Sort:  

Welcome to LeoFinance, Luke. Happy to see some of the HIVE witnesses starting to contribute to the community driving adoption outside the current Hive echo-chamber.

What was your thinking behind using the LeoFinance interface for this FIO blog, rather than one of the other regular Hive URLS? Is it just about picking up a few extra tokens, or do you see value in having the original post under the leofinance.io domain?

I'm really interested in hearing about what our witnesses like you think and how you see communities such as this fitting into Hive's growth overall.

Cheers and see you around the community :)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sorry I don't have a more sophisticated answer, but sometimes I just feel like posting on PeakD or Hive Blog or Ecency or LeoFinance (if it's financial or crypto related). This one was crypto related, so I posted here.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I'm more thinking about the long term value of the content you've posted. It will disappear from the Hive front-ends within a few days, but posts like this definitely have long term SEO potential to bring traffic from the outside world.

This post is a well structured, evergreen post. Exactly what external businesses such as FIO could be doing to further build their presence online.

In my opinion, the work that the LeoFinance team is doing on their domain to boost our SEO presence is a huge plus for Hive overall and something that doesn't get spoken enough about in the general Hive community.

Something for you to consider both as an external business owner and Hive witness :)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Was the conical url issue ever resolved? Meaning, if I share this same post from different domains, does that hurt the SEO for the content?

The post being evergreen is not impacted at all by whether or not it's on the front page of LeoFinance. It's the URL that matters and since this is blockchain content, I can share it from any front end I want forever, yes?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Was the conical url issue ever resolved? Meaning, if I share this same post from different domains, does that hurt the SEO for the content?

This was fixed in the end, right @khaleelkazi?

We didn't even have to edit the old post and republish for it to update?

The post being evergreen is not impacted at all by whether or not it's on the front page of LeoFinance. It's the URL that matters and since this is blockchain content, I can share it from any front end I want forever, yes?

The content is there on your account forever at the blockchain level, yes. In that sense, you're right that it doesn't matter where you published your post from.

But a lot of what LeoFinance is doing, is trying to break away from thinking about about the insular Hive community and trying to get as many outside eyeballs on our content as possible.

To do this, we still need Google and to follow all of their general SEO recommendations around keywords, structure and the domain.

While your blog was published across multiple domains, content published at leofinance.io is being positioned to be looked upon more favourably by Google.

A major advantage to Hive here is that businesses/influencers/individuals like yourself, can take advantage of LeoFinance to get as many outside eyeballs as possible on their content.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Btw, did you get a FIO Address yet?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Good to see you on Leofinance Luke! Man, it has been a journey from steem to hive to the budding dapp of leofinance. Glad to see you are still going strong in crypto.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

What do you like most about LeoFinance? The valuable tokens?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

As a Hive witness with a presence in the greater crypto community outside of Hive, it's great to have you active and interested in LeoFinance's initiatives to grow Hive :)

There's no denying that plenty of current Hive users are jumping in for a quick buck, but LeoFinance is primarily focused on outward facing content to onboard new users to Hive.

Here are a few things that LeoFinance is doing for the benefit of the greater Hive community:

  • Building a domain far more valuable in the eyes of Google than hiveblog: A Faster, more authoritative (at least for crypto related content) domain will rank evergreen content such as this blog you just wrote. LeoFinance is looking outside the Hive echo-chamber and putting in processes to convert this new traffic into Hive accounts.

  • Hive on-ramps via social media that are far easier than anything HiveOnboard has achieved: This is undeniable right now and a hugeeeee plus for Hive overall. Just look at how much cleaner the process to get a Hive account via LeoFinance is than anywhere else.

As a witness, I'd love to hear your opinion of LeoFinance and how the community fits into the greater goal of seeing Hive succeed?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I'm just a backup witness right now (and good thing too as I'm quite busy with FIO!). I haven't gone through the LeoFinance onboarding process, so I can't really comment on that, but maybe I'll create a new account to try it out. Onboarding is key! It has to be easy.

Well, in a way, LeoFinance represents the dream of "tokenizing the web" and what Smart Media Tokens were all about: create your own community with your own tokenized incentive system with your own unique attributes. If LeoFinance continues to succeed maybe others will follow, demonstrating the value of the Hive blockchain. That's a good thing for everyone.

