WE 100 - memories of WE 67

in Weekend Experiences2 years ago

I guess one of the first names a newbie meets here on hive are such as @galenkp @dswigle or @tarazkp and so did I. It didnt take long time, when I joined hive 9 months ago, that I found Galens Weekend Engagement and I really liked it from the beginning.

What I like most are those kind of questions, you mostly can dive deep into yourself to find an answer for. Althoug I love to write a whole post on these great topics we get presented, I personally prefered the commenting thing, because it also was a way to meet more new people and it was more fun. I am not sure, but I think the way it is now, nobody can easy read through all the weekly posts and the comments on these posts?

But I also like the questions for making good contest postings and seing the quality of most WE posts shows, its a good oportunity for everyone to improve their blogging skills.

Did you ever try to go 8-9 months back in time to search for a specific posting, Galen wrote? Haha, good luck!
But I finaly found what I was looking for:

Weekend-engagement week 67: The important week

At this time the WE was still in the comment format and the question has been: "What three things are important to you and explain your answer"

screenshot_258_.png

screenshot_257_.png

At that time I was a newbie through and through, I think I even didnt finish my first month on the chain. And of course as a newbie I was so proud to get this acceptance and friendly words, I remember it very well!

Wich brings me to those questions of WE 100:

"Doing it differently / Going back to the start"

Nope, I wouldnt and probably I shouldnt do something different, if I could go back to the start! (except I would tell me, hey Beeb, when the hive goes high it makes sense to put something into HBD ... okay, but this is not our WE topic I guess, dealing the financial aspects is something I still have to learn a lot)

I simply had so much luck joining here! Meeting the right people from the beginning, finding help and support in the first days. Now as I am a little acitve in Ecency discord, I always wonder about the starting troubles so many people have. But probably it turned out so good for me because of the help I got.

It also was Galen, who told me, not to worry too much about my english skills. This still is one of my big hurdles on the chain, especially when I look at antoher of this weeks prompt:

"Engagement on Hive"

I see, or at least I hope, my english gets better and better. But when it goes into reading long textes or diving into a deeper conversation, I still see myself struggeling. Compared with my german speaking HIVE friends, I feel it still is a challenge for me.

I have to admit, the more i grow on the chain, the more I loose track on the people I met and appreciate. This for sure is something I really have to work on, although I dont know how by now.
Now I also get more and more comments on my postings, but often also loose track on answering all.

This is definitely one of the things, where I have to improve myself!

So most of the time I write my whole textes in german, than use deepl and look over it to find the biggest faults the translater makes. Most of the time I make bilingual postings too, because I dont want to excluse some german speaking people, whose english isnt very good.

Many people dont really like bilingual postings, and to be honest ;-) I also dont like them, except they are english / german or french, the languages I understand. Somebody also told me, I should start to write the posts direct in english language, but I am still not sure about this.
So now for this post at the moment I decided to just write it in english without translator, but I always feel, there is missing something. I surely express myself in a deeper way when I write in german.

Wich now brings me to one point I really want to criticise:

Due to the rules for the WE it is not alowed to post bilingual and this for sure is something, I dont really like. Why not make a propper written bilingual post on the topics with one of the languages in English?
There could be included the rule to not mix up the languages, just make one language part and clear cut to the second language part. Haha, but it will not keep me away from joinin in from time to time if it shall be english, you get english ;-)

Congrats to 100 Weekend Engagements dear Galen and I am really looking foreward to your next 100 questions :-)

Finaly greetings from Austria with a photo wich for me will be forever connected with Galen and the Weekend Engagement:

krapfen_2_.jpeg

all words, photos and screenshots by @beeber

Now going back to the lines I wrote, I see next time I will go back to write german and than translating, because I cannot come in my writing flow otherwise.

Sort:  

WE THX image (1).png

Thank you for supporting the #weekend-engagement initiative conceived by @galenkp and featured in THE WEEKEND community

The image belongs to @galenkp

Halo! @beeper! Wie gehts es ihnen?

Ich spreche ein bisschen Deutsch, aber das ist nicht so gut. Englisch hingegen ist für mich die bevorzugte Sprache.

Wow, dein Englisch ist eigentlich ziemlich gut. Wunderbar! also... Da brauchst du dir keine Sorgen zu machen.

Okay, lass mich auf Englisch umschalten, bevor ich mir den Kopf verrenke😂

You make a pretty compelling point there... The fact that English is the only language acceptable entry for the weekend-Engagement definitely makes it a whole lot challenging for non-english speakers. Perhaps old Galen, can consider your suggestion.

