You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Leo Talk 5/9/21 - Come Join Our Chat (Part 1)

Companies are starting to see the impact of 3-D printing.

For all their ills over the past decade, General Electric got it right with 3-D printing. They made a huge investment in it. They are now saving 35% over casting.

https://3dprintingindustry.com/news/ge-cuts-costs-by-35-in-move-from-casting-to-3d-printing-technology-189798/

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

Its sad that GE has dropped so far down but I think its good that they are using 3D printing to cut costs. But will it rescue their business? I don't think so and I think they are a dying business.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Their big blunder was buying Westinghouse and investing in nuclear right when it was turning South. The country soured on that industry quickly and GE was stuck. Plus they took a bath on GE Capital during the last financial crisis. They were a major lender to businesses for office equipment and such. They got hammered when businesses closed up shop. They ended up selling to to someone for a song.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I think I said this before, but the GE Capital fiasco did me in on it. I cut my loss at that point, sold, and finally got a good nights sleep. For a while it was a nightmarish investment for me. A cascade of bad news after bad news, repeat and repeat. Don't miss holding GE one bit.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yeah it turned into a goat fuck for many people. The company went from one of the strongest to a zombie very quickly. I havent looked at it in a while but their 3-D printing acquisitions were strong.

Want to really have fun: look at the charts of GE ad Honeywell.

No contest.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yup, and the goat fuck was the result of the cluster fuck going on in the Executive Suite. When I got out of GE I considered Honeywell. To this day I won't compare GE with anything. Years later and I still can't get the taste out of my mouth.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Well years later it doesnt appear to be much better of a company. Seems they are still on the same roll.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

35% is huge! 3D printing saves a lot of time and resources and no wonder GE wants to be in on it. Moreover they have to go for such options because they are in a very bad ship right now.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

They bought two of the leading 3-D printing companies a number of years ago. I thought they were one to watch. I would have invested in GE for the exposure to 3-D printing but their legacy businesses are just too screwed up.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta