Becca the tool-girl

I know my way around tools; you could say I'm an expert I suppose. You can test me if you like, I don't mind. Name a tool and I'll tell you what it's for, how it's used, what safety requirements it has and how it should be maintained.

Ok, not really...I don't know much about tools at all however I know a guy who does, my guy, and I like to help him when he works around the house fixing and making things; he's always fixing and making things. He doesn't mind me helping, maybe it's got something to do with the crop top and short denim shorts I wear, my tool-girl outfit...He always comments on how good I look in a tool belt. That's right, I have my own tool belt and I rock it!

It certainly helps to rock my tool-girl outfit at those times when he sends me off to get tools and I bring the wrong ones back, it happens a lot. Is it my fault that I don't know the difference between a bow saw, back saw, and a hacksaw? Stupid saws!

Anyway, my guy has got loads of tools but, if you know anything about men and their tools, you'll know they can never have enough. With Christmas coming up I've been thinking about gifts and, with my man, it's pretty easy. Tools.

20221212_140442.jpg

I took this image

We have a rule every year, no Christmas presents. We break it every year too. I don't even know why we bother to make it.

This year I'm hoping to get some skin care products from my boy and have been running a campaign over the last weeks to ensure he gets the hint - you can read about it in this post - I think he's getting the hint. The problem is that he isn't one to hint or even ask directly for something he wants and if I was to ask him, nothing, is likely to be the answer. It's infuriating.

Luckily for him he's with me, Becca the tool-girl, which means he's going to get an awesome tool for Christmas.

20221212_140524.jpg

I took this image also

Last Sunday, I went to the tool shop for a look around. I was going to wear my tool-girl outfit, but those denim shorts really are way too short to wear in public and the only one I want to see me in them is my guy anyway.

I wandered about and saw a few options...although everything I knew he would like or want was so expensive.

I blame my man for that, he has a habit of buying quality items knowing he'll only have to buy them once, and it's rubbed off on me. As I walked around looking at things a plan started formulating though and that plan involves a round cordless power saw thing, a rugged worksite radio/Bluetoothy thingy and a tool belt which my man would look great in...I know tool belts are about practicality, but looks and style are important too, right?

20221212_140230.jpg

And I took this image as well

I thought about my plan for a few brief moments then decided it was totally brilliant! I thought about my plan for a little longer and...it was more money than I wanted to spend...a lot more, like, way more.

I figured I'd be able to get some discount, I'd been asked enough times if I needed help by a stream of eager tool-shop guys so figured one of them was likely to offer me some discount, but I still wasn't sure about spending that sort of money. Hmm...maybe I'd just get the round saw thing and the tool belt.

In the end I decided not to make a decision in the store, that's often the wrong decision. I went for a smoothie and thought about the plan some more.

I've not made a purchase yet, a few days after going to the tool shop, but I think the round saw thing (circular saw) is going to happen along with the tool belt. It's a practical decision as the saw will work for him, as will the tool belt. He has a Bluetooth speaker from inside that he uses outside when he's working so I think that'll work for now meaning buying the worksite radio/Bluetoothy thing can be avoided.

I'm going to buy them early next week when he's at work and wrap them up; I'm really excited to give them to him on Christmas Day...but not as excited as getting my gifts...I just hope my hints have been working and he gets me the Jurlique lotions I want.

Becca 💗

Sort:  

I think it's a neat thing to have positive influence over those you care about. With more ways to connect with others than ever, it's the bond we have with ourselves that weakens sometimes. So, when you notice someone else playing a hand in your part or even vice versa, I know it makes me feel good anyway. A book club here, journaling there... If only I could get a hand gift shopping!

Hello there, I hope you're doing well.

I completely agree, being in a relationship is give and take and if done in the right proportion and at the right times there is much that will come of it. I believe it's also important to support the other in things that may not always be of great interest to ourselves; it shows we care, that we support the other and that what is important to them is important to us, because it's important to them.

Thank you for your you comment, I hope you find someone to help you do your gift shopping. The other thing you could do is not do any shopping at all and instead, gift those you value some love, affection, kind words and hugs. Those things are free and should be freely given.

Becca 🎄

Ah the De Walt is some good quality alright so your guy knows his stuff. There is a Makita versus De Walt war going on in our family at the moment. It's getting messy.

Hi Blanchy, I'm sorry for my late reply, I've just been so busy leading into the end of the year.

We watched a documentary on the DeWalt/Milwaukee rivalry at the very beginning of powered hand tools and it was very interesting...More to him than to me, but I sat there with my guy and learned a thing or two. Apparently, a drill is different to a circular saw.

The boy has quite a lot of tools and Makita rings a bell, I think he has one such thing. I wonder how your power tool war will go...Maybe a post on it?

Becca 🌷

The tools caught my eye. Always intriguing to see tools.

Men and their tools. 🙄

I'm just kidding really. 😊

Thanks for having a look at my post.

Becca 🌼

SmH... Thanks for sharing 🙂

Posted via D.Buzz