You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 58: Breakfast foods

Hello happy weekend to all, Friday again, the week is flying by.

I am from Venezuela and the most common food in the morning is arepas stuffed with white cheese and butter. There are also other fillings according to taste...
I make my own arepa, which is a mixture of corn flour, water and salt. It can be roasted or fried.
I fill it with matequilla and hard white cheese, Delicious. Coffee and fruit.
I can also fill it with egg scrambled eggs, ham and other things that I have at home.

Mmm I already want my arepa.

54c45c7b-1219-4757-ac97-6cf453920473.jpg

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

Sort:  

arepas stuffed with white cheese and butter

I have heard of these. I had a conversation with @manujune about them...She promised to make me some and send them to Australia. I'm still waiting.

You have me desiring arepas right now, even though I only just finished my lunch...It's always time for arepas though right?

If the arepas are an accompaniment to any soup, Parilla, alone with matequilla... At snack time. At dinner... It is for every occasion ....

I hope you can try them and let me know

I don't know any one that could make them but maybe I'll find the method and have a try myself. It could make for a good post.

G-dog fails to make arepas!

Sure try them, they are easy to make, with precooked corn flour, salt and water.
Do they have corn over there? I can show you how to make the dough.
And the sweet arepas are a delight.

We have corn here. You mean corn flour? Yes, we have that too.

Excellent, well it's just a matter of trying to make the dough. I already want to see your post making arepas....

Jejeje... You need to eat some arepas.
They are delicious, you can eat them on breakfast, lunch,and dinner, you can eat them with cheese, jam, eggs, chicken, fish, meat, etc.

You should buy one Harina Pan some day, @galenkp 😁😘

Someday it will happen I'm sure. 😊

That looks so good, is it like a thick pancake?

It has corn flour, the pancakes are with wheat and egg.
Arepas have only flour, salt and water..... Although we also make them sweet with molasses and aniseed. Mmm

nom I love aniseed

Arepas are always a good choice!
We have a 'food truck' here that has breakfast Arepas... Good stuff!

It is an option at any time and to get out of trouble a quick and delicious meal.

I love arepas, i want so much to breakfast, to lunch or dinner, they are perfect!

Asi es hasta merendar jajaja

Arepas are delicious! That is pure evil showing me this! :))

Hahaha they are delicious and when you bite into them the melted cheese comes out hahaha wow the best!

Yes! This is my breakfast! Just the picture makes me want to eat now and I have just had lunch

When you have an arepa in front of you, you eat it, there is always room and time for a...

My favorite meal definitely, some scrambled eggs with something, cheese (lots of cheese), tomato, avocado and coffee and my mornings start as they should, Wonderfully :)

Cheese is the best, lately I'm addicted to white cheese....

Woah🥺❤️🔥

Looks delicious. Doesn't sound too difficult either. I'd love to try it out sometime in your country, sin mantequilla, sin carne, por favor.

Of course you can eat it as you like... With vegetables it is also delicious...

untitled.gif

hi @nineclaws !

Arepas are VERY easy to make. In fact it is one of the most popular things to make in my country. I'm so glad you made them, it certainly is easy to prepare. It's like making bread, but the corn flour is much thicker, but you don't have to knead as much as when you make bread. I don't know how to explain it to you in words, so here goes....

A mini tutorial I just made, since I was cooking hahahaha

Excelente estaba buscando algo parecido para mostrar...

Nice hehehehe you talk about the GIF? feel free to use it, cheers!

Yes, thank you.

Great! Corn flour is very versatile and you can do many things with it, you just have to know how to use it. Sure, it's not for all kinds of recipes, but it's great....

And I like what you said about experimenting. I, for one, love to cook. Anyone could say "my mom/grandma taught me how to cook", and it's very nice that it's your mom or grandma who taught you, but I learned by watching videos on youtube hahaha.

Sure, my mom taught me some little tricks, but a lot of the things I know I learned by experimenting after watching a lot of recipes on the internet.

There are two things that can happen when you experiment:
1.- You learn.
2.- You explode the kitchen.

Wow to this preparation you can add meats or vegetables and put them in the oven... Here we call it polenta

There are also the empanadas, the dough is thinner, you fill it with cheese or meats and fold the dough like a moon.... Then you fry them...

If I grill them on a griddle, they are crazy, I also fry them in very hot oil. And I make them sweet...

Yes, a circle about one centimeter wide... Although if you make them thin, they are toasted and it is a delirium.