You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 59: The invite

Leaving us hanging by not responding yourself? Brutality for the weekend! Lol.

Who I would invite for dinner… hmm I will have to think about this a little bit.

I’m going to go with someone local and knew to us. The little man and I have made a friend on our fishing outings! We met this older guy named Jeff who likes to fish at the same spot as we do. He’s probably in his 60’s or 70’s but works nights. He’s a navy veteran and the times I’ve spent hanging out with him have been good. He’s pretty relaxed, loves to fish with the little man and has good tips and things of that nature. He even gave us a tool as a way to pay it forward for the little man. I’d love to invite him over to have dinner, learn more about him and the things he’s done in life and all that and just be a friend. It sounds like he’s a little lonely in life. Poor guy lost his wife and two children, with two more remaining in his lifetime. That’s one hell of an awful thing to experience but we do what we have to do to keep going for the other loved ones in our lives. From the first day we met him he gave the little man a shiner, we didn’t talk to him for more than a minute and he gave us one to use. I would enjoy the opportunity to get to know the guy more, I tend to enjoy befriending older people like that. They have lots of wisdom and life experience that you can learn from and I always enjoy those moments. I’m lucky that I got to do quite a bit of that already in my life, learning from the older generation. You can never have too much of that I think!

Sort:  

For years I went out of my way to spend regular time with people older than myself, retirees and all; many were veterans but a lot were not. My strategy was to learn things from people who had experienced a lot more life than I had and I did. Of course, it also had a secondary benefit of them having an attentive listener to talk with as many of them had no one else. I gained more than they did I think.

I like what you're doing here man, it's good for you and the E-tacker both.

Truly we learn from people who are older than us. Without their knowledge to build up ourselves. They are always filled with wisdom because you have seen more before us.

Yeah I love it as well for those same reasons. It’s something that many people could do and change their attitudes in life if they learned to try and get wisdom and perspective from someone who is older than they are. The older folks aren’t always right in some of their convictions but they have great perspectives and life experience that we can learn from.

Many can truly change their attitudes in life because meeting with.thwm can make you be wise.

Aww, you're so cute. I like it, he maybe need some company. Good!

I would like to have dinner with the little man. 😍💙😘say hi to him...

Meeting with this aged man is a means of copying wisdom from him. In old men lie wisdom and so inviting him for dinner we make you get more about him and more wisdom about him as well.

I think it is for sure! We always should try to learn from the wisdom of the older generation. Experience matters to shape our world view!

Well said. Experience matters