You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement week 15: Funny or interesting

in Weekend Experiences4 years ago

Wow im not the only one who's sentimental about shoes. I often struggle to throw old pairs out. For instance I've got a pair of dimple black tennis shoes i picked up for 15aud in australia. The soles are literally falling off and flap around when i walk in them. They're actually dangerous to wear as the soles have nearly cone off all together. But those shoes have been around the world with me. There's so many memories with them. So i keep them sitting next to my other shoes. I probably will never wear them again but keep them as valued memories.

Sort:  

A well-worn pair of shoes tells the stories of the journeys we've taken, the paths we've walked.

These old shoes have many stories and memories. They're also the ones that nearly accidentally stepped on a brown snake in Queensland

Oh yeah, not a good idea to step on an Eastern brown snake...I've done it...Will tell the story someday. I didn't get bitten fortunately but it was a bad situation.

Holy crap! And it didn't bite! This one went right in between my legs and wanted to get into some tall grass by a cow pasture instead

One of my legs fel into a hole in Ceduna as I was checking out some land there. I didn't know it was used as an unofficial dump for the town and was just covered over and smoothed off. My leg went in up to the knee and all I felt was a banging and thrashing against my leg. I looked down and sure enough, a big brown. A big one. Nesting I guess. I was on it so it couldn't get me...But I knew it would work loose. I wasn't sure what to do, stay or try and get out. My other leg was on ground level so I braced on it and sort of leapt away as high as I could. As I was moving I saw the snake gather itself up and bolt...Probably as scared as I was.

I had nightmares for months to be honest. It was a close call. A bit and and I would have been dead inside an hour. It was Ceduna so the medical facilities were rudimentary.

That would've left me traumatized too. Reminds me of the time a friend of mine was hiking in the Mojave and sat down on a boulder in the shade of a small rockface to rest for a minute. He soon heard a rattling sound band realized a rattlesnake had been resting inches from his butt and was now ready to strike at him. Said it took half an hour for the snake to calm down enough for him to make his leap to freedom

I'm not a fan of snakes man, they freak me out although I've seen plenty close up out in the bush. They're probably just as frightened as us I guess. Best to stand perfectly still, sit like your mate did...The movement could be seen as a threat. The Eastern brown is the worlds second most deadly behind the inland taipan also found here...The brown is really active this time of year as they are coming out of winter hibernation and are looking for mates. They get really aggressive this time of year, and have been known to chase people down. They give warning signs though mostly...I did a post on this a while back.

Me no likey snakey.

Oh God. Me too! I've got an ancient pair of Nikes that I swear is for one more wearing when I know I'll wreck the shoes. I've wrecked others since I last wore the Nikes....

My best ex used to throw out a pair of deck shoes with ugly frequency. She said they didn't smell very good but she was wrong. The fault with her plan is I put out all the garbage. I'd see my shoes in the can and fish them out. Made her freaking crazy especially after she'd bought me an identical pair to replace them.....

Have you tried Gorilla Glue to glue the soles back in place? I had a pair of shoes that I had to glue the soles back in place once, worked for a little while then the glue wore out, and back to flapping shoes it was.

Good gear, that Gorilla glue, but I've never had much success with it in fixing shoes. Makes me wonder what sort of glue the manufacturers use to make them last so long.

No i haven't but im tempted. These shoes are dear to me fir sentimental value. Probably have to clean them up good so the glue has something to stick to.