Weekend breakfast on Friday?

in Weekend Experiences4 years ago

I'll be honest, I don't wake to breakfasts like this every morning, certainly not on weekdays where it's more common to have a couple pieces of toast or some cereal than a cooked breakfast. Breakfasts like this are a Sunday thing.

This was my reality today though and whilst it's a lot of breakfast I could get used to it. My wife Faith cooked this and, whilst it's probably not an overly difficult thing to cook, the fact that she hates cooking makes it a bit more special. Seriously, she passionately hates cooking.

Today I was up super early as I'm driving over three hours away to see a client. It's an unusual thing to have to go so far, but it's a big client and I like to see him in person a couple times a year. Faith wanted me to have a solid breakfast for the trip so she got up way too early to make me this. Nice huh?

You're looking at a couple poached eggs, hash brown, grilled tomato's, sauteed mushrooms, avocado, baked beans and rye toast. Probably way too much food, but I wasn't about to show her anything but gratitude for the effort she made.

We sat and ate together and then I headed away at before 5am for the drive.

I pulled into a roadhouse for a coffee just now and was thinking about how fortunate I am to have Faith in my life; She's so caring, generous and nurturing towards me. I hardly deserve her of course, but feel blessed to have had her in my life for thirty three years.

Making breakfast is a simple thing but the fact she hates cooking makes it a little more special; The fact she'd get up three hours early to do something she hates for me kind of says it all.

I don't know about y'all, but I'd say I'm a lucky fellow to have someone like Faith in my life and not a day goes by in which I don't show my gratitude.

I've planned a nice little night out on Saturday this week so will spoil her a bit, have some fun, relax and hang out with the best person I know. We'll forget our troubles for a while. I'm looking forward to that...But I have to get through Friday first right?

Speaking of which, I'd best get on the road again.

I hope you've all had a great week and Friday goes smoothly for you. Feel free to drop a comment below. Tell me about your week or weekend, what you're planning, or even what you had for breakfast...Hive is about engagement and I enjoy chatting with you guys so...Go on.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised.

Be well
Discord: galenkp#9209

Sort:  

That’s nice, I’m glad that you both continue to do these things for each other. That’s important I think to keep a successful relationship. Looks like a perfect breakfast to have clean energy. Plus if your car doubles for the natural gas, those beans will keep you going the extra mile!

We like to do stuff like this for each other...It's not a daily thing but at the times it happens we enjoy it, and show gratitude. I'm making dinner tonight and have a BBQ with Faith's mum planned for Sunday, plus date night on Saturday night so...It should be a good weekend for all.

I hope you also have a great weekend.

!ENGAGE 25

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

That is a solid breakfast!

I could do with a solid breakfast myself, Saturday morning will be the one!!

Way too solid...Faith doesn't have a good read on portion size...Often makes way too much. I'm not about to complain though. I'm lucky she takes to time to do something she hates.

Hopefully your Saturday morning breakfast is great!

!ENGAGE 25

I love a massive poorly calculated portion size! My waistline doesn't but I do! Get in!

 4 years ago (edited) 

I know right? What's not to like! Bless her over-estimating heart. :)

You in this week on the WE? I'm just about to post it.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

And now I am hungry, thanks. :)
That looks good and, you are right, you are a lucky fellow. I always feel that way when my wife does something for me I know she doesn't like.

Haha...Yeah food posts have that effect on me too. It was a big plate of food to be honest, way too much, but I wasn't about to complain.

!ENGAGE 25

It did look a bit large, but not complaining is the way to go.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

That is way too much food for that time of morning 😆 especially before a 3hr drive 😱 can you tell my body reacts very differently to yours 🤣 looks like a pretty solid breakfast for sure though 😊

Faith doesn’t seem the type to put up with nonsense so you’re obviously making yourself deserving of her and the effort of doing something she hates 😝

Good luck with the big client meeting, drive safely and all that 🙃

Yes, it's a lot of food. As part of her dislike of cooking she tends not to have a concept of what a serve is and so she often makes too much, rarely too little. I don't complain though because that would be disrespectful considering the effort she goes to and how much she hates doing the cooking.

It's my turn tonight, to cook dinner. Fortunately I have a concept of portion size. 🙂

!ENGAGE 25

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

I had cold fing cereal AND I LOVE TO COOK. There's no disconnect there, right?

That's pretty cool that she's there for you on an early AM run. Says something nice I think.

Lol...Hmm yeah seems a conundrum. Still, one can't have cooked breakfasts like this every day right? Well, I couldn't anyway.

Yes, Faith is a good girl...Looks after me...I repay that though. I think so anyway.

