Make use of your Hive & Your Hive Community to Achieve Your Goals!

in LeoFinance3 years ago

Happy new Year to all you Hivers!

Have you ever thought about using your #hive to achieve some goals?

592DDDDDB5904C2BB8EA4D2D935ACCEA.jpeg

About 3 months ago I read a post by @joshman about him commissioning a piece of art he wanted creating and paying for the whole thing through #hive (link to post below) and it got me thinking at the time about how on so many levels the #hive community could be utilised in so many ways if the community is engaged.

https://peakd.com/hive-167922/@joshman/how-i-bought-tangible-artwork-from-italy-using-hive

Over the past months we ( I say we meaning our group of hivers here in Moalboal, Philippines ) have come to know @ybanezkim26 through his travel blogs around the Philippines. Some of these adventures were quite near to us and we realised he was based in Cebu City not too far from us. It was only a matter of time before the first #hive meet was made.

From left to right;

@iamyohann @ybanezkim26 @diveratt @discoveringarni & @scubahead

DF18DB02109D452D8A75010688857D8F.jpeg

I had mentioned many months before that he should come and see us to learn to dive as it would be a great compliment to his travel vlogs with the Philippines being made up of over 7000 islands there's simply water everywhere. It was on his bucket list but as is so often the case life has a tendency to throw spanners in the works and he made a brave decision to quit his fulltime work. This made finances a little uncertain and the dream of learning to dive seemed to be slipping away.
It was at this point, remembering the post by @joshman , that I suggested that if he wanted to he could pay for the course in #hive if he wished. I think a little surprised at first he agreed and we both began planning it out. After a few delays we got a date sorted out and began trying to make a dream a reality.
@discoveringarni @ @ybanezkim26 had become good friends and she and @iamyohann opened up their home to him while he was doing the course.

6C1BE876E97B4B45A9D0A0CA17D04C9F.jpeg

So..... Now it Begins

6EC18B0943C74EDFBFAB49CB2EB6B076.jpeg

We did have another class on at the time but i felt @ybanezkim being naturally shy would benefit from a calm course one on one with a calm instructor. It went beautifully.

70A5E76B9E1F466297D18013D853DB72.jpeg

The bookwork was effortless for him as he's naturally smart and he took to the water amazingly quickly and was positively beaming entering and exiting the water before and after every training session.

0A39A5209A36443CB15D729D63020A35.jpeg

The weather , which has been really crappy recently , decided to play ball and the conditions were fantastic.

36E4331CE4774249B1A42D1EFAF47B49.jpeg

And then, after quitting a job and enduring lock downs that seemingly went on forever during this horrible year we have all had to endure, the realisation of a lifelong ambition was becoming a reality.

974422A1971145F9940EB5EA1D1C7002.jpeg

3AE637469CBB48F7B14B311AE8C529EE.jpeg

All paid for by #hive


HBD.jpg

39AE75F3C7FB4D469E2B04E5221120B5.jpeg

A nice way to end 2020. @ybanezkim26 Open Water Diver Certified!

1C51416677E747BBB918D5923166F4FF.jpeg

So I would actively encourage you all to engage more with each other on the #hive as some of the connections could be more valuable than merely an upvote. They say in life that sometimes it's not what you know it's who you know and there are many people on the hive with a variety of skill sets. Be it getting an artist to create something for you or learning to scuba dive, this is merely scratching the surface. Who else is out there on the hive and what possibilities are there out there for us all. Something to think about for 2021 on the #hive

Take care people & Happy New Year

SHGIF.gif

NEON.gif

Sort:  

Wow. Impressive how hive community brings people together and using its currency instead of fiat as mode of payment. Happy New Year everyone! What a year ender for you @ybanezkim26 jud! I can't wait to visit Cebu.

Meet up! Let's laag together!

Hopefully Kim maayong lawas.

That's cool. Things are meanwhile even being developed to serve that purpose. The thing is they also need to have reach. But I am already experimenting with selling NFT images for crypto and it works from time to time. Now, it's a matter of scale.

Community is a cool thing as well. I think we're not tightly knit around here but some die hard figures begin to shape themselves out of the general mist...

Thanks @manoldonchev. We keep on keeping on. I think it's important that the links we make such as you and i we maintain. It's a long game this one. We grow together. And it's nice to watch the development of us all as things change. Happy New Year bro!

