Side-effects of trying to be Spider-Man: A Childhood Accident.

in Weekend Experiences2 years ago (edited)

pexels-trần-long-7743765.jpg

Image Source


Me, as a child, was never really the daredevil kind.

I did have my moments here and there, which ran along on the edge of stupidity and dumbness that I'm still carrying to this day. (Some traits never do leave you, do they?)

If I had to explain how my childhood went, the only word that would come to mind is,"weird."

I was always the type of kid who avoided social interaction, and most of my days were spent lurking in the woods, poking at wild insects, and lying across fields. I also passed my time making younger children cry by chasing them around with my cricket bat, but that's another story. (I have a rather shameful past as you can see….)

Now, on to the accident.


untitled.gif


Besides the usual scraps on the knees and elbows for running around all day, I was a kid who stayed almost free from any severe injuries. I never had to get admitted to a hospital, which was a plus in my books. But there was this one accident that did manage to almost, almost kill me while providing my parents a mental trauma for the rest of their lives with anything related to chairs, so... yeah, I think I did pretty well in the accident department...

The thing that had caused the whole dying scenario was, of course, my infatuation with "Spider-man."


untitled.gif


Back then, the first spider-man movie starring Tobey had been released, and along with the cartoons broadcasted on various tv channels about this masked jumping climbing spider boy, my five-year-old brain was hooked to it like a fish on a wire.

So like any obsessed child with a stubborn tantrum streak, I wanted to be exactly like him.

From my clothes to my room, I wanted everything in red and blue. And with all the spider-jumps I performed from atop wardrobes and tables surely weren’t keeping the neighbours downstairs very happy.

I deemed myself as a glorious sidekick back then, the true true born flesh and blood of spider-man himself! ( Kids have vivid imaginations, what can I say?)

Who dared to even stop me!?
— Our dining chairs, apparently.

It all started rather cinematically, to be honest.

The night was dark and cold. And as it was some sort of holiday in our country, most stores and places were closed off early.

I, like my angelic self, was tottering around the dining area, sniffing for food and constantly whining to my mother about dinner. And that was when I decided that my spider-senses were tingling.

See, we had gotten a new dining table set just about a day ago. It was a solid wooden block, and the chairs had sharp edges that glistened under the light.
I think it was probably that glistening that made me do what I did. I was always attracted to shiny things…

It didn't take a minute for me to get into position. Placing myself onto one of those chairs, I felt like I was on top of the Empire State Building, looking down onto the mortals—"and oh! Look! Just across the block, a citizen needs my help!!"

So up, up and I went, using my spider web to jump from building to building, ready to save the day…

That was until I slipped.

Apparently, my little feet were too short to make the leap from one chair to another, so like the Gwen Stacy to Andrew Garfield's spider-man, I fell.

spidy.jpg

Image Source

The result of the fall had been rather devastating. According to my sister, my forehead had hit the corner of the chair, giving me a third eye right on the spot, making blood spill out all over the floor as my wailing started.

Because of the national holiday, most local pharmacies were closed around our area. And since there were no taxis on the road either, my parents had to literally sprint with me in their arms to find the nearest doctor at 9 pm, all the while holding my head down, so I didn't lose more blood and, well, die.

I had to get three stitches to close the bloody thing up. And I had screamed like a siren along the whole process, my mother said.

Safe to say that that incident, marked the end of my spider-man journey. I don't know why I even liked spider-man to begin with. I hate spiders…

Sort:  

THE WEEKEND community thanks you for supporting the #weekend-engagement concept week ninety four [WE95] a concept by @galenkp. We hope you have a great weekend and will come back again soon.

95 thanks image.png

original im src edited in canva

Congratulations @drivingindevon! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 100 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 200 upvotes.
You made more than 50 comments.
Your next target is to reach 100 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

The fourth edition of Hive Power Up Month started today. Don't miss it!
Hive Power Up Day - April 1st 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Hello @drivingindevon

Oh gosh I feel terrible laughing at your horrible misfortune as a child but I really couldn't help myself with the way you described this!

I'm glad that you survived to tell the tale (and probably find a new superhero to imitate - there are plenty options. As a kid I wanted to be superglue girl...it's not as funny as it sounds lol)

Have a good day

Hello!

Oh it is something to have a laugh about let me assure you! Makes for a great dinner table story at least. I'm glad you enjoyed it! 😊
As I said, I have a shameful childhood. So there's many many moree where that came from!!

And superglue girl? That sounds.. painful..
I have a superglue experience of my own when I was a kid. So I wont recommend that to anyone else thats for sure 😂

At least we can share some laughter at our childhood misfortune, thank you for making me have a cackle.

Yes, superglue is terrible stuff, should have been outlawed years ago.

Have a lovely day/night

Digging the song!

popular in my household

ohhh now this is a nice song!

You post has been manually curated by BDVoter Team! To know more about us join our Discord.


Delegate HIVE POWER to us & earn HIVE daily.

FOLLOW OUR HIVE AUTO CURATION TRAIL

What I liked most about your story was the ending that was epic, you cried like ambulance and you hate spiders 🤣. @drivingindevon

Ahahahaa thanks! It is a funny story what can say :v

Ahhh the legendary story of spidy XDD Maybe that's why you turned out to be a complete weirdo :v

Yeapp. That and all the other times i got hit on my head :v