You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 29: Talkin' toys

I don't hunt anymore, so I'll take a little swing at this. I certainly understand @galenkp 's reluctance. I haven't hunted in 30 years and I'm still reluctant to put it in public.

Hunting to me is an art and a science and feeding myself all rolled into one. I loved the being out in the wild and stalking the game. I never wasted meat, I always ate what I killed.

I don't know that there was ever any particular thrill in a successful hunt. Proud certainly but not particularly thrilled. It was, after all, what I'd set out to do.

Compassion? Not so much. Respect is more like it.

Sort:  

Wise Senior of Oregon @bigtom13, Merry christmas!
In the Genesis of the Bible, it is said that the LORD made skins clothes for Adam and Eve.
As I read the sentence, I thought that all humans were destined to kill wild animals in order to survive.
You and I both have to kill other creatures to live. Although I don't hunt, I eat the meat of other animals. So, I don't blame the hunt.

I was curious about how the death of wild animals differs from the death of humans.

Hunting to me is an art and a science and feeding myself all rolled into one. I loved the being out in the wild and stalking the game. I never wasted meat, I always ate what I killed.

I don't know that there was ever any particular thrill in a successful hunt. Proud certainly but not particularly thrilled. It was, after all, what I'd set out to do.

Compassion? Not so much. Respect is more like it.

I think hunting is an essential action for human survival. So, I agree with your argument.
Thank you!

I've seen you ask more than once now about the resemblance between a dying animal and a dying human and I don't know how to say this without just saying it.

That's the weirdest shit I've ever noticed someone repeating

Merry Christmas!

Dear @dandays,
I can't speak English well.
Still, @bigtom13's wise answer is understandable.

Thank you!

Gratitude maybe, greetings and merry Christmas @bigtom13

Merry Christmas!

Gratitude would be a good word too. Buddha said "Venerate the Ox. He gives his life for you." That is how I feel, every time I eat.

I hope your day goes well.