Nice to see you all together. I know only one other hivean in person.

Wish I could join you one day at the diving course in your little paradise...

@tipu curate

it's a nice feeling to be able to actually chat Hive without someones eyes glazing over

I can't wait to go to a IRL Hive Meetup!!!
Especially in Paradise too!
Hopefully 2021 will allow us- atleast here in Australia until the rest of the world is open and then we can have more!

This is so awesome! Nice one Kimmy and @scubahead! And really nice experience with Hive as mode of payment.

It's funny, I had a dream about going scuba diving just last night! Maybe one of these days I could really try that too. Of course I have to get over my fear of the open waters and the deep. Fir now, I will be contented reading from your blogs and looking at diving pictures you guys post. 😅

after the year we've had making this happen for Kim was great. A really satisfying end to the year!

That looks hell a lot of fun. I need to negotiate with my thalassophobia to get me into that experience. But still like the underwater shots I see featured on diving blogs.

I think that's what most users have been missing out on, treating the token as a token for exchanging into another token or fiat instead of paying directly for a service or product just like a normal currency should.

People from PH could save a fortune from exchanging their Hive to fiat and also get into crypto investing if they bought Hive from their fiat rather than going through exchanges.

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Love it- there'a whole new universe of possibilities here that we are (well really I mean I...lol...) only scratching the surface of. (and I love you're paradise shots too! (soooo jealous...)

Thanks for writing this post as it has planted many seeds in my mind!

thats good as seeds grow :)

Wow! Being able to connect and meet the people from the chain is one thing but being able to pay hive for a real service is on another level. This is what engagement should be. Talking and meeting people beyond the platform. The photos were awesome. I can see you have a great time.

Thanks , it was a lot of fun getting this done. I'm looking forward to seeing his posts in the future include scuba and I will smile knowing we made that happen 😃

Thank you so much for that once in a lifetime opportunity! I had a great time. I am not only grateful for the transaction, but also for making sure that I will get the most out of it. From making sure I'm comfortable that you had Adam as my one-on-one instructor to requesting that Chinese diver (Chen? I forgot his name) to take pictures of me underwater, you had all that arranged for me.

Arigatou gozaimasu!

doueteshimashite

Happy New Year from Canada. See you on NERDAY .... https://hive.blog/trending/hive-129496

glad to see hive has its uses, because as an investment tool.... so far...I'd rather not say anything

WOW! incredible to see how the hive community grows every day, it would be nice to meet more often outside the platform. 😍 I don't know anyone who writes in the blog yet, I know that there are several "panas" around here from my country but we haven't had the pleasure of meeting yet.

It's nice to be able to have a proper face to face chat about #hive without getting that blank look people give you because they don't get it

I read his post about being able to pay for his diving course and he was very happy that what he couldn't see coming very soon became possible with hive earnings.
Hive has helped foot the bills of so many people and help them financially

Was really cool being able to facilitate this for him. Made me smile😁

Que emocionante, con que un pequeño grupo lo logre, es la evidencia de que si es posible lograrlo con empeño. Espero crecer en Hive, y expandir mis conocimientos al poder conocer a otros. Saludos

Hive has done a lot for people and every day I keep seeing and reading various testimonies.
So glad your friend could pay for his diving lessons and course with Hive earnings.
I will utilize my Hive and Hive Community as you said for something very tangible in the future

Thats nice to hear. I intend to widen my engagement this year also. The platform has so much potential

Then I will see much of you then. I hope to do the same though I just started but I am loving it here to be very sincere and I will explore in every way I possibly can.

It's a great platform for expression of any kind. Takes time to build but the main thing is enjoying what you post.

Congratulations @scubahead! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Your post got the highest payout of the day

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Happy New Year - Project Activity Update
First Hive Power Up Day of 2021 - Get a Hive Power delegation

That is a really cool story and meetup.!!

We've been planning it for a while and it nearly didn't happen. So pleased we got it done. Was nice for us all to get together as well. i think in the coming months as things change i'll try and do some more #hive meet ups. Pretty cool meeting the person behind the blogs

Wow muy interesante la propuesta y mas lo que has explayado, gracias por compartir.

Great way to use your $Hive. I've just got enough saved up to take my dad to Sunday lunch again and they shut the pubs because we have gone into tier 3

buggeration!

Well done!!🤘