Day at the park- Aftermath of the icestorm and a picnic - Montreal

in Weekend Experienceslast year (edited)

DSC_3025.jpg

Last week I spent one entire day inside. I knew there was quite a rainfall. It turned out that the city was plagued with a severe ice storm. The next day I stepped out. I saw no evidence of an ice storm in my area.

It was big news that over one million people were without power. We were totally fine. My partners parents just got their power back the other day after 4 days. They were cold and in the dark.

We offered our outdoor lamps, 24 hour candles, butane burner for cooking, blankets and even a small power station with a small solar panel. They said no. They thought it would be back anytime. They are 75 and 80 years old.

On Sunday we had decent weather, by Montreal standards. It was not totally freezing. A high of around 12C was good enough to have our first barbecue in a popular park. They said people should wait for a while to go to the park because of the fallen trees. When we got there, we realized people didn't listen. They had enough of the winter.

DSC_2930.jpg

There was still some ice on the man made lake. It was a contrast to the rest of the scenery. Although there are no leaves on trees and the grass is yellow green mixed with mud, there were still blue skies and sun.

DSC_2943.jpg

I was amazed at the damage caused to the trees. There were branches everywhere.

DSC_2933.jpg

I just wished that we could have a pile of wood and have a bonfire somewhere. We are not allowed to do that in the city. I guess if we were, it could get out of control.

DSC_2936.jpg

I couldn't believe the damage cause to some big trees. This park is a 15 minute walk from my apartment. I didn't hear any wind or evidence of any kind of storm that could cause any problems, let alone this kind. Many people were hospitalized and a few were killed. One poor man had a tree fall on him as he stepped outside to clean his front yard.

DSC_2939.jpg

This park is very beautiful in summer. Seeing it like this was shocking.

DSC_2950.jpg

People were out in droves. Some were without power in this neighbourhood and some in the city are still without power now. They were ready to get out of the dark and enjoy some air despite the mess on the streets.

DSC_2951.jpg

The sun was glistening and many took the opportunity to bask in it.

DSC_2945.jpg

I was happy to see two young people sitting in the sun. One was studying and the other was reading. Neither of them were looking down at a cell phone which I found quite shocking. The entire city is looking down at their phones most of the time.

DSC_2946.jpg

Many people brought their hammocks and relaxed in the trees. I have hammock envy. A couple of guys even brought a small tent which was strange to see in a city park. Not a bad idea if you have small children but these were grown men.

DSC_2959.jpg

Anyway I guess they are trying to have an outdoor experience any way that they can.

DSC_2954.jpg

I didn't have peanuts for the squirrel friends but I had grapes.

DSC_2960.jpg

I wasn't sure if they would want grapes but they were just fine with them.

DSC_2968.jpg

Oh no dog!!!!

DSC_2963.jpg

Yum yum squirrel!!!!

DSC_2980.jpg

I'm gonna take my grapes and gooooo!!!!!

DSC_2977.jpg

It was time to get the barbecue going. It was plant based even though many people I've met, don't understand a plant based barby.

DSC_3015.jpg

Ever since @marlyncabrera made some eggplant dip and put the eggplants on the fire, in this post I have been dreaming about smoky baba ganoush, the middle eastern dip. I brought eggplants and got them nice and grilled. I normally would put them in the food processor but I had to do it by hand.

DSC_3021.jpg

I usually use raw garlic for baba ganoush but this time I took advantage of the hot coals, and some wood from the ground, and put the garlic in to roast in the fire.

DSC_3023.jpg

I took the skin off easily after the eggplants were charred on the outside.

DSC_3049.jpg

After chopping the eggplant and garlic as small as possible, I added some tahini that I had brought. This would normally make the dip creamy if done in the food processor, but it was going to be rustic. I also added the juice of a lemon, salt and pepper.

DSC_3075.jpg

I had brought other things to put on the grill. Grilled corn is something I love, and can't have unless we have a barbecue. The apartment doesn't have a balcony.

DSC_3099.jpg

We didn't eat the baba ganoush, because I threw some vegan hot dogs on the grill. We kind of went grill crazy. We packed up the eggplant dip to have the next day.

DSC_3102.jpg

For lunch we had the nice smokey eggplant dip with some fresh baguette. It's French Canada so there has to be a store with fresh baguettes. Baguettes are almost a fashion accessory here. Just have one sticking out of a grocery bag while you ride your bike adorned with flowers on the basket. A perfect look.

DSC_3108.jpg

Hopefully we can get out once more before we find a job. Nobody is calling us back but we haven't tried too hard. We are living on the edge.

