You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 44: See || Hear || Feel - Win HIVE

Hello weekenders. Gosh Galen this is such a deep one, it made me sad.

I simply cannot handle the thought of not waking up in the morning to my bright eyed, scraggly curled daughter gleaming at me with wonder for a new day. It would break my heart to not hear the giggles and belly laughs coming from the garden as my husband chases her around the lawn in a game of tag. There would be a massive void in my life to not have the warm cuddle hugs from my two favourite people in the world. So I am disqualifying myself here as yes we can adapt without one of our senses, but I am going to share my gratitude for making me appreciate these senses that I have.

If I absolutely had to choose one, it would probably be my hearing as you can still learn to lip read and sign, interpret things to a large degree from your other senses which would become heightened as a result and you can still "feel" music through vibration. But the world would be a less bright for me 😢

I'll be dedicating some time this weekend to experimenting with losing one of these at a time and see how it feels.

Enjoy your weekend everyone 🌸💚

Sort:  

It's such a difficult choice and we even when hypothetical! Imagine having to make it in reality? So difficult.

Sight and touch...Hmm, hard to lose I think. Less bright is certainly a way to describe what it would be like. Hearing? Also a loss...But your compelling reasons for the other two are sound, and valid.

Wouldn't it be interesting to blind fold ourselves for a week and see how it felt. Not so nice I think.

Thanks for joining in. Loved your response.

!ENGAGE 25

Absolutely Galen, what a loss. A very difficult question.

You definitely evoke some interesting responses with these questions 👍

Have a good day.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

What a lovely description of how important our senses are to us! I feel you.

I experiment with being blind sometimes, just for the fun of it or when I am bored. Still, it's difficult.

Which one will you experiment with? Loss of hearing? If you put on your earbuds, sounds will some how pass through and you will still hear something.

Hehehe, let's know how it goes 👍

Thanks Kemmy.

I don't know which one I'll do first, probably hearing and I'll use gun muffs or something. I can foresee a very irritated husband and frustrated daughter, but I'll see how things progress.

Have a good one :)

This answer is interesting. Learning to lip-read would be helpful so as not to lose the wonder of vision or touch.

I think we could all do well to do small experiments like these with ourselves. It's hypothetical for sure but it also prepares us for things that could happen to us. I've kind of made it a point to try out different things even though I don't need to such as brushing my teeth with the opposite hand. Have you tried it? It's not as easy as you think! It was a good exercise though because now I feel like I'm better with my left hand than of I didn't try that at all.

Good reasoning here! The thought of not hearing or seeing the little ones in our lives is really difficult to try to think. I like your compromise though, to learn sign language. You can still communicate with them!

Hi Cmplxty

Sorry for the late reply, my mom in law is visiting. Oh yes, I actually did try brushing my teeth with the other hand, it felt really weird and kinda alien, but apparently it activates different parts of your brain.

The experiment didn't go as well as planned, but I think it's actually something that will be a good practice to heighten your other senses every now and again. I discovered (while trying to sleep and being disturbed by mosquitoes), that as soon as you switch off the light, my hearing picks up immediately, switch the light on and your visuals take over, it is absolutely insane how lightning fast these changes take place.

Have a good week :)