You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 24: Passions [Get paid for yours]

Ha, I give one of my best friends shit, tell him that his name is actually 'Goddamnit" because he gets called that more than anything else. Probably doesn't help that we both have the same first name so nicknames and epithets are just about all that ever get used.

Sort:  

Haha, yeah I have the same sort of thing. You know, there's people at the gun range that only get called their nickname and I don't even know their real name. I think that happens a lot around the place. I don't really mind what people call me...Been called some reprehensible things by some terrible people, deeply racist and offensive things. Also been called some great things...None of what I've been called changes the person I am though, that remains constant.

Using people's true name is a respect thing, and I always make sure I get a person's name right - Later when the relationship is formed, and only if I really like them might they get a nickname, or get called fucker in greeting. A term of endearment indicating we're close enough to speak like that.