Also, awesome post bud. What type of snack is that by the way?

I see,

Hi @zeraton ;-) danke mir geht es sehr gut und dir? ;-) das Deutsch klingt aber schon sehr gut!
thank you for stoping by here, so I also understand Galens view, because its difficult to make good looking and easy to read postings in bilingual style. I would love, hive would find a way to alow 2 postings in the seperated languages, but of course the problem of double rewards appears. But they could thing about a option to deal this topic. Because its also a SEO related theme. As search engines dont like bilingual posts it is very hard to find german explanations when they are written bilingual.

Thats called "Krapfen" hmmm. I made a post some weeks ago, lets see .. here it is for more informations: https://ecency.com/hive-120586/@beeber/faschings-krapfen-a-must-have

Ich bin sehr glücklich! Oh, und is das Wirklich? Vielen Dank mein Freund!

Yeah... There's of course always be that limitation bud. Hopefully, something good will come that will ease the whole issue.

Oh, Krapfen huh? I'll check it out.

 2 years ago (edited) 

Great post and I can't believe you scrolled back that far...That's a lot of posts!

It's been good to have you involved when you can and I've come to expect great posts from you because they have all been so.

You make a good point about multilingual posts, most find them annoying and the long-winded titles very unappealing. That's why I've banned them from my community and generally ignore them when I come across them elsewhere. I understand it's easy to write in your native language though, it makes sense. I guess a person needs to determine who their target audience is and play that way right?

Wenn ich meine Beiträge auf Deutsch schreiben würde, wären sie wahrscheinlich sehr schlecht!

Now...teasing me with krapfen's huh? Now I bloody want some! 🤣

Thank you :-) makes me glad :-)
Hm, it wasnt soo dificult to find the right post, due to you exact alswys perfect titles, but it took a few minutes yes ;-)
A good point you bring in, maybe time for me to decide wich way I will go on the chain, maybe leaving the german speaking section, but there are also some guys from the first days there. We will see.

Your german is just perfect! I guess you can translate your postings to an unknow aficen language and they would still be good. Ah, didnt know, tarazkp is your brother? I thought a friend or other relative. So the little one is your niece, she is such a sweety.

Haha, one day I will have to stop using the Krapfen as teaser LOL but this time it just was the perfect fit to end the post.
Once again a big thank you dear @galenkp !LUV

I don't mind people posting in their own language however considering most of the posts are English it makes sense to post in English. There's so many translators out there so it's easy enough I guess right? I've seen some really excellent posts in other languages but I never vote them, engage or promote them for curation because I don't know what they say. They could be rubbish or plagiarised I guess. So I ignore them and I think many do the same. The dual language ones are similar.

Yes, Taraz is my brother...Like a twin really as we were born on the same day, only nine years apart. I am older. Smallsteps, his daughter is my niece, yes.

You and your krapfen's Beebs! If I ever get to meet you and you don't have a box of krapfen's with you to give me I can't be responsible for what may come. 😉

Hehe ok so I have two options ;-) having some bodyguards or some Krapfen with me !LOL but I never had bodyguards so this option seems to be very interesting and charming

Some jerk threw a bottle of omega 3 pills at me.
Luckily my injuries were only super fish oil.

Credit: reddit
@galenkp, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @beeber
Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ.
Delegate Hive Tokens to Farm $LOLZ and earn 110% Rewards. Learn more.
(3/4)

Lol...A couple of beefy bodyguards could work, although I'd find a way to get the krapfen's, make no mistake about it.

Here's me stealing hubcaps...You know I'm expert right?

I love Galen's Weekend fun, and I am always so sorry I don't get to partake. As you know the MarketFriday challenge is on Friday and it takes me all weekend to clean that up. Boo!!!

I am so glad you do it and it is always a fun read to go through them.

I get the translating thing. While I am familiar with and speak a few other languages, if I don't know them, I write it in English for the flow of the words. Then I take those words and translate it to German. I then take the German and translate it back to English to see if my words make sense in the translation, You know how some words just don't have the same meaning. It works pretty well. I am not sure how you do it, but, you have an excellent command of English so it is less of a problem.

When I lived in Germany, I had to think in English and translate it into German.
What a dork. LOL, But, at the time, it was the only way I could do it. Same with Italian. LOL

Your English is great!!!! Honestly. 💙

Haha! I've been there with that thinking in English before translating to German thingy.

