In the bath with me

It's not just the ambiance, the tone or feel of the room, neither is it the beautiful fragrances, natural scents of flowers, emanating from the candles, bath bombs or bath oils. It's not the way the water soothes, wraps itself around me in its warm hot embrace reaching every part of my body all at once. It's not even the music that plays softly, the sounds that reach inside to caresses my soul, inspiring deep emotion and thought - or no thoughts at all depending on my needs and choice of music.

No...It's not any one of those things...it's all of them combined that makes these moments so pleasurable. There's just something so beautiful about quiet moments spent reclining in my bath.

The simple act of bathing is something humans have done for thousands of years but for me it's more than just bathing, it's an event; a much needed deeply desired, event. I find peace, solace, sensuality and satisfaction in the bath. It's like the time spent there propitiates my soul, softens the rough edges left by the outside world, and forms me into the shape in which I feel most comfortable, emotionally.

20220611_193109.jpg

The feelings begin from the moment I run the water, drop in the bath bomb, light candles and start the music and only heightens at the moment I allow my robe to slip from my body onto the floor; the anticipation of the fragrant water upon my skin is tantalising.

As the water envelops me I feel a flush throughout my body, tension dissipates and I lay back, close my eyes and feel true relaxation. Concerns melt away along with stress, worry and fear. It's the closing of a door with the world left outside, its intrusion, judgement, prying eyes and harshness unwelcome and uninvited into this intimate and beautiful place. These moments, my nightly baths, feel life-giving - or at the very least, life nurturing.

I lay back, hypnotised by the sound of water droplets running back into the bath from the parts of my body; I scoop the water onto myself enjoying the sight and feel of the rivulets upon my skin, the way the droplets cling to me and capture the flame of the candles. The water caresses me and softens me and I submit to the moment.

There I linger, crowned in steam, strands of damp hair tickling my neck, allowing the hot water to soak away everything, to wash away anything but luxurious thoughts of peace, comfort and self-satisfaction. It's hedonistic, sensual and sybaritic. I always stay too long, always, and refill the bath with hot water as required, read a book, run fingers lightly upon my skin just for the pleasure of how it feels, and slowly get softer and pinker. My baths wash my cares away, imbue me with deep feelings of indulgence, allow me to release tensions and find a few moments of tranquillity and self awareness.


I'll be honest and say I don't feel the least bit guilty about my baths. That they are a deeply satisfying and intense pleasure is a certainty though, which is why I prefer them over showers. There's times I shower instead of course though not often; the result is the same, I emerge clean, soft and pinkish - but there's something missing, it's shallow and not emotionally satisfying like a bath is to me. I don't think I should feel guilty for loving the way my baths cradle me emotionally, how they help me find a point from which I feel truly at peace, although maybe I should feel guilty about the water usage.


I wrote this for the one hundred and fifth week of the #weekend-engagement concept by @galenkp. It's featured in his community: THE WEEKEND community.

Becca 💗

I took the image in this myself, and managed not to drop my camera in the bath.

Sort:  

Hi Becca. I so enjoyed this because although I don't have nearly the same verbage for it, I totally understand the feelings and effects!!!

I'm glad you don't feel guilty about it too, I generally don't unless there's a work backlog I'm supposed to be working through, then I do.

Ps I also sometimes reheat it with a top up

Thanks for taking part, I so enjoy your writing. Have a lovely weekend 🛀

There's times I don't add more hot water, but only when I'm a little pushed for time; otherwise, I add more hot water at least once during the bath...maybe at least twice. 😉

I get the impression you've had your share of luxurious bath sessions like mine. Life is too short not to right?

Becca 💗

Indeed, life is too short to not spoil yourself every now and again and baths, well they're an easy and most pleasurable option.

Bathing is a ritual, you express it in a magical and poetic way, I liked your blog. I also like to bathe in the bathtub, but for now I do it in the shower, I don't have a bathtub. Greetings excellent writing work.

Thank you for your lovely comment, I appreciate you taking the time to leave it for me. I hope you get a bathtub again someday and get to enjoy some luxurious soaks in the tub.

Becca 🌷

Baths can be so comforting. I love how you make it sound so poetic. These days I just hope in the shower and hop out coz there's barely enough time for anything else.

Baths are very relaxing to me and I like to make an event of it each night as it soothes ad relaxes me and helps me to sleep better. I love the feeling of softness I'm left with, helped along by an all-over moisturiser after the bath. Just thinking about it now puts a smile on my face. Hmm, I wonder if I should have a second bath for the day?

Becca 🙃

😆 you should have one in my honour. I envy such relaxation.

