Sort:  

I'm not against electric, but in a vast country like Australia, with not much in between towns and cities for thousands of miles, it is problematic. If they can produce off-roaders that have the range then all good, if not, it dino-fuels for me. :)

Knock it off. I already haven't been able to shut up about diving GBR for two weeks.

Lol...

This is how they do it over there...

You see that?! Who the hell rides on top of the car these days without the recliner extended?

Rookie!

Mr.Bean is a bit of a clown...Clearly no idea! Everyone knows you have to open the recliner!

It's the same here. Big spaces between places. A 300 mile range (480 km) is enough here on the road, the charging infrastructure is catching up, but off road? Better pull a trailer with solar panels on top and a generator inside :)

Yeah, it's the lack of range, and cost of infrastructure to put in stations, that's the problem. My LandCruiser has 1100km driving range from a single tank (highway cycle and towing my camper), so I'd want that sort of range from an electric off roader. I think they will do it. I like electric and support it, but they have to get real with range and charging time.

Charging time is happening fast. Charging your Tesla at a Supercharger will take about 50 minutes from 10% to 95%.

Range is a factor of how much battery you can carry. It'll catch up, but it's going to take a little time.

It's the same with motorcycles. To get me to even look it needs 250 miles and that really isn't there yet.

Making batteries more lightweight options will help also. There's some good stuff coming through on that front, the Lithium Polymer types for instance. It'll get there.

Somebody put a Lithium Iron battery out as a power supply type. No carbon at all and weight isn't a factor when it stays in your garage. It's made for solar and also automatic backups.

It's being marketed in SoCal as an alternative to a generator to deal with power blackouts. I'm guessing it'll sell rather well...

There's some good stuff coming up and when it's affordable many will benefit. I have a solar array on my roof, but no storage, it feeds to the grid if I don't use the power and I get a rebate...Going well, but some storage would be good. Blackout insurance. I like the sound of that. It'll happen.