current Pack-Set came out which made all of the cards sky rocket, meaning that I pretty much joined at the peak of this game. But let me tell you something else: Although I joined at probably the worst time possible from an investors point of view, I am still enjoying this game and I would never think of leaving it any time soon. The reason for that, we be discussed in the following chapters.

Fun Strategies

Let’s start with the Gameplay in general. Because this game is based on cards and battles it can be called a strategy game. In my opinion, it can be challenging in the beginning because new players are getting overwhelmed by the amount of different cards, Abilities and use cases. But that is why I am trying to make the entrance to the game easier by publishing some useful strategies every now and then (shameless plug, I know :D). Once you get to know the game a little better and got into the taste of your first rewards, this game really starts to make sense. You will be always on the hunt to perfect your battle strategy: “What cards can help me more?” or “What position is the best for this card in a particular ruleset?”. These were the questions I started to ask myself after every battle. What makes this game really amazing is the amount of different ways to succeed: there are 6 different splinters and each battle has its own ruleset and mana requirements which makes every battle unique.

Ownership Of Cards

Once you get the hang of it, the next step will be to move up the ranks and get better opponents. In the end all of us wants to get challenged, right? By moving up the leader you will need stronger cards, which can be acquired by staking your current cards. In order to stake them you will need a certain amount of one card which can be obtained either in reward chests, packs or by purchasing them from the market. The beauty about this format is that every card is an NFT which means that you have complete ownership over your cards. The most amazing thing about that is, that if you are not playing right now, or you just do not need the card at the moment, there is always the possibility to rent it out and make some passive income with this method! On the other side, you can also always rent some cards from other players if you do not want to commit to a certain card straight away. This is certainly the cheaper way at the beginning but the first way is more benefiting in the long run in my opinion!

Economy & Packs

Speaking of cards, we need to talk about the packs. Right now is a very good time to get started with the game as there are still many unopened packs available for purchase! Each pack contains 5 cards with one guaranteed rare card in it. In a lot of cases there are more than one rare card or even epic r legendary ones. In my opinion this gives the game a certain touch where you can get lucky and pull an amazing card out of it. It just reminds me of the good old days in which I bought Yu-Gi-Oh Booster packs and were able to pull some shinny cards! Bear in mind that is recommended to buy the cards that you need in the beginning before starting investing into packs, but I think for 4 USD per pack it does not hurt to buy a pack every now and then.

Furthermore, we have to talk about the economy of this game. With wins you are getting a certain amount of DEC (currently 1 DEC is around 0.0015 USD). The amount varies, depending on the timing of the season and what cards you are using and what division you are in. Another asset in the game are SPS. Currently with only a few utility cases but certainly the future of the game. The cool part about SPS are the current airdrops. They are still there for about 90 days and after that there will be no free SPS anymore (1 SPS currently around 0.12 USD). After this airdrop is over it is highly anticipated that the SPS prize will jump up, because of the rapid decreasing supply. Therefore, it is recommended to get into the game as soon as possible to not miss out on the potential remaining Airdrops!

Further Development

Last but not least we have the current development of the game. Like mentioned above: A few months ago a new expansion (Chaos Legion) hit the store. This is already the sixth expansion and there is already a new expansion announced. This shows that the developers are not sleeping on the wheel and constantly trying to bring out new content. Furthermore, there is a weekly Townhall where current developments are communicated very transparent which certainly increases the trust into the dev team. Not only that but there are constantly new partnerships being announced. One of them is the listing on crypto.com which is a very big deal in my opinion. All of this makes me very optimistic for the future and so should you!

Previous Beginner’s Guides:

Guide & Tips
Battle Strategies
Things I Wish I Knew Before
Water Strategy – Can’t Touch This
Thorns Ability
Scattershot Ability

Published by ga38jem on
LeoFinance
On 27th April 2022

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

I really think it is high time I start thinking of starting my journey on splinterland

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Thanks for sharing! - Tantow#0693

Excellent your beginner's guide!