You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement week 13: Ask me anything

This ones really cool!

Thanks to the sponsors for helping keep the weekly engagement going! I don’t know if I’ve made the cut off for this one but let’s give it a go!

I will elaborate on my aspect of it later when I have time but who in history would you like to spend a week getting to know and why? I would prefer to keep it beyond the past 20 years, meaning important figures that have gained attention in the past 20 years wouldn’t be options, though I don’t think you’d pick someone from recently but you never know! What kinds of things would you anticipate doing with them?

Sort:  

You made the cut off with time to spare...

There's so many I would be able to answer this question with. I'm fascinated by people's drive and ability to create something out of nothing...Alexander the Great, Winston Churchill, Henry Ford, Napoleon, William the Conqueror, the Vikings, Captain Cook and the list goes on.

You asked for one though and I'm going to choose Enzo Anselmo Giuseppe Maria Ferrari.

I'd like to hear about his failures and how overcame them, also how he motivated himself not only as a racing driver but as the founder of the Scuderia Ferrari Grand Prix team and ultimately the can manufacturer. Doing what he did at the time he did it is amazing and I think he would have a lot to impart to a bloke like me based on his 90 years of life.

I would ask about aspects of his life that he feels were pivotal, what drove him and why...Who influenced him and why. All of this would take place in Italy over coffee, Italian food and wine and at the end of the week I think I'd come away with a lot more life-lessons through his experiences that I could gain in ten years of my own.

A good question...Now what about you?

!ENGAGE 25

I’ve been thinking about this all day! I’ve narrowed it down and will follow up in a bit when the little man is sleeping!

Haha...That's gold! A good solid name of course, and with your Italian background...Makes sense.

I toured the Ferrari factory and museum a few years back, Lamborghini and Ducati too, plus the Musée automobile panini (Collezione Umberto Panini) all around Modena. Wow, is about all I can say. I've written posts, might do another someday. I was driving an F430 Spider around Modena for a while too...Sort of felt good.

I think it's good that you kept some link to the old country and it's not a name one comes across all the time so should set the lad apart, in a good way.

I love all things Italian and have been there a few times...Will go back. We have a pretty legit restaurant called Enzo's here...Very nice food! https://enzosristorante.com.au/ (Now I want to go to Enzo's. ) Lol.

That’s awesome! When we eventually go back, we are definitely planning on spending like a month there and exploring things like the Ferrari factory and so many others. It will be nice to show our son the places we saw when we were younger and lots of other things.

So I’ve been thinking about it and there’s obvious ones for me like Dean Martin, Johnny Cash, Nikola Tesla, Leonardo Da Vinci, Enzo Ferrari and several others but lately with the way things have been going both in our lives as well as in the world I would go with Daniel Boone. He was an American pioneer and explorer, at least in ‘legend’ if he was ever a real person, you never know with some of these historical pieces. The concept though of going out and exploring, living off the land and being sustainable and self sufficient is something that’s resonating with us a lot. We’ve been pretty independent people in our lives and relationship so having the ability to go exploring and charting new territory for at least ourselves if not for others is something I could really look up to.

I would definitely appreciate some time with him to see how he was able to handle the time away from his family and relatives. I don’t know if he had a wife and kids but I would have mine with me of course, but to see his innovation and how he met challenges while in the raw wilderness is intriguing to me. I envision us having that type of life at some point, just my family and we hopefully have enough land that we don’t see our neighbors. I would like to have someone with his skills show me things that are beneficial but with a modern twist of course like chainsaws lol. The woodsman knowledge he had though must have been great, at least in the stories.

I’ve been watching so much of this great American TV show called Homestead Rescue and have been trying to learn some of the things because I feel like it might get there some day. We might have to homestead just to get away from the crazy bullshit that goes on. It’s interesting the older I get the more I want to live away from the city instead of closer to it lol. There’s too much riff raff and shit that I want to raise our son away from all that as best we can.

I'm a prepper so I understand this desire to seek a more natural or offgrid life. There's a lot of merit it it, and in having the skills to permit one to escape society, or at least distance from it.

I'm familiar with Daniel Boone and I reckon to have those skills would leave one feeling pretty confident; I've written about this before myself. Of course in the modern society there's a few additional things one would need to know and have, as you say, although the skills are similar when it comes to the wilderness, nature and animals.

I watch a show called Lawless Land made by National Geographic. It's about living in a place called Port Protection, Alaska focusing on how they survive, provide for themselves and plan ahead. It's pretty cool.

I think it's good to have the idea you have and who better to pass on a few skills than Daniel Boone huh?

Awesome thanks for the show recommendation my friend! We are always looking for a new show to watch, especially related to that type of content!

There would definitely need to be some aspect of it that would need to be modernized but I’ve learned a fair bit from the likes of Bear Grylls and Marty Rainey via the shows I watch they put out!

I’ve read about your prepper things, I think. We this past week and a half or so have made our first ever massive batches of homemade Italian tomato sauce! We canned it and everything, I’ll be posting about it at some point lol

img_5631.heic

That was about 400 pounds of tomatoes, we are still buying another 100 pounds if we can get it today!

One can never have enough pasta sauce in my opinion. Good work!

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.