You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 42: Reveal and win hive

This is a cool one this week. Let’s see for revealing something that I haven’t on here yet..

I used to be a hardcore gamer in my younger years. I spent a significant amount of my time when I was a teenager, when not skateboarding, gaming. My brother hated it for some reason, maybe because I wasn’t doing anything with him (who was a dick anyways and he expected me to do shit with him? Ya no thanks). I sometimes would game with people for 8-10 hours a day playing first person shooting games, role playing games and some others. I think it’s why I don’t let our son do that now and will probably not let him do it for many years because of how addicting it is. I have a lot of good memories from it but as well, it reduced my desire for other things that might have worked against me like a car or a license. It all worked out in the end, it helped shape who I am now but the addiction is pretty serious so I had to quit cold turkey. Thankfully now my only gaming outlet is Splinterlands here and dCity but both are minimal time needed so it’s perfect for me.

Sort:  

How nice that you were able to overcome that addiction experience and now be able to guide your son in that direction. I think video games are great, kids enjoy them a lot, but you certainly have to find a balance so they don't become addictive and disconnect from the outside world.

Very true! I want to keep our son focused on things outside, sports if he wants but not video games. There’s too much life to be missed playing them and especially nowadays, things are designed to be the most addicting for the kids and keep them plugged into it. I don’t see a good future for the games so I’ll work on trying to keep him off them however I can. One of the main ways is to lead by example if I can. I won’t play them when I’m with him so that he doesn’t see me do it. Thankfully I only need to play them for less than an hour a day so it’s not too hard lol

I have that struggle right now with my son because he really spends a lot of time online. This pandemic issue has made it worse because with this confinement it's harder to keep them out.
I recently signed him up for tennis lessons and he was excited and with the uptick in the pandemic they shut down the activity 😩 .
I keep thinking of other strategies to distract him from video games.....

This is a cool one this week.

What you mean is that they're cool every week right? 😆

I've never been a gamer...Although I've played games of course. I tend to lose interest pretty quickly though, FPS games are not as good as FPS in real life and so I hit the field and lived life in reality rather than a game. I get it though, no judgment at all, and the addiction is very real.

I remember one year I bought a PS2 or something like that and got Killzone. Ah, the thumb pain I endured to smash that entire gam all the way through.

It's good that you're limiting the E-dog mate and I know you're opening him up to so many other things which I think will have so much more benefit for his life.

I declare this a legit reveal!

!ENGAGE 25

Lol true every week is pretty damn cool.

The FPS games were fun in their times but they just keep doing the same old stuff now and it got boring. The role playing games were a lot of fun because they kept changing and making you think. It’s just too addicting now so it’s best not to dabble in them at all lol. They have their place and keep people away from other things but I want to spend time with E himself and try to teach and guide him in the right direction as best I can instead of telling him this and that. My dad was working too much as a kid and I know why he did it but if I was able to spend more time with him I wonder if I wouldn’t have played the games I did. He did what he had to do though so I don’t blame him at all.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.