DSC_3114.jpg

Thank you for stopping by and have a great day.

carolynbanner.jpgdesign by: @KidSisters

Sort:  

How are you dear friend @carolynstahl good afternoon
What a terrible situation for your partner's parents, four days without electricity is an ordeal.
It's good that the storm has finally stopped and you could enjoy the outdoors.
I hope they soon get someone to contact them and give them some good job news.
A huge love for you and your partner

I appreciate your kind wishes always. We have to take life day by day. Thank you very much my friend. Hugs.❤️

The difference between us and your citizens is, we avoid the sun 😅 And never saw snow at all

A little unfortunate the beautiful garden is broken, I will look forward to how beautiful it will be if the seasons have changed

Trust me my friend. Snow is a horrible thing and you would choose the sun if you felt the cold. I know what you mean about the heat. I was in Indonesia and it was the hottest place I have ever been. It was hotter then Bangkok haha.

The weather here was good for two days. It was 20C but today it is 9C and ugly dark and rainy.

Thanks for stopping by.😊

9C sounds scary to me, but today our temperature is 34°C, and it can make eggs boil without fire😅,

Unfortunately I can no longer comment on your cooking, even though I really want to have dinner at your house, I have made a mistake and should no longer post there 🤦

Hi, my dear friend @carolynstahl ❤️ Despite the terrible news of the ice storm aftermath, I'm happy to see you could finally go out to enjoy a sunny day and a nice BBQ. Thank you so much for the mention; I'm so grateful! The eggplants look just perfect for a creamy baba ganoush; I love that you guys were able to cook them on firewood and outdoors, despite how hurt the trees in the park are.

The baguette slices are screaming for me to eat them all; they look so good. Ours are usually pale and chewy, terrible. Now you have made me want to make some baguettes for lunch tomorrow.

BTW, the story of the squirrel is a classic. You should write it down and then get it edited and published! The shot was perfect and so funny! The dog looks giant and menacing. Great story for a picture book.

Big hug!!!

I really hope you can make some baguettes so I can follow your lead. I don't think I could manage that.
I'm glad you got the squirrel humour. Not many will. I have to amuse myself using these situations.

Thank you my friend. Good wishes to you. Hugs.😊

Despite the weather, always friend @carolynstahl there is a space and time to enjoy and eat healthily. I wish you much success in your publication, with that climate you wrapped up very well and that is very important. Greetings from Venezuela.

I appreciate your visit and your lovely comment. Thank you my friend and all the best to you!

Thank you my great friend @carolynstahl for your beautiful publications. Also for your positive assessments during your visits to mine. I wish you much success personally, with your family and at Hive.

You Crack Us Up!

This Post Was Manually Curated by the FUN Curation Team.
Help reward #fun content creators by joining our curation trail on Hive.Vote.
Or Delegate Hive to @lolz.curate and earn LOLZ farming rewards.

Click to delegate 10, 25, 50, 100, or 1000 HP with HiveSigner.

Thank you😊

Wow! The park is strewn with broken branches! The wind must have been very strong. This reminded me of my garden after a storm!
Nice day for a barbecue. Enjoy life while we can as the future is not predictable.

The grilled sweet corns are my favourite snacks too. Hope you could get a nice new job soon.

Good luck with the new job.

Yeah it's an on going life of obstacles. Now we have Marc's father in the hospital so we are waiting to see what's happening. He's 80 and has many health problems. There is nobody else to help him but us. His mother is 76 and can't drive or take a bus. Thanks for the good wishes.

Oh! The old relatives are not in good shape. This is quite stressful. You just have to be near them in case they need any assistance.

My next door neighbour couldn’t travel during the last four years as his elderly mother had been in hospital. A few months ago, she finally passed away so he could start to plan ahead. But he had a bad fall and broke his ribs. So, no traveling prospect in the near future.

It’s Songkran festival but I don’t feel very cheerful or festive either. Life is full of testing exercises!

Keep cheerful vibes about you!
Mind is over matter! Just believe and do it!

Thank you I always appreciate your encouragement.🙏

"Baguettes are almost a fashion accessory here. Just have one sticking out of a grocery bag while you ride your bike adorned with flowers on the basket. A perfect look."

Ha! That sounds ideal! 😁 Your barbeque in the park looks wonderful!

Yeah it was good until the cold winds blew us home before we were ready. The winter never ends. Thanks for stopping by.😊

My thoughts about Canada being very wintery are confirmed by your posts! I heard Vancouver has better weather though.

My daughter lives in Vancouver and sometimes they go to the beach in March. I would rather be by a tropical beach though. 😄