!ENGAGE 25

You know? When I was a kid I ate a breakfast like that every day from April through October. My mom made damn sure certain that we had enough fuel to do the farm work for the day.

That may explain a bit of my current shape :) It was worth it!

Haha, well hard work needs fuel right? I can't eat like that all the time, well, I could, but won't. I'll be on the cereal tomorrow morning and Sunday...If I'm a good boy, maybe a cooked breakfast from Faithy again. 😇

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

I usually get on the bike alone but some of my friends go out in groups at the weekends. I like going out weekdays whenever I have a chance as there is no one out there.
Some restaurants offer breakfast especially for cyclists trying to capture some business, they call them "knife and fork breakfast" as they offer you grilled meat, fries, beans, etc. Eating that probably avoids losing any calories from biking, but I understand some people love the social part of the sport.
Your photo reminded me of those places :)
Have a safe ride back home.

I see big groups of cyclists at cafes on weekends, as you say, having breakfasts and coffees. Seems a social thing I guess, but yeah, I'm not sure how many calories are burned whilst eating a big breakfast. Not much I'd say.

!ENGAGE 25

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Damn, I don't remember the last time I had a decent breakfast...

Legit huh? Way too much food, but there were no complaints. 😂

!ENGAGE 25

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Breakfast looks delicious, i love how you talk about your Mrs. :)

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Yeah, a big, but also very nice, breakfast. I'm a lucky man.

!ENGAGE 25

For someone that hates to cook, those poached eggs look perfect.

She's not a bad cook, just doesn't like doing it. She used to make the world's worst poached eggs mankind has ever seen a while back. She decided to learn how to do it and now...Decent poached eggs.

I know about poaching eggs, I went through the learning curve myself. Totally worth it.

Yeah, I like poached eggs. I normally make some Saturday mornings. Throw them on some toast and you're all good.

!ENGAGE 25

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

They definitely do! Poached eggs aren’t easy!

Lucky you! It looks awesome😋

Who's a lucky boy huh?

You are indeed:)
Those mushrooms look great. It's one thing I miss here in the Phillies. The canned ones are just rubbery with no flavour.
Avocados are seasonal, and quite tasty here, so I take advantage of that.

Yeah, I love me some mushrooms on toast. I can eat just that for dinner to be honest...Have done more than once. We're really lucky in Australia, our produce is very good. #spoilt

Hey, I hope you're well and y'all will drop in on the #weekend-engagement topic I'm dropping in about five hours. Wold be good to see you guys.

!ENGAGE 25

Thanks! I'll look out for your topic.
Have a great day and a pleasant journey back home!:)

Thanks Milly, I'm just about to saddle up for the drive home. I hope I don't crash! Lol. (Maybe not the best thought to embark on the journey with!)

You'll be fine!!! :)

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Thank you very much :)

Your wife definitely loves you and worries about you. It is truly a feat to get up three hours early and make breakfast for you. My husband hates washing dishes, but he always does it himself so that I have less housework. It's very cool when there are people in our life who take care of us. As for my weekend? Now it is 4.50 am and we are going to work. We will work until 14.00. We will also work tomorrow. Today after work we will go to the hardware store to buy wall paint and curtains. We bought a house and are doing renovations. We'll cook tomorrow after work. We make goulash on weekends. This is a delicious dish. It consists of 4-5 types of meat, various smoked meats, bell peppers and hot paprika. If you are in Slovakia and in Hungary, be sure to try this dish!)) Have a nice day!)) Save your wife!))

Hi @sokoloffa, thanks for dropping in.

Yeah, I'm luck to have such a living and giving wife; I feel blessed every day as I think you do also with your husband. It's a nice way to live.

I hope your work day goes by smoothly and you have a nice time with the renovations and cooking. Congratulations on your house purchase too. That's a great achievement.

I hope to see you on the #weekend-engagement post this week...I've added a new concept there this week which offers the chance at a 1000HP delegation in addition to winning some hive into your wallet so that might interest you.

Anyway, you may not want to and that's ok too. Either way I hope you have a great weekend.

Thank you very much for your congratulations!) This is very important for me!) I will definitely take part. I wish you a good evening with your wife. Wish you happiness.

The grilled tomatoes look dope! Such and underrated item imo, at least where I live.

Not a fan of baked beans tbh, but the rest seems Delish!

That's the thing about life I think...You don't have to like baked beans to still enjoy it.

A wise old proverb from way back.

😂

We'll see you on the #weekend-engagement post this week I hope.