LoL, reminds me of my Goethe A1/A2 days😂

Hi dear 🧡 Oh so this WE post I wrote only direct in english and I think I saw some spelling mistakes in it.
Normaly I prefer to open my word editor and just write mostly the whole text there in german, because this brings just a writing flow.
Than I start editing both, the german and the deepl tanslated text chapter per chapter, inserting them in my ecency browser, meanwhile I also got good routine with it.

Hehe I have been to France 3 weeks living with a french familiy and at the end I started to think in French. Somebody once told me, living long enough in a foreign country you also start to dream in that language.
The last thing wich seems to change is to calcutlate.
Everything with Numbers, I really have to think in german first and than can translate. Thats probably because its different brain areas dealing with. Try to speak out your phone number in german!

Thank you for stopping by 🧡

I guess what I really meant was when translating a language I don't know at all, like Japanese, Thai, or mostly Asian, I am pretty lost, so that is why I translate back and forth, the words mean such different things.

Whatever you are doing works great, and your grasp of English is better than some Americans. Sadly.

I just tried to speak my phone number out in German! LOL When I lived there, I even had the kids memorize it.

I honestly thing that you ability to go back and forth easily (ok, not easily, but, you have the ability) is that every European speaks 2-3 languages, sometimes more. I don't know why many Americans are so lazy. :(

Oh, I never translated to a language I dont know at all, but therefore this is for sure a good option.

We have so many languages on our little continent and you only have one language, that makes a difference. The younger generations here mostly speak very good English. And I am happy because of my good school education, there is only a lack in vocabulary, but a deep understanding in language structure itself I guess.

Reading this, you started so well so congratulations :) This community is indeed wonderful to be a part of and the prompts are mind-boggling at times, lol! The host wanted us to use our minds eh!

And I understand that you wanted to post in both English and German but this post alone proves that your English is great. I didn't even think you are not a native English speaker :) I also don't like much bilingual posts especially if they are very long ones. Although I appreciate it when a post is done all in English first and then the translation at the bottom of the post (like you usually do before). It's a lot tidier that way rather than doing them alternately.

Hi @ifarmgirl yes thats the way I normaly do, first the english than the german part. Except sometimes in Recipe or Drafting Posts, there its just easier to document on how to do it, to make both textes between the photos.
Anyway, I guess on long term maybe I should come to make posts mainly in english, as meanwhile most of my followers and also ecency and dreemport are english related.
Thanks for stopping by :-)

Yeah, I noticed you do it and it's friendlier to the eyes :) And yes, I believe you can do it mainly in English. Cheers and it's always a pleasure :)

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@xplosive(1/5) tipped @beeber (x1)

You can now send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

What a sincere publication, my mother tongue is Spanish, and also many times I have doubted my English, and of course many times I have believed that many ideas are difficult to express in another language. I make the effort to read in English, even when I watch movies I put the subtitles in English, it helps me to practice and understand a foreign language better. When using an automatic translator I feel that something is lost, that's why I read the post many times before publishing, and I don't know if it has happened to you but this way I can edit it much better and change some ideas. Very good post, very entertaining. Best regards and as I say go ahead!

Hi, oh since I joined HIVE there is not so much time left to watch movies ;-) but this is in any case a good way to practise a language. Yes I also go through and through the translated text, sometimes it makes strange translations, although they have become quiet good meanwhile. Wich one do you use? I chose deepl
thank you for stopping by :-)

Hi. Deepl is the best translator. Google's is very imprecise.

Congratulations @beeber! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

We have finished upgrading our website
Our Hive Power Delegations to the April Power Up Month Winners
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Well I am Venezuelan, I do not speak English at all, although I have always wanted to learn, and it is difficult for me to see that here I can only publish in English, I have to use the translator, but this should not be an impediment to express ourselves and participate, go ahead, here we are learning every language, greetings from Venezuela.

Beeb Beeb my fellow night owl, your English is getting better and better!
The language one is interesting, I must admit that when I see a post written in dual languages that has a paragraph in English then a paragraph in the other language then a paragraph in English then I will leave the post unread. IF people do it then make it a solid block of one language, followed by a solid block of the next language.
Thanks for sharing superstar and have a great week!

Success! You mined .9 HBIT & the user you replied to received .1 HBIT on your behalf. mine | wallet | market | tools | discord | community | <>< daily

Hi, yes I know you are not soooooo far away from here :-) greetings back from Austria and thank you for stopping by!