You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: WE 100 - memories of WE 67

in Weekend Experiences • 2 years ago

Hi dear 🧡 Oh so this WE post I wrote only direct in english and I think I saw some spelling mistakes in it.
Normaly I prefer to open my word editor and just write mostly the whole text there in german, because this brings just a writing flow.
Than I start editing both, the german and the deepl tanslated text chapter per chapter, inserting them in my ecency browser, meanwhile I also got good routine with it.

Hehe I have been to France 3 weeks living with a french familiy and at the end I started to think in French. Somebody once told me, living long enough in a foreign country you also start to dream in that language.
The last thing wich seems to change is to calcutlate.
Everything with Numbers, I really have to think in german first and than can translate. Thats probably because its different brain areas dealing with. Try to speak out your phone number in german!

Thank you for stopping by 🧡

Sort:  

I guess what I really meant was when translating a language I don't know at all, like Japanese, Thai, or mostly Asian, I am pretty lost, so that is why I translate back and forth, the words mean such different things.

Whatever you are doing works great, and your grasp of English is better than some Americans. Sadly.

I just tried to speak my phone number out in German! LOL When I lived there, I even had the kids memorize it.

I honestly thing that you ability to go back and forth easily (ok, not easily, but, you have the ability) is that every European speaks 2-3 languages, sometimes more. I don't know why many Americans are so lazy. :(

Oh, I never translated to a language I dont know at all, but therefore this is for sure a good option.

We have so many languages on our little continent and you only have one language, that makes a difference. The younger generations here mostly speak very good English. And I am happy because of my good school education, there is only a lack in vocabulary, but a deep understanding in language structure itself I guess.