Very detailed guide for understanding and welcome to Leofinance.

Nice post

Thanks!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

You are welcome

Did you get yourself a FIO Address?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

i didn't get the fio address. and i don't have fio yet

I, myself, find it sometimes difficult to explain all this to people. Not because I don't understand it, but because having to stop every minute and explain a new term they have never heard before becomes very frequent, and then they lose focus and are content with what they are accustomed to.

This was extremely well written for even a noob to understand, like only you could write, Luke. Sharing all over. Thanks for taking the time to do this.

Thank you! After 8 years, I'm still looking for better ways to explain blockchains and cryptocurrency to people. I realized today I just have to keep repeating myself over and over again until people understand. I have to keep looking for different ways to explain things. Eventually, they will get it and the world will be that much better.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Good to see you on Leofinance Luke!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Thanks for sharing, Nathan.

Curious, what do you like about most about LeoFinance? Do the ads bother you?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Pleasure Luke.

I love the Community and ongoing active improvements and developments on LEO. I think LeoFinance can be the CryptoTwitter 2.0 when they introduced microblogging feature along with some potential partnership with 3Speak.

Ad revenue is something that makes LEO to sustain it's growth. Me personally would love HIVE.blog with no ads however I'm using leofinance.io as main HIVE frontend and I'm quite okay with seeing some ads.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I do think more crypto projects need to have an actual business plan for how they will provide value to real people and get paid for it. If the service is "free" then the users are the product, monetized with ads. As long as everyone is cool with that, cool. At least it's a business model that has been proven to work. That's more than can be said for most crypto projects.

Love the way cash was described in this article. 'Dead white people' LOL great post!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Really helpful and informative

Thanks for this Luke. It will be a handy reference when I'm trying to explain blockchains and cryptos to anyone who is interested. Sadly, I find, most are not.

The biggest problem with trying to get the message out, I think, is that people don't understand how "real" money works. They don't get the trust element and think that the piece paper or coin is infallible.

FIO sounds like a great project. I have a question . . .

With the big rise in BTC price there has been a lot of talk about wallets and safety including personal safety, i.e. being a target for extortion. It's not something I've ever considered before but it got me thinking . . . there is now a load of stuff out there, especially via Steemit that would easily identify where I live if someone wanted to do so.

That got me thinking that I wish I'd never used my real name on my account. When I signed up I'd assumed I'd be able to change it if I wanted to.

Having always been an "I have nothing to hide" kind of person I'm now wondering whether it might be prudent to be a bit more circumspect.

Probably too late now since my blogs are already on the blockchain.

And now I've forgotten what the questions was . . . 😂

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Personal physical security is always your responsibility, whether or not someone knows your account balance. This is why we live in a gated community with regular security patrols. I think, to some degree, what you invite into your life becomes your reality. I know people who focus so much time and energy on something bad happening that it seems like the universe goes, "Okay, if that's really what you want, here you go..."

As it relates to FIO, you can use whatever address you want and you can have multiple addresses for different purposes. You can connect your name to spending cash accounts only, for example.

As it relates to FIO, you can use whatever address you want and you can have multiple addresses for different purposes. You can connect your name to spending cash accounts only, for example.

Thanks for the extra information. I'll take a look when I've finished working on my taxes.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

All value is belief, this is what most noobs struggle to understand, most times when I'm explaining crypto and someone asks me "where does the money come from"? I usually get stuck, not because I don't know the answer,but because I don't know how to break it down.

I will get an fio account now

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yeah, I've run into the same challenge over the last five years. It's hard to explain cryptocurrency without explaining money.

It may sound cliche,but, We are Crypto!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I'm sure I could reuse your post to explain crypto to my dad and it would work !
I tried Edge and got my FIO address hykss@edge ;)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Nice! I just sent you some FIO and a FIO Request so you can send a little back and get a feel for how it works.

And yes, please do use it and share it and let me know if it makes sense to people! I'm always trying to improve how I explain cryptocurrency to people.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I thought for a long time about it but finally accepted to send you back some FIO ;)
Thanks a lot for the live experience.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta