Trip to Transalpina, Romania - Cinematic Video

in Travel2 years ago (edited)

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


Transalpina (Or Transalpine, as defined in English), is an 148km road in Romania is located in the Parangu Group crossing the southern Carpathian Mountains from Sebes in the North to Novaci in the South.
It is one of the highest roads in Romania with the highest point in Urdele pass of 2145m.

I had the opportunity to cross twice the Transalpina last summer and I created this cinematic video out of a series of video recorded by me.

Furthermore, I will create a post on PeakD with my experience and story of traveling Transalpina.
Once the post is finished and published, I will link it here.

Thank you for your support.

D7F_4400.jpg


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

fantastic work! I didnt know Romania was so scenic. What % of folks would you say speak English there? And also, what is the society like? Does the government leave you alone, or is it strict?

The majority of young and mid-age people speak English as well, here in schools main foreign language teach is English.
The government is not strict at all, the tourism is pretty much promoted.
The society is simple and the majority of people are friendly. I say the majority…

Romania is a very scenic country, there are a dozen amazing places across the country, including Transfagarasan, which was voted many times to be one of the MOST BEAUTIFUL roads in the world!
I will soon try to write a full post sharing my experience about that. I also wrote a post related to this video (Transalpina), if you are interested to know more about this area.

https://peakd.com/hive-163772/@lovelyscape/a-trip-into-the-clouds-transalpina-romania

Gabriel.

Gabriel, thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed post, that is very helpful! Thats good to know. I know English and some Spanish (trying to become more fluent), but my memory is very poor, and I just dont think I could ever learn a 3rd language, that is why I ask.

My country is becoming less and less free so I want to get a new citizenship to 2 other countries that give more freedom and are not ruled by massive surveillance, that is what I despise the most, is cameras in your face in every business and almost every street corner, it is becoming like China. I do like places like South America in the sense that if you make a mistake you can must bribe the cops in most cases (haha), and there is a ton of things to do for a low cost of living, and low/not strictly enforced regulation, it is just a bit chaotic sometimes and the crime can be a bit high.

You have showed that the country has tremendous beauty that i was not aware of though, so that is a big plus.

The only thing about this country is the corrupt government. The living cost is quite low (on average $300 a month if you have a property, which are quite cheap)

Living in bigger cities is similar to first world countries, but rural areas are lovely, in special in mountains.

You have a bit more freedom of movement and choice than countries like UK. E.g. in my hometown and around, I never paid for a parking ticket, because there are none. Parking is free anywhere basically. Maybe on bigger cities you can find parking where you may have to pay.
That is just an example.

I love to go on trips around the country on most beautiful places ever; I can be on the road as much as I want for minimum costs.

The only big downside are salaries. If you work online and have an income from your blogs / hive / YouTube or any other sources, you may earn many times the minimum wage, comparing to other countries where is not even enough to live.

As an example, minimum wage in Romania per month is about €450 BEFORE TAX. Living based an online income there, and you can live really well. It really depends the area, of course.

Currently, I live in the UK but I plan to return back soon; One of my dreams is to live on the road on a motorhome and travel as much as possible, to every corner of Romania, because so much is left unseen.

Gabriel.

The UK is also very strict with surveillance as bad as the USA and much worse free speech and self defense laws. Do you think that is part of the reason why you like to travel? To get away from all of the rules and tyranny?

I love to travel because I love the nature, landscapes, places away from cities where the most beautiful sides of earth exists. I hate living in towns, and I would trade everything to be away!

yes, that is a good idea, towns create chaos, problems, more crime, etc. I want to live in the countryside or in a rural area on the outskirts of town. :)

yes i am familiar with government corruption from visiting Latin America, and also places like the USA, though in my opinion pretty much all governments are corrupt, so I dont see that much difference..they are just corrupt in different ways I guess. If it is corruption in the form of needing to bribe cops sometimes and also bribes to bet paperwork done and stuff, I am ok with that, and just see it as a small tax basically.

As long as the government leaves non violent people alone and does not meddle in my affairs, thats what I care about. In the USA, if your garage was built 2 inches too close to your house, they will send a government worker to your house to terrorize you and give you fines and will keep coming back, it is terrible. You must have a license for everything. Or for example, if you use cash, cops can come and steal it from you for ANY reason. Or a woman can just accuse you of sexual misconduct and ruin your life with no proof. I myself, had a small bit of drugs on me one time, and here they give you a FELONY charge just for having possession...I didnt hurt a fly or bother anyone, and now because the country is tyrannical, I am forever labeled in the same category as dangerous violent criminals, for the rest of my life, even if the charges are dropped, people can see that you are a felon FOREVER.

So you see, that is the type of tyranny that I am trying to escape my friend. I dont mind if the infrastructure is a little old or slow, or if I am inconvenienced with some things, as long as I dont have to constantly worry about my life being ruined or seriously damaged for no reason, or having my privacy violated and having my every movement tracked.

Wow, it’s pretty rigid life and rules and laws there in America. I was thinking to visit it as a tourist but seem so complicated.

I am sad to hear about your events. That is definitely not okay to be classified like this. :(

Yes, basically the "American Dream" is dead, and the USA is not a free country, it is quickly becoming one of the less free. The one advantage USA does have with freedom however is freedom of speech, I will admit that the USA probably has the best free speech protection in the world, but that is about it, everything else is pretty much mediocre or negative.

Well as a tourist it is probably ok to visit once or twice, its just a bad place to live. It depends on where you want to visit though...a lot of the popular tourist places I think you will be SHOCKED to see that they are nothing like how you see in movies, they are not glamorous at all, and you will probably find them to be extremely disappointing. New York City for example is one of the worst places I have ever been to: cold, rainy, dirty, rat infested, unfriendly, loud, crowded, and one of the most expensive places anywhere in the world. Detroit is similar, not quite as bad traffic and not as expensive but also run down and many areas are VERY unsafe, even just walking at night is a bad idea. Miami is a ghetto full of rude and arrogant folks and gold diggers, it is just extremely..ghetto (thats where the Miami "accent" comes from, its not really its own accent, its basically just a generic ghetto accent to be blunt). California is not much better: most people want to visit LA, Hollywood, and San Francisco, and Hollywood is fun, but San Francisco is a massive ghetto now too, needles and trash everywhere and homeless camps all over, with the bad smell of fish with the harbor nearby, and LA is ok but awful traffic takes forever to get anywhere. Cali is also ridiculously expensive: 2 hour parking can easily be $28...yes thats right, PARKING is $28! I hate to use the word "ghetto" so much but that is simply how to accurately describe them.

if you want to visit, you are much better staying away from the tourist areas and big cities. Go bike riding or hiking in Virginia, hunting/shooting in upper Michigan, go to the observatory in Colorado, maybe come during a festival or something if you like that, perhaps the USA Bitcoin conference, visit Keene, New Hampshire if you like Libertarians, or maybe visit more of the off the beaten path stuff in Texas.

Anyway, just some suggestions, and also trying to prepare you for disappointment, as there is a lot of misinformation about the USA being some great utopia or something, and it is just not true.

Hope that info is helpful to you, I do hope I was not too negative, just want you to have realistic expectations, cheers. :)

Congratulations @lovelyscape! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 200 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 300 upvotes.
You received more than 700 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 800 upvotes.
You received more than 10 HP as payout for your posts and comments.
Your next payout target is 50 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because your rewards can be split into HP and HBD
You made more than 50 comments.
Your next target is to reach 100 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 10

Congrats on all of the achievements, nice!