Hello @becca-mac zero guilt, on the contrary, it is very gratifying when from time to time we give our body that moment of intense pleasure, that allows us to release tensions of the day, hot water is really gratifying and those moments of peace are simply wonderful me From time to time I do it, it makes me feel very good and renewed too, so don't stop doing it, especially if it generates well-being for you. Greetings.

I'm not sure anything on the planet could stop me from taking baths, except the lack of water of course. I'm not sure, but I have a suspicion that I'm part mermaid. That would explain the need for the baths I suppose.

Becca 💗

Well don't worry if you like it and you feel like a mermaid hahaha the important thing is that you enjoy it.

I think I'd be a cute mermaid.

WE THX IM.png

Thank you for supporting the original #weekend-engagement initiative conceived by @galenkp and featured in THE WEEKEND community

The image belongs to @galenkp

Hi Becca!
I rarely fill the bath and enjoy showering, but after reading you, I feel like taking a bath, lighting candles, and relaxing. This was so enjoyable to read :)
Have a nice weekend

Showers are ok too, I just like baths as I can read a book, luxuriate more. I use it as my relaxation I suppose, to centre my thoughts and emotions before bed.

Thanks for taking a read, I really appreciate it, and your comment also.

Have a lovely weekend.

Becca 🌷

Oh I love a good bath! I miss not having one!

I know right? I think there's something a little decadent about it...I'll admit to feeling like Cleopatra at times, although I don't bathe in milk as she was said to do...I prefer to put the milk in my coffee.

You've not had a bath for a while? How long? I think you deserve one...all that strimming you do...A bath would do you good.

Becca 💗

Bubbles will do me...

It's been a few months, the house is just so cold it doesn't really lend itself to a nice bath, so it's only hotel stays - which I don't do very often!

Bubbles are fun...I hope you get to have some soon.

Becca 🙃

I am with you Becca. Although the bubble baths and soaks I take are to ease the pain in my bones. It is the perfect time to just soak and contemplate life. Absolutely no reason to feel guilty about it :) Loved this post:)

Ah yes, a soak in the bath is good for easing aching muscles and bones. Hmm, I wonder if I'd get away with saying my baths are for medicinal purposes? On second thought, I've no issue with saying they're strictly for enjoyment purposes; the secondary benefit is I get squeaky clean of course. (The squeakiness goes away after I apply my all-over body moisturiser though...and then I'm ready for bed.) So...yup, no guilt at all.

Becca 🌷

Medicinal and enjoyment purposes, how about that!
Squeaky clean then clean then bed, that all sounds like a post-bath perfect plan!

What a magical way to express your bathtub time. Soaking ourselves away like that can bring a lot of peace and a state of tranquility.

Tranquillity is a nice way to put it; that's exactly how I feel in the tub...I lay there, listening to music, sometimes reading, and sometimes in silence except for the sounds of the water around me and I feel...tranquil.

Becca 💗

Sound great ❤🥰

The simple act of bathing is something humans have done for thousands of years but for me it's more than just bathing, it's an event; a much needed deeply desired, event. I find peace, solace, sensuality and satisfaction in the bath. It's like the time spent there propitiates my soul, softens the rough edges left by the outside world, and forms me into the shape in which I feel most comfortable, emotionally.

Yes dear, I agree with you, sometimes you are refreshed after bathing and you get stronger again to move on.

Thanks for sharing.

Thanks for leaving a comment, I appreciate it.

Becca

I love you my sis.

Congratulations @becca-mac! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 2750 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 3000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Month - New Tracking Calendar
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Well, this was quite beautiful to read.

Oh Becca, you have such a way with words! Too much of a way if I might add lol - I almost pictured you naked in the bath! XD.

But hey, I guess it just shows how much skilled of a Writer you are! You're able to paint the pictures you want your readers to see and imagine through your words. I am in awe.

Don't worry about the water usage though. Just be one with the bath...😌

Thank you so much Zeraton, I appreciate your kind words and, yes, I like writing in a way that draws the reader in and makes them feel something. That you ("almost") saw something, images in your mind, is not unexpected as well.

I hope you're well.

Becca 🌷

A pleasure my dear. I am quite well. Take care!

Y'know, I've always viewed showers for cleaning and waking, and baths for relaxing and enjoying. They're vastly different form of water usage that it's almost a shame they usually occur in the same location. A person emerges from a shower feeling awake. A person emerges from a bath feeling Human.

A person emerges from a shower feeling awake. A person emerges from a bath feeling Human.

This is so true, for me certainly. I feel so soft and...cared for, I guess I could say. I feel nurtured. It's a lovely feeling.

Becca 💗