You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: WE 100 - memories of WE 67

I guess what I really meant was when translating a language I don't know at all, like Japanese, Thai, or mostly Asian, I am pretty lost, so that is why I translate back and forth, the words mean such different things.

Whatever you are doing works great, and your grasp of English is better than some Americans. Sadly.

I just tried to speak my phone number out in German! LOL When I lived there, I even had the kids memorize it.

I honestly thing that you ability to go back and forth easily (ok, not easily, but, you have the ability) is that every European speaks 2-3 languages, sometimes more. I don't know why many Americans are so lazy. :(

Sort:  

Oh, I never translated to a language I dont know at all, but therefore this is for sure a good option.

We have so many languages on our little continent and you only have one language, that makes a difference. The younger generations here mostly speak very good English. And I am happy because of my good school education, there is only a lack in vocabulary, but a deep understanding in language structure itself I guess.