You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 24: Passions [Get paid for yours]

in Weekend Experiences3 years ago (edited)

He's a scruffy bastard, old Boris Johnson I mean. Lol. Brush your hair you bell-end!

I haven't heard the parameters of the concept - I don't watch the news. And considering it's in the UK and not here it won't matter to me. We'll be a long time away from all electric here in Australia and I'll be dead by then so it's all good. We'd like to buy full electric for our next town car though, but I also need a rig that's going to off-road, haul loads and is capable of running 1000km without stopping so I can travel this big-ass land of ours. I think they'll make it happen.

Sort:  

And he was born in New York.

Boris the rag-arse? I didn't know that.

Man I was really surprised how many Brits didn't know that.

They know a hell of a lot more about American politics than I do, I didn't even know who Nancy Palosi was before England (if you don't know who she is, don't worry, I was better off when I didn't know) They got that shit down.. but they don't know Boris was born in Manhattan.

Lol...I'm an Aussie, All y'all are crazy buggers to me! 🤣

Not really.

From what I understand many Americans are unaware of much outside their circle...Maybe because the country is just so huge and there's so much going on?

Us Australian's tend to have more of a handle on things from around the world as we look outwardly a little more. Maybe the same for the UK being close to EU? I don't know.

Personally, I tend to be selective with what I absorb as most of it is shite. I know who Pelosi is though. I get my information directly, I seek it out myself, rather than the news/propaganda machines so I like to think I'm getting a cleaner version, but who really knows.

This will be a fun one.

Crawling outta the sarcastic character suit

It wasn't until I was having dinner one night with a Swede, Hungarian, and a Russian, I'd asked where somewhere was. The Swede said "it's not just you, Americans are horrible at geography" that I began thinking about it.

He was so right. Everyone we crossed paths with knows worldly shit, I'm sure you do as well. Any European or Chinaman or Russian, etc can tell you where Madagascar is and their flag. Everyone else is remarkable with their flags too.

Worldly shit, here, I'll sum up the American indoctrination system. It isn't important where somewhere is or what their flag looks like, just fear them. Throughout my schooling, prior to vocational training and college, I was taught to fear Libya, Iraq, Iran, Mexico.. don't go there, Russia, oh that's a bad one and Israel, too. New Zealand, don't go there, they hate Americans, Japan, China, fear them all, they're all basically Germany. We were taught to fear them too. Location and colors weren't important I guess--just don't go there.

I learned how to balance a checkbook in about 3rd grade probably. I was computing 500 gallon oil barrels by 6th grade. Fuckin gross ain't it?

When I reiterate this conversation to friends back home, I always have to say "It's off the African coast, down to the east of South Africa." And the people I tell are the same people who said we were crazy for going to Palestine. "They'll kill you!" They don't know where it is but they know they shouldn't go there. But we can rattle off the states and state capitols, each states state flag, state flower, bird.. in our sleep.

Wanna know another thing I like to trip my friends out about? Ok, I'll tell you then. When I tell them two of the coolest, most hospitable, kindest people I crossed paths with during our travels and I befriended probably 50 different cultures, was an Iraqi and a Syrian. Just the names of the countries alone send fear through my buddies.

I did it again didn't I? Damn this is a long mufuker!

You know, I'm glad you said all of this.

In my experience with American's, I mean on my travels, they have no clue about anything outside of America, generally speaking. They couldn't tell me if Sydney was on the eat or west coast for instance.

I think it's largely to do with the things to mention, the indoctrination as such.

American's set the time for the world (America, I guess I mean) and yet they know so little about it outside of the land of the free. It's a very interesting issues I guess.

I tend to rate people based on who they are. I will dislike or not relate to, an African person as quickly as a Chinese, Native American, or Iraqi person...But based on who they are, their actions as an individual, not their country of origin.

I don't know what it is about America and the way it rolls...I think there's a lot that needs addressing...But that could be said for other parts of the world, Australia included.

You should do a post about this. Just saying.

I take that as a compliment--thank you. just sayin

If you liked that one. Oh man, Wait'll you hear the one about two Americans who have the choice to leave or stay and they're leaving.

Ok, I'm crawling back into my suit now

PS--East.

You can't really blame them it's their belief, sometimes it's better to make research than to just give in to they say......

Copy that. People, in my opinion, are generally good. It's not the people who are bad, it's the powers that be who systematically divide walls between cultures who are bad.

And for any culture to judge harshly against an unfamiliar culture based solely on the information received by their handheld is, in my opinion, not only judgy but it also adds fuel to an already out of control fire.

HashtagCan'tWeAllJustGetAlong

You've been really active around here since joining in August @rickardoh, well done man--you're doin great. Welcome to Hive!

I'd like an electric 'town car' too. But...

There is a Chinese import now available in California that sells for $12,000 USD. It's really tinny and cheap but the price is LOW.

We were talking about it today and about the costs actually. You know, the cheapest all electric vehicle here is around $45,000AUD so pretty costly. My town car, current Ford Escape, only cost me $28,000 so it's a big jump. That's why more don't do it.

$12,000 sounds cheap. $16,450AUD.

It's basically this car that has been altered to meet California requirements.

image.png

It's the definition of a disposable car :)

Lol...Looks like a roller skate.

Or a cabin cruiser skateboard :)

Lol...I'm not sure I'd want to be caught dead in that thing. I mean I rarely care about other people's opinions as I only need to answer to myself, but come on man, that thing looks like Hong Kong Phooey's fucking car.

I trust you know the cartoon I refer to.

Ahahahahaha. I do know the cartoon. It's pretty tragic, isn't it? Jalopnik imported one and did a whole series on it. They had great fun...