Back to Teaching, and I quite enjoyed it...!

in LeoFinance18 days ago

So I've just got back from delivering a level 3 course in Education and Training, basically a basic level qualification professionals require if they do any sort of training in their job roles.

NB that's A LOT of people just in the UK, let alone globally.

It's quite a nice course... 2 days of delivery including roles and responsibilities of the teacher, planning, classroom management, assessment, equality and diversity, legislations, theories of learning, inclusivity, and so on, and then a final day of everyone doing a 15 minute microteach with feedback.

This is the first session I've done since pre-lockdown, and I'm not surprised to see that nothing much within the course content has changed in four years, hardly anything in fact, and so using my old material was a doddle.

What made this especially easy was it was in-house NHS - 6 learners, 3 blokes from the health and safety side, and 3 women from the manual handling side, so a nice mix and my favourite number to teach. With six you can do plenty of one-one and pair and group work, it's a dream. And whole class discussions are easy to include.

And it's just enough for things to not feel awkward.

And this particular group of learners were just lovely.

20240502_174642.jpg

It's still stressful...

Despite this I still found the initial set-up stressful, as you don't know what the facilities are going to be like, turned out it was the prefect training room, with a nice screen for presenting.

And of course you are still 'the man' - expected to know everything, which I do, but it's still stressful, even when you're mixing up the learning so at least half it is 'on them'.

The easiest day is the final day's microteach, easy when you've got six as that's just a morning, we can do up to 12 which is a full-on day!

But I was done by 13.45 which helps!

Hotel stay...

And I got my hotel stay in: watched some terrestrial T.V. Watched Ronnie O Sullivan get deservedly beat by Stuart Bingham live (that's snooker!) and then some other crap such as 'Race around the World' and breakfast TV in the morning, loving the lunch out, fine for three nights, probs no more!

Junkfood downsides...

The largest downside is that I countered the stress of this one with lots of junk food - not so much the meal deals, they were healthy, but I had two chocolate croissants for breakfast day 1, and then 6 Welsh Cakes day two, I don't normally do breakfast!

And chocolate every evening, and biscuits, and actual sugary sweets, just seem to go with teaching!

Would I do another....?

It feels rational to do a few more of these since now I'm back in the game again, but I wouldn't want to do a full-on 12 learners in the session course, that'd be a different kettle of fish, but we'll see how it goes.

They money isn't bad, better than the interviewing i do for sure, and I think this is more fun too....

For now though, it was a nice busman's holiday with some extra cash in my pocket!

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

How much did you get per hour for the teaching workshop?

It's £200 a day.

Not bad. 👍🏻

I can't start a day without breakfast :)

It is good that it also benefits people and also increases our own knowledge in teaching by reading books.

One advantage of teaching others is that you teach yourself the more.

Yes true it does happen!