You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Peachy!

What an incredible story. We'd break the coffee house if we sat down together.

I was able to retire before this mess, too. I engineered and climbed tower cranes for 22 years. Got my hours at age 41 and held them to their end of the bargain. My wife and I took off traveliving in 2017 (you can use that word btw) and then 2020 covid bla bla bla here we are.

We just booked our tickets to get back outta here though. April 21, "leavin.. on a jet plane.." Be nice to pick up where we left off.

60? Nice! We were able to tour 16 but lived 30 days or more in 13 of them between 17 and Covid 2020. What you learn by divulging yourself in the culture is what books don't teach.

Well dang, welcome to America. Make yourself at home. Lemme know if you need anything.

Sort:  

traveliving , thats a great word I must remember it
I didn't climb tower cranes but I did climb, build and dismantle many communications towers over the years

I think off the top of my head if I set a 30 day limit to count a country my number would be around 55
If I may ask where are you heading off to in April?

MY flying days are pretty much over, I got TB in 2007 and it did a fair bit of damage to my lungs, if I fly these days, well at least on longer flights, I often end up with Pneumonia so have given up on the idea of any long distance flights, but hope to do a few road trips here and there for a few days this coming summer

God bless your lungs then. That sounds terrible. Not the not flying part, big deal, they make boats that do the same thing. But the looming feeling must be a challenge.

UK. My wife is British. We'll go re-establish ourselves there at least and see what we can make happen in the first couple years. But she's chosen Greece. In a perfect world, we would have a few rentals in UK and I could inherit the rewards of being citizen there while traveliving between Greece and California. That's our 5 year plan.

I don't think anyone tuned in fails at executing the things we intentionally set in front of ourselves.

All I really want is to be somewhere I don't want to leave.

Thanks
And that’s a great goal
I’m pretty happy where I am at the moment
Not that big a fan of the cold of winter but being close and spending time with the grandkids was a priority for us

Now that’s a coincidence my wife is also British

..my wife is also British.

I'm about 60% covered in tattoos—true story. ;D

Funny you're in Boston. My career took me coast to coast here. I've lived in I don't know how many states (+/- 30). During those days many fellas surrounded me from all over the country. Either I worked there or they worked with me and, statistically, and I mean this with all due respect to anyone tuned in from Boston, but they're the worst! LoL.

I have many brothers from Boston, I love my Boston brothers. Just sayin if there was ever an issue that came to blows or someone didn't show up at work the next day cuz they got locked up the previous night, it was usually the brother from Boston.

I probably shoulda stopped at 'all over the country.'

Well I don’t have that many tattoos about 15 but many are smallish

I plan to visit Boston this year with the wife some sightseeing for us and of course photo walks for me

And your description of people from Boston I have heard similar said about Kiwis aka New Zealanders lol

I'd love to see Boston. I haven't been to Mass. Jersey is about the farthest North East I've been. That whole upper eastern region of the states has eluded me. Haven't been to idaho, either, or either Dakota. That's about it.

So far everywhere I haven't had to work had been my favorite.

Lol at the places you haven’t had to work being your favorites
I am not as well travelled as you in the States have only been to about 15 I think