You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Watermelon Weekend

in Weekend Experiences3 years ago

Looking good! Watermelon is a funny thing for me. I enjoy it, but I don't really ever crave it. So like if someone put a bowl in front of me, I would gladly eat it, but I would never voluntarily buy one at the store. Likewise if I were at a family potluck or something and there was a bowl of watermelon on the buffet, I wouldn't put some on my plate. I would likely just skip it. Does that make sense? I am still hoping to coax a little something out of my garden this year. We will see what happens. Now that we finally got some rain the mosquitos have been horrible and I can't spend too much time tending to it like I want to.

Sort:  

Oh the mosquitoes and other flies are horrible now that we got killed with that tropical storm rain. There's still hope for your garden. Something has to produce! lol.

I hear ya on the watermelon front. I like to watch them grow and I'll eat it from time to time. I can't remember the last time I bought a melon at the store, so I know what you mean. For me I think its a texture thing, rather than a taste thing. I am not super fond of the texture. I would rather eat cantaloupe.. a little denser.

I can't stand most of the other melons. Watermelon is the one exception. I think for me it just seems like a lot of work for eating mostly water. Plus, you just never know if you are going to get a good one or a meh one.