A Watermelon Weekend

in Weekend Experiences3 years ago (edited)

D7C08031-9108-4DA9-85B1-29FD06F76E88.jpeg

Sunday Time In The Garden ..

It was a beautiful morning this morning, so I grab my coffee and headed outdoors after breakfast. Headed straight out to the garden to poke around and see how things were progressing. The tomato plant looks great, string beans getting close to being picked, the peppers not quite there yet, something seems to have trampled a few of my squash plants, and the watermelon’s seem to be growing like crazy.

I sat down my coffee cup, as you see above, to give reference to the largest watermelon I could find so far. It’s about the size of a large grapefruit. In total I counted roughly 25 to 30 watermelons on these plants. That’s gonna be way too many for my belly. Does anybody want any watermelon? I guess I’ll be knocking on the neighbors doors giving these away if they do turn out to be decent. Years in the past, when we tried to grow watermelon, they’ve either been to seedy, rotted before they were ready to pick, or some animal got to them. Either way we’ve never had great luck growing them. We’ll see if this year turns out to be any different.

F15291F7-19C6-4F91-BFC5-9C0282D6165E.jpeg

This shot below was taken just a few days ago.. So much growth is such a short period of time. It always amazes me.

IMG_1425.JPG

F3F8C9D2-538C-48C8-A1D5-1D76B1AC8BE7.jpeg

Nothing ready to pick today .. so I didn’t do any picking. Today my goal was to trim back some of the vines that are growing into the yard. Like I said above we already have plenty of watermelon growing that I don’t think we need any more. I’ll trim these vines up and the plants can put their energy into the existing fruit.

9B958953-0712-477E-AE56-5A23A6922EE9.jpeg

Snip snip, trim trim, cut cut and these trimmings go on the mulch pile. It’s so hot and humid today, even at 8 AM, that these vines didn’t take long to wilt after I cut them. In three or four days this plot that I have them planted in has really grown quite a bit. I don’t think it will be more than another day or so and I’ll have to do more trimming.

F9D1F28F-F443-4B66-A2A3-F0C420154F55.jpeg

While I was in the patch trimming out what didn’t need to be there, I did notice the pollinators doing their job. Several bees were working around my hands and didn’t seem to be bothered by my presence. They were focused on their job of collecting nectar for the hive. Believe me, I tried not to disturb them too much because I didn’t really feel like being stung today. I’ll just leave the Bee. 🐝 hehehehehe

7050B5A4-E6BB-4FD5-B8A7-D8F7ED214802.jpeg

Well, that’s it for now. I’m off to travel around the yard and see what else is blooming and growing. I’m going to enjoy the growth, the green leaves and blowing breeze, the flowers and the bees. I hate to say it but before we know it the fall will arrive and cooler temperatures will set in. These flowers, fruits, insects and animals will be just memories. So I’m going to get back to enjoying the day while it lasts!

Happy Weekend 😁

Hive text divider.png

text16.png

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

text16.png

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.

text16.png

Hive text divider.png

The Orchid Lovers Community!

Love Orchids? Consider joining our community. We look forward to seeing you there!!!

The Orchid Lovers Community

A place for people who Love Orchids!

Hive text divider.png

Sort:  

Looking good! Watermelon is a funny thing for me. I enjoy it, but I don't really ever crave it. So like if someone put a bowl in front of me, I would gladly eat it, but I would never voluntarily buy one at the store. Likewise if I were at a family potluck or something and there was a bowl of watermelon on the buffet, I wouldn't put some on my plate. I would likely just skip it. Does that make sense? I am still hoping to coax a little something out of my garden this year. We will see what happens. Now that we finally got some rain the mosquitos have been horrible and I can't spend too much time tending to it like I want to.

Oh the mosquitoes and other flies are horrible now that we got killed with that tropical storm rain. There's still hope for your garden. Something has to produce! lol.

I hear ya on the watermelon front. I like to watch them grow and I'll eat it from time to time. I can't remember the last time I bought a melon at the store, so I know what you mean. For me I think its a texture thing, rather than a taste thing. I am not super fond of the texture. I would rather eat cantaloupe.. a little denser.

I can't stand most of the other melons. Watermelon is the one exception. I think for me it just seems like a lot of work for eating mostly water. Plus, you just never know if you are going to get a good one or a meh one.