Yes, I hope I will be there this week :)

I have been dealing with some difficult times so had limited my activities on HIVE, but I'm slowly getting back in the groove 🙂

I'm sorry to hear you have difficulties and hope things pick up for you. All the best for the weekend.

Such a good breakfast followed by a 3 hour road trip. Sounds like a fun day😎

It was a long day fuelled by that hearty breakfast and very worth while to see my client. All is well, good meeting. Just got home...Quick shower then time to smash out the #weekend-engagement topic post.

Have a good weekend.

That's great!👍

Wow! This is perfect breakfast. I understand Faith very well. Although I like to cook, sometimes it can be annoying. You are very lucky. I wake up an hour early in the morning to prepare breakfast for my husband. Of course we can only have such a nice breakfast on the weekend. Just a simple toast and milk on weekdays! :) Even a simple toast takes time! I'm looking forward to the weekend. I will both sleep and prepare a nice breakfast table! :) I hope your plan on saturday goes great. You both deserve it too.

Oh yeah, it was a pretty special Friday effort. As I said in the post, toast or cereal is normal...I couldn't eat like this every day...It's usually reserved for Sundays!

Thanks, I hope we have a great weekend too, and of course, you also. I hope to see you on the #weekend-engagement post about to go live in about 15 minutes.

Awww so cute, I really like the two of you, you do such lovely things one for the other!

It's normal for us, we don't kno any different and assume otters do the same...But in reality, maybe they don't. We just do us and let the others do them.

You two are a role model and it's beautiful to read about your lovestory

Hello my dear friend. You have a very sweet wife who truly cares about you. I love what you write about faith. Your gratitude to him is a gesture that should be truly appreciated. you two are a really great couple. and beans are my favorite dish!

 4 years ago (edited) 

I am lucky to have her, and I think she is fortunate to have me in her life also; We tend to just fit I guess.

Have a great weekend.

It was really nice of her. I could imagine how surprised you felt seeing her making such a meal for you. I bet it wasn't really expected. I believe she is wonderful treasure which you really deserve as I see how you treat and endore her.

Present I work on elevators with an elevator company. I make blog of each day and each elevator I work on and the problem I faced while working on it. Also I also do pushups every morning and paste a video calling out people to join me in it. My work got me leaving my house by 8am and getting home normally at 10pm or 11pm due to traffic sometimes.

As an elevator engineer, I don't stay one place, I can visit like 3-5 places in a day which can be in different locations or city to work on their elevator, climb long storey buildings up and down when heavy tools at my back everyday to solve an elevator fault.

My week day stress has what reduced my engagement here but because of I had become use to engaging I didn't stop totally I continued in my free time.

Now, that's a very hearty and wonderful breakfast. It reminds me of free breakfasts at a hotel, and I just grabbed everything that could possibly fit on my plate. There was one hotel in Langkawi Island that had a particular magnificent restaurant. Alas, at least I've found someone here who hates cooking as much as my mom does... Faith 😆

Yeah, she doesn't understand the concept of portion sizes, bless her. It was nice though and I'm not about to complain. Didn't have lunch that day though. Just coffee.

Sometimes, even just a cuppa is enough. My mom can certainly cook pretty well, and is competent enough. Although I think the reason why she hates it so much is because she doesn't like things to get dirty. Perhaps she doesn't accept the fact that cooking often involves getting the stuff mucky 🙃

Haha, yeah I knew people like that...They wouldn't do anything at their house as they couldn't stand things being out of place. 😂

Yep, that's exactly my mom. Sometimes I can hear her snarl when I'm making some toast, just seeing if I spilt a crumb or two, even though my OCD will always force me to clean it up afterwards. It's scary stuff, mate.

Now that's a breakfast of champions. The nicest gesture. Savor it and be thankful, which you are. Yep, she's a keeper I'd say!

All my favorites. And they work for my Diabetes.

Yeah, she puts up with me and keeps me around so...I'm lucky! 😁

We work well together so I'm happy...33 years together,so we must be doing something right.

Also, I'm type 2 diabetic so she has to look after me or I might cark it. (Die) We don't want that to happen...So I get a decent breakfast now and then. ✅

33 years. Awesome. I beat you by a few, but have to admit I started young. I'm Type 2 diabetic also. I was diagnosed in May, 2019. Didn't take it serious as I should have even though I have a family history. I made a New Year's resolution and started writing a monthly post of my diabetes journey progress since January.

It was 2009 when I was diagnosed, I was 39. I made immediate changes and even now I manage it pretty well...Of course, sometimes I go off the rails; Point in case, the desert from the other night. :)

I think it can help to track and document your progress as you are doing; It often provides self-accountability and can get you back on track when your run off the rails a bit. Nice work.