You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 25: Your phone photo

OH. That's like unfair right out of the crate. I haven't had elk in years, and I miss it.

Depending on what's on my plate I'm never sure if I like Elk best or Moose. I'm like a politician in that regard, my vote can be had and at a pretty reasonable price.

I've never had Alberta Elk. I have had Washington, Idaho and Oregon Elk which I'm guessing are at worst cousins. I've also had Arizona Elk. In all honesty it would have been hard for me to tell the difference from the plate level...

Sort:  

I think it probably taste similarly depending but depending on diet a fine palate can probably tell different notes similarly to honey and different types of pollen. Also there are other factors like age, how it died so on that make the meat gross and gamey so how it's killed or how much blood/adrenaline gets into the meat is important. The way it's cooked can really make or break it. I prefer Elk over Moose any day of the week.