You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 44: See || Hear || Feel - Win HIVE

While I am an audio visual kind of person, I would rather give up the hearing than the seeing or the ability to touch, feel, taste. I would miss some of the sounds of the world, but would I miss the sounds of the cars in the street? The sounds of gun fire in the streets? the sounds of lover quarrels? There are a lot fewer sounds that bring pleasure to me than the number of touch things that bring pleasure.

Hearing has the future potential to be fixed much easier than the complete loss of touch. As people have pointed out in comments below there are a lot of things covered by touch.

Seeing is something I would not want to loose, even though my eyesight is beginning to decay some with age, I still like being able to see, and can still see well enough for now. I would miss not seeing the clouds drift across the sky, see the birds fly in for a snack, or see the antics of the squirrel teasing the cat behind the glass.

The reality is there just is not that much to miss with hearing loss. Some music, the voices of loved ones, the sounds of the wind chimes in a gentle breeze, or the sounds of nature,

With touch, I can not imagine loosing the sense of feel. To me that would be the most irreplaceable of the three. I would miss the taste of food, I would miss the feeling of hot and cold, the feel of a kittens fur, or the fur of my dogs, the happy swish of a tail against your ankle as you come home to a happy pup that is glad to see you. The feel of wiping away tears of sorrow or joy from a loved ones cheeks, the feel of the lips kissing you, or the feel of a childs hand in your squeezing as they get a little bit scared.

It is a touchy call, but touch would be the most difficult to replace by science.


Good topic choice for the weekend

!ENGAGE 15

Sort:  

Well thought out here and I agree with a lot of your points even though I chose touch. It would be interesting to see what technology could come up with as a way to supplement the touch sensation in the form of sight or sound.

I haven't looked since his morning, but it seems that not many if any would give up the eyesight. So it has been a toss up with touch and hearing. Some great answers all around.

I thought-provoking topic this week and one I wasn't sure would be responded to very well, but I was wrong thankfully. I guess I wanted to get people thinking, and maybe grateful that they have all their senses.

What's really cool is that people are justifying their answers, really thinking about it, like you above, and that's great. I'll be revealing mine in a post today so let's see how it goes huh?

!ENGAGE 25

Seems to be going pretty good in the comments, I'll take another gander, (since I saved my eyes), and see how the trend is then. It is pretty interesting some of the answers.

I know...Some cool answers and thought-patterns...I didn't expect people to get so into it so I'm pleased they're enjoying the topic.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.