[WEEK 166] Greed or not?

IMG_20230811_164251.jpg

Have you ever been greedy? Explain in 300+ words - you must use images that you photographed personally.

A few years ago, I found myself at a moral crossroads that would change my life forever. Today, once again, I am reminded of those moments as I face another pet illness. This time, however, I have the resources to help him.

My friend, someone I trusted completely, never imagined I would cross such a delicate line. Greed took hold of me in that moment, and I made a decision that filled me with guilt, although that guilt seemed to fade over time.

I stole money from my friend, the one who had shared laughter and secrets with me. I felt my heart racing as I committed the act I knew was wrong. The need for that money was overwhelming; my pet was sick and desperately needed expensive medical care. Despite my internal justification, I knew I was betraying my friend's trust and felt like a bad friend.

In the days following the theft, guilt tormented me. Every time I saw my friend, I felt like their gaze could penetrate my thoughts and uncover the secret I was keeping. I tried to avoid them, but the anxiety continued to grow within me. However, as time passed and my pet began to show signs of improvement, that guilt started to gradually fade.

As I convinced myself that I had done the right thing for my pet, the voice of reason was drowned out by my own selfish justifications. My friend never found out about the theft, and I allowed myself to believe that I had escaped with my secret and a "clear" conscience. I deceived myself into thinking I had taken the only possible option, but deep down, I knew I had crossed a moral line I shouldn't have.

Slowly, my pet started to recover. With each passing day, my relief grew, but so did my denial of what I had truly done. My heart was torn between the love I felt for my pet and the betrayal I had inflicted on my friend. While many might judge me as greedy and selfish, I was willing to justify my actions for the well-being of my beloved pet.

Finally, the day came when I could return the money I had taken. Although it took me time to gather it, the feeling of relief upon handing it over was overwhelming. I knew I couldn't continue living with that burden on my conscience, and despite all the reasons I had invented to justify my theft, I knew I had made a serious mistake.

Looking back, I can't help but feel ashamed of my lack of integrity and how I let greed cloud my judgment. While I have no regrets about saving my pet's life, I deeply regret hurting someone else in the process. However, I cannot deny that ultimately, my pet is alive because of my decision. Although my action was selfish and my friendship was tainted, I am willing to admit that, at the time, I prioritized saving the life of my beloved companion. While many may judge me and call me greedy for taking easy money or stealing, I do not regret what I did, and if I had to face a similar situation, I would do it again. I would rather have that burden of conscience than suffer the pain of losing my little pet.

I admit that seeing my friend with so much money that he wastes on vices tempted me to consider stealing even more from him, but in the end I didn't do it.


This is my participation for the #weekend-engagement.

Bienvenido (4).png
Banner created in Canva
Photos of my property
Text translated into English with Deep Translator

Sort:  

Not that I justify theft but I believe that not all theft is greed.

In the case you tell us about I liked the fact that you finally vindicated yourself and that it was for a good cause, a cute kitten. Although I imagine you must have had strong reasons not to have borrowed the money from your friend.

Had you asked you may have saved your cat and your friendship, something to put down to learning through a tough decision made at a time you were not thinking clearly of consequence.

!LUV

@jcchelme, @joanstewart(5/10) sent LUV. | connect | community | HiveWiki | NFT | <>< daily

Join in Hive General chat | Type ! help (no space) to get help on Hive. Info

Made with LUV by crrdlx

It's very good you realized your mistakes and corrected it. Keep it up 0