You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What Is Cryptocurrency?

in LeoFinance3 years ago

Thanks for this Luke. It will be a handy reference when I'm trying to explain blockchains and cryptos to anyone who is interested. Sadly, I find, most are not.

The biggest problem with trying to get the message out, I think, is that people don't understand how "real" money works. They don't get the trust element and think that the piece paper or coin is infallible.

FIO sounds like a great project. I have a question . . .

With the big rise in BTC price there has been a lot of talk about wallets and safety including personal safety, i.e. being a target for extortion. It's not something I've ever considered before but it got me thinking . . . there is now a load of stuff out there, especially via Steemit that would easily identify where I live if someone wanted to do so.

That got me thinking that I wish I'd never used my real name on my account. When I signed up I'd assumed I'd be able to change it if I wanted to.

Having always been an "I have nothing to hide" kind of person I'm now wondering whether it might be prudent to be a bit more circumspect.

Probably too late now since my blogs are already on the blockchain.

And now I've forgotten what the questions was . . . 😂

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

Personal physical security is always your responsibility, whether or not someone knows your account balance. This is why we live in a gated community with regular security patrols. I think, to some degree, what you invite into your life becomes your reality. I know people who focus so much time and energy on something bad happening that it seems like the universe goes, "Okay, if that's really what you want, here you go..."

As it relates to FIO, you can use whatever address you want and you can have multiple addresses for different purposes. You can connect your name to spending cash accounts only, for example.

As it relates to FIO, you can use whatever address you want and you can have multiple addresses for different purposes. You can connect your name to spending cash accounts only, for example.

Thanks for the extra information. I'll take a look when I've finished working on my taxes.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta