My Concerns about Future - Weekend Engagement #143

Future concerns

What concerns do you have for your personal future? They could be financial, relationships, emotional, physical or anything else about your own personal future. How are you addressing those concerns and how do you see it playing out? Write a post of at least 300 words.ds.


IMG_20230303_101620.jpg

This has been a topic that's been rumbling in my head since the start of this new year. My cortisol levels are high up and while trying to put a smile in my face every day, I also feel like I'm losing my mind.

I'm almost in my thirties, and I feel like my life has been slipping through my hands like sand. I graduate from college as a teacher, but I haven't work in that field yet. My mom is suffering from depression, and I can say I'm the one in charge of her recovery, always keeping an eye on her and her treatment. Also, living in Venezuela doesn't make things any better. Working far from home is something not as easy when it come to the numbers in financials. 80 dollars a month in a country where you need at least 600 dollars to live decently. I've spent half of my twenties looking after my mom and although I don't regret it, I know that those are years I cannot get back.

Actually, yesterday I was talking with this cousin that is happening the same situation with his mom. And in a conversation I said to him that I was thinking on leaving the country. That I need to live my life and the for once I needed to think of myself first because I was losing it in my home. That I needed to be selfish in order to get what I want, and if that means that I have to leave, I'd do it.

I've been thinking a lot and I've cried so hard because I feel like a failure. So I need in the future to come to do something with my life; to know new people, to work with a better salary, and to get to know my soulmate. When I think about the latter, I can't believe that I've been single for more than a decade. I guess I deserve something new in my life.

I guess that age is doing its work in my head. I can't help but to think a lot. I'm planning to save some money and get out of here. Start a new and help my mom from another country. Get a place for myself, where I will not have to be preoccupied for bother anyone, to get a new pet, since I lost my cat a few weeks ago. And get my mental health some help because I know I need it.

IMG_20230123_153245.jpg

Thank you for stopping by.

Sort:  

Thank you so much for sharing your story. We all wonder what will happen in the future. But that's the wrong way to think. We need to learn to live in the here and now and enjoy it. Life is a roller coaster. It goes down and also up again. Try to appreciate and respect the good things in your life more. I know it is always much easier said than done and sometimes you are just tired of the daily struggle for survival. You will find your way, keep your head up! Everything will be fine!

Thank you for reading. Like you said, life is a rollercoaster and a turbulent one. I try to keep my hopes high, although sometimes it feels impossible. Believe me when I say that I'm trying to do my best. I started reading again and that's something that keeps me sane at this point of the game. But I really appreciate your words and I'll keep your advice in mind. Again, thank you. Big hug 🤗🤗.

Aww,you don't have to thank me. You are a strong woman, nothing will knock you down in a hurry. Believe in yourself! You are on a good way!🤗
Many hugs back to you!!!@missagora

I share your concerns and I understand the self lashing (I've done my share), but you are far from a failure. Unfortunately, what we have been through has been so tough, so massive, that it hides any personal achievement.
You're a talented writer, a good person, sharp thinker, and a great teacher (you know the language and I'm sure you can teach it to anyone who gives you the chance).
It's just a matter of time and solid steps for you to find your path and succeed (as you think it is expected of you). Success is such a tricky concept. Just keep visualizing what you want and remember that being a little selfish is usually necessary to achieve your goals.

You'll make me cry. Thanks for your words. I'll treasure them forever. I keep telling myself that last sentence. I need to be a little selfish and pursue what I really want. I know that future is not gained yet, but I can make good things happen.