Binance ignores the law and won't return me my funds

in LeoFinance2 years ago

I have accidentally sent HBD to binance, instead of HIVE, and they refuse to send it back to me, even though they have the control of the wallet and it is a native token on a blockchain they support.

According to the brazilian law (I am using binance from Brazil, and Binance seems to have a register in Brazil as CNPJ 46.863.392/0001-13)

"Todo aquele que recebeu o que lhe não era devido fica obrigado a restituir; obrigação que incumbe àquele que recebe dívida condicional antes de cumprida a condição."
Artigo 876 da Lei nº 10.406 de 10 de Janeiro de 2002

Or in free translation and simplification, by law, anything you receive (not only money) that was not meant to be sent to you, you are fully responsible of sending back.

I am losing hope, but I have no choice, I will keep pushing them. I can't simply accept, it would be so easy to refund me, Hive does not even have fees.

But this situation makes me even more worried. Binance ignores the law, it considers itself such a global company that they can ignore specific countries and bypass the law. The law enforces them to return me the funds, but since they don't disclose how to get in touch with their representatives in my coutry, it is hard to even take legal actions.

Binance is a centralized exchange, so it can't be trusted if it does not follow regulamentations in countries where they have customers at.

A descentralized exchange would be acceptable, but a centralized one? With an owner and knowingly breaking laws and hurting the customer? Nope.

Sort:  

I have tried to warn you, all of you. I get to say "I told you so" sucks. I'd rather have had people take my warnings seriously. At least you didn't lose 140 HBD, right? I'm glad I didn't suffer like @coininstant who sent 2400 Hive and they didn't credit his account. I have compiled a list of dozens of accounts that had sent HBD to Binance. This information, being on the blockchain, is public anyway. If you want the list contact me somehow. I remember a few people's reaction to the posts being, approximately, that they have "never had a problem", which sounds like "it's not them, it's you".

Thank you. Feel free to tag me in anything Binance related denouncing their practices. Anything that may help save future Hive users I am willing to share and support.

My front end application went down. I fogot to pay so my VPS provider shut it down. It was my bad. I am just mentioning it because I don't want you to try to open it right now.

It had/has a wallet that warned people when they try to send to the Binance account. Would @good-karma like to do something similar in Ecency. Perhaps the team of @peakd? My spreadsheet indicates that 1,311 HBD have been sent to the deepcrypto8 account. I assume none has been returned. How much will I add to the spreadsheet?

Binance has under 20k HIVE tokens (liquid+savings+HP) and over 29K liquid HBD tokens.
https://peakd.com/@deepcrypto8/wallet

It is quite mind blowing that they have more of a token they claim to not support, despite being native to the blockchain, and yet they refuse to acknowledge its existance.

Sure we would, added into our backlog... btw, where can we find your code?

https://github.com/steemfiles/ecency-vision.

Right now it is in the no-dynamic-txes branch. Change sets are:
4849b668fce534e8233beb51f4fde874bed16700 and 992c50b150b577b2399bf5bec9f26cc8bce9291a.

You've been curated by @plantpoweronhive! Delegations welcome!

Find our community here

Curation Trail

The law enforces them to return me the funds, but since they don't disclose how to get in touch with their representatives in my coutry, it is hard to even take legal actions.

The name of the person, and his/her contact (phone number, e-mail address) should be publicly available for everyone. Or at least for Binance customers in Brazil.

Yeah, they claim their operation is legal in our country and they even use the brazilian banking system and hire brazilians to work in the brazilian "branch" here, but the website and the support refuses to give legal information, such as company ID or legal address, which is mandatory by law to be easily accessible.

Binance seems like a good platform, but with shady stuff I never noticed until I searched for it, like the lack of information about their operations.

Recently they almost got into legal trouble in Brazil but they did provide information to the government regarding legal contacts, but to the government onlt, and that should be public, so they avoided getting banned here, but still, they are ignoring the laws and doing the bare minimum for the government not to ban it (apparently)

It is not as if they don't have the money or human resources, it seems like they just want to keep things shady and hidden for some reason...