Sort:  

I like to think of my daily voice audio recordings on X/Twitter as a sort of audio legacy that is like a time capsule moment. Each day of the week is identified, current weather shared, and whatever is on my mind or whatever I am currently working on.

In the past I have audio and video recorded my grandmothers and one grandfather. For which I am very glad since they have long since passed. A digital legacy is of more importance to the future generations who will never have personally known their distant relatives.

They might even be able to make AI versions of us using the media.

Oh dear. Not sure I'm quite ready for that yet. Although I can see the appeal of being able to have a quick chat with our AI versions long after we're gone.

In the late 70's, my husband used to "write" to me by sending me an audio tape. I preferred writing, but with my husband's handwriting, I was glad he did some of it via audio. LOL

The sad thing is that after we were married, our house was broken into and those tapes were stolen (along with your wedding video), so I no longer have them. But now video and audio can be stored in the cloud, so the chances of keeping it safe is much better.

Such a pity. Our family also suffered the loss of memories. We kept ours in a foot chest, which made them all the more portable. We have had some photos come to us from family members who found us in their albums. But so much is gone.