The neighbors will be happy to have one one day. Hope they will grow more bigger and good.

Yes they will.. and me too! Big and delicious 😁

🍉🍉🍉🍉🍉

Congrats! your garden seems to be doing great.
If I get three or four grape fruit sized watermelons on one of my vines that would be a great harvest. Container gardening isn't so productive, but the joy of growing stuff is a reward in itself.
Hmm, do the bees sting you? Here they are pretty peaceful and don't attack until you trouble them in some way.

The bees are pretty peaceful and would rather just collect their nectar and move on. I leave them alone and they leave me alone. Honestly if I worked even touch them while they were busy working they wouldn't bother me, they would rather just fly away and move to the next flower. If I showed them any harm then that would be a different story. I'm happy they're here pollinating my flowers and making the harvest possible.😁

Blooming and growing in the short summer months, hope you get to enjoy the tasty watermelons on a nice hot day @bdmillergallery

!BEER

The hot days are here and I can't wait to pick one of these watermelon. I have one that looks like it's getting pretty close to being picked. So exciting!

Enjoy when you get to crack it open!

Aw man, I'm jealous. Watermelon is my favourite food; it ranks even higher than coffee.

My personal efforts at watermelon have always failed. Always. I might try again next year with some new ideas I have. Maybe. But... my pumpkin vine is growing almost out of control. I'm loving that!

Ha ha ha… Funny thing is we never have luck growing pumpkins! Watermelon no problem pumpkins we suck at it. So what we'll have to do is trade watermelon for pumpkins LOL. Can't wait to see your Punkin pictures and there's pumpkins come to fruition. It's always cool to be able to grow something from seed and it produce some thing. Nature at its best!

I like watermelon if it’s really cold. Other than that it is a little bit watery and I like the dense fruits better. I should’ve grown cantaloupe that would’ve been more up my alley but I’ve never had much luck growing those either.

Melons!! Should be good for making smoothie! Nice hot day for suntanning.

Hot Hot Hot! Another hot one today too. A smoothie sounds wonderful! Thanks for the GREAT idea 😁

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you @ewkaw and the entire Qurator team for the lovely support and curation!!! 😊

My little guy checks out tiny garden every day …. To see what’s grown ( of anything )

Ahhh.. You planted a garden this year too? Sweet! I like to see things grow and develop. There is something satisfying about it and even better if the veggies come to fruition. Looks like we will be eating string beans tomorrow night maybe! 😋

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @priyanarc & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server: https://discord.gg/mY5uCfQ !

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!

Thanks again for the support 😊

I love your mug! It is so cute lol. I've been eating watermelon almost daily for the last 2 weeks. I love it when it is freshly cut as it is sweet and crispy and juicy.

There really is nothing like fresh watermelon. I can't wait to were able to pick one and eat it, which should be any day now. I had to scroll back up and look to see what mug I put in the photos, LOL. Yes that's one of my favorites it has a nice curvature to the sides that I really like. It's a handmade handpainted stone wear mug. Our friends used to own a pottery factory, but sold it several years ago. It was called Eldreth pottery. We bought tons of items from them, and they gave us a lot of different things. We have bird houses, bowls, mugs, plates, pictures, lamps… All kinds of things. All made from pottery. Thanks for noticing!

The bird houses must be so cute🐦😍😍

Hey, I got a little veggie garden I share with my Tenant, she does most of the work since I am rather too busy at full time everything so she gets the lions share. My growing season is a few weeks later but my Spaghetti squash and Zucchini are going well. Have a Pumpkins at softball size already. Beans with still a ways to go, late planted.

How does Molly help?

Wow! Sounds like you have quite the garden as well. I love spaghetti squash but haven't planted any in years. I do like the yellow squash and tend to cut that thin and Grillet. Just about when it's done I sprinkle some Mrs. Dash and add cheese. That's a nice relationship you have with your tenant. You both share in the work and split the proceeds accordingly. That's the way to do it. If I can only convince my neighbors to do the same thing that would be great then there would be more people tending to it and sharing in the harvest. I'll have to mention it to them again and see if they are interested in that for next year. 😁


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken.


Hey @bdmillergallery, here is a little bit of BEER from @joanstewart for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.