He's bonkers, but so am I

in Weekend Experiences2 years ago

20220428_162251_2 (1).jpg

Give a little love to a child, and you get a great deal back.

- John Ruskin -



It only took a single text message to put a massive smile on my face last night. It was late so I responded with a smiley face only, but today I called the sender for a proper conversation and what a great way to start my weekend it was! So, what was that text message?

Well, my brother and his wife, who live 4,000 kilometres away in the north east corner of the country, booked flights to Adelaide and will be here in the third week of December and will stay into the middle of the first week of 2023...and that means I'll see my little (bonkers) nephew again!

I'm really looing forward to seeing him and he's so excited to be coming here also,* although he doesn't yet know he is*. Weekly, we have a video chat and I ask him when he's coming here to my house and he frowns and says, I don't know uncle Galen, soon I hope. Then he goes on to tell me all of the things he wants to do down here. Building Lego, driving in my four wheel drive and seeing my guns feature prominently on that list.

I saw him about a month ago when I flew Cairns to visit and we had a really great time doing things out and about and just playing, telling stories, riding his bike and just hanging out at home. He's a very cool almost-four-year-old and I love him so much. If I had a child I'd want him to be like my nephew.

One of the things we did when I was up there was head up the Macalister Range to a place called Kuranda, high above Cairns. It's a very small settlement famous for it's alternative lifestyle and the markets and other attractions that are open daily.

20220428_104837-COLLAGE.jpg

We drove up, but there's a train called the Kuranda Scenic Railway that goes up and back also. It climbs 328 metres in elevation and travels through 15 tunnels and across 37 bridges to Kuranda and back. One can also take the Kuranda Skyrail. Most go up by one and come down by the other which I've done a couple times over the years.

We spent time in the markets, had lunch, visited the really cool butterfly house and went for a walk through the rain forest to see Barron Falls, the top image in the collage below, and then it was time to go back home; that was when my sister in law asked me if I wanted to take my nephew home on the train by my self. I was like, really?

20220428_143148_2-COLLAGE.jpg

Travelling one way on the train is $50 for an adult and my nephew was free so we grabbed tickets, boarded the 100 year old carriage, and got settled in for our nephew and uncle adventure!

It was hard to grab decent images as hanging out of the train isn't permitted but I broke the rules a little bit (I'm known for it) and took several, some of which you can see here. I have a lot of my nephew and of us together also, but you're not seeing those.

We had a really cool time chatting about what we saw, counting as we entered the tunnels to find out which was the longest one (we counted slowly to 23 in the longest one) and generally hung out and enjoyed each others company. It was a really cool time for me and he loved it also.

Where I live is vastly different to the tropical north of Australia and we'll be doing different things but I know the feeling will be the same. I really miss my nephew, and my niece @smallsteps in Finland as well, and knowing I'm going to see him at the end of the year has made me feel so happy; he's totally bonkers, but so am I, and maybe that's why we get a long so well. We're not a family to put any importance on Christmas at all but having my brother, his wife and my nephew here is going to mean a lot. There'll be outings, stay-innings and a lot of family-oriented activities that will allow us to make some more memories similar to the one I have of the train ride.

I have to remember not to tell him about the trip down here because if, for some reason, it doesn't happen he'll be devastated, as would I, but as it gets closer he'll come to know about it and we can start planning all the things we're going to do together. Do I sound excited? Yep, that's because I am!


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised so be humble and kind

Any images in this post are my own and are not for your use

Sort:  

Ah train rides with kiddos are the freaking most awesome. That one is so scenic, I just love mountainous areas like that. It does sound like you had a freaking rad time and that excitement you feel will only grow as time draws closer to the end of the year. I'm sure it's going to be rad. I take it you're going to organise a play table for him with gun car toys and the like for when he arrives??

Cairns is a pretty legit part of Australia. It's some times brutal with crocodiles, marine stingers, snakes, cyclones and tourists, but generally it's a good spot.

Yeah, my nephew and I will be playing with loads of stuff including Lego and the piles of things I'll buy for him in between now and then! I spoil him, but I can't help it.

That's awesome man! I'm excited for you and the little one! The little man got to see my dad for the first time in hmm maybe 1.5 or 2 years? I was excited about that for sure and it was good for him to get to experience his grandfather a bit! These are definitely the most precious times to experience with them, their innocence and joy at all these things around us is truly something special to see. Warms my heart a bit to think you'll be seeing the little guy! Hopefully smallsteps at some point in the future too but we know how that shit goes with travel right now.

