You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 42: Reveal and win hive

How nice that you were able to overcome that addiction experience and now be able to guide your son in that direction. I think video games are great, kids enjoy them a lot, but you certainly have to find a balance so they don't become addictive and disconnect from the outside world.

Sort:  

Very true! I want to keep our son focused on things outside, sports if he wants but not video games. There’s too much life to be missed playing them and especially nowadays, things are designed to be the most addicting for the kids and keep them plugged into it. I don’t see a good future for the games so I’ll work on trying to keep him off them however I can. One of the main ways is to lead by example if I can. I won’t play them when I’m with him so that he doesn’t see me do it. Thankfully I only need to play them for less than an hour a day so it’s not too hard lol

I have that struggle right now with my son because he really spends a lot of time online. This pandemic issue has made it worse because with this confinement it's harder to keep them out.
I recently signed him up for tennis lessons and he was excited and with the uptick in the pandemic they shut down the activity 😩 .
I keep thinking of other strategies to distract him from video games.....