Some epic pictures, love the train ride!

Yep, the time moves by so rapidly so we need to make the most of it. I'm not sure how many of these memories my nephew will remember moving forward, but I remember them and that's what's important I guess; I'm sure some will stick with him though. I think the same for your lad as well. I guess that's why it's important to keep creating these memories.

It's been four years since I saw @smallsteps, she was two years old. We speak almost weekly on video though and so she remembers me. I miss her and am not sure when I might see her in person next. Maybe next year.

You seem really excited and really waiting for the time to come.
Everyone who loves each other but lives far apart will always miss the time to be together. A moment of gathering, spending time together, then separating again.

Memories of togetherness will always be eternal and it will be passed down to the next generation.

Memories of togetherness will always be eternal

This is a good line; memories are such a valued part of what a human being has inside right?

I'm just imagining the look on your Nephew's face when he realizes he will be coming over by December.

I know! He's going to be really happy. I'm not sure when they're telling him but his face will be precious. He's such an expressive kid, shows his emotions, so it will be really funny I think. I'm looking forward to seeing him a lot.

Those markets look amazing!

We have a vintage open air style train that runs in part of the N. Georgia mountains and now that my grandson is 5, I think it is the perfect time for us to go check it out and see his reactions!

The Kuranda markets are a pretty good attraction. There's lots I didn't include in the post as it wasn't about the markets, but I'll write some more later.

There's also some other attractions in the immediate area like the Rainforest Station where they have animals and forest expeditions where they drive around in army ducks, amphibious vehicles, and then go into the Barron River and drive/boat around which is cool. They have commentary and stuff. I've done it and it's good fun.

That rail thing you have would be something fun for any five year old I think. You should make it happen.

I hope he's developed his long term memory so he remembers that XD otherwise you'll just have to go again when he's older ;D

There needs to be a big old KP family reunion so the little cousins can meet (again if they've already met) :)

They've never met which is sad I think. It's a long way to Finland and vice versa. It would be nice though so think, they would be good friends.

Stunning paradise.

I sure is.

Sweet memories will always be cherished.
I'm sure at some point when your cousin grow older the memories he shares with you will always be remembered.

I'm sure at some point when your cousin

Cousin?

Typo error...nephew rather

No worries. That was my way of saying, WTF? Lol.

Looks like paradise

Sure does huh?

Those are some breath taking shots of nature. I'm in awe

It's great to know that you seemed to have a wonderful weekend.

My brothers kid is still small around 3 years old and is quite shy but I'm hoping to hear the words "Uncle" soon.

Being an uncle comes with great responsibility. We are obligated to teach the little ones a lot of bad habits that their parents have to try and rectify! 😂

Now that's what I'm talking about! I'm already thinking of great things to teach my nephew on how to make their parent's head blow mad 🤣

Such is a responsibility passed down from generation to generation ain't it?

We must uphold the ways of uncle, revered and ancient as they are.

The radical rule breaker! What stunning views and I am sure that bonkers nephew is excited as anything that he will be getting to see his bonkers Uncle. What a cool Christmas present for you both.

Yep, it's going to be a great Xmas indeed.

Definitely won't be Galen the scrooge🤣

Nope, much the opposite.

Bonkers ! Like Uncle, like nephew

That is wonderful. It is always great to have something you love to look forward too. Being that it will be December gives lots of time to think up many fun things to do.

Yep, it's going to be really cool. I know people may think I am biased when I say it but, he really is a very cool little kid.

It's ok to be biased when it's your family.🙂

Amazingly the majority of children are pretty darned smart and if encouraged, stay that way. Some are not nurtured properly though and begin to tell themselves they cannot do things or are not worthy and then they don't strive to do their best. It makes all the difference.

Sometimes children that are raised only around adults pick up more mature things faster too.

My brother and his wife are doing a good job I think, giving him an all-round experience and many opportunities, so so think he'll be ok. It'll come down to him ultimately though, they can only do so much for so long.

I don't want to say too much on Hive as it's no one's business really, but the lad is really cool and I'm looking forward to seeing him.

I'm glad you are going to get another awesome visit with him :) It was nice of your sister to suggest that you two go on the train!

I agree, I am very fond of my nephew.