You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 44: See || Hear || Feel - Win HIVE

in Weekend Experiences3 years ago (edited)

Hello @galenkp! It's been a while but I have some few hours this morning so I decided to join in. I see it's an interesting but difficult challenge this weekend!

Give up my sense of sight, touch or hearing?! 👀 This is difficult! Very. This is the reason I admire disabled people especially those who had their senses intact but lost it along the way maybe due to accident or sickness. It's a painful journey for them.

I schooled with blind students and became friends with some of them. So I can understand a little of some of their challenges. In excitement I would want to explain what I see before me then realise they cannot enjoy the sight like me.

If I am forced to choose, I would go for sense of hearing. I need my sense of sight and touch. They are everything. Now hearing, I love music but I do not appreciate noise of any kind. Also, there are hearing aids that I could get to help amplify sounds. Means I'll have to learn sign language as well. 🙂

Sort:  

In this case, this hypothetical situation, what if I said no hearing aides would be able to amplify your hearing? Would you still choose to lose hearing knowing you would never hear another thing in your life? No music, sweet words from a loved one, the sounds of waves on the beach, birds singing...Nothing.

Still choose hearing?

!ENGAGE 25

O dear! That would be HARD! 😖 I was kinda banking on the hearing aid to cushion the effect of hearing loss.

Yes, I'll still choose hearing. 😔 Then I will watch people's faces and read their lips to understand what they are saying.

You know what this also means? I have noticed that people lean on other senses when they lose one. Somehow our bodies have a way of making up for the loss of any parts. So I'm sure my other sense will pick up the slack and I may end up honing my other sense to somehow detect sound.

🤔 Don't ask me how? Lemme think first 😄

It is true that when one sense is lost the others become keener...Let's hope we never have to find out though right?

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

There is no way I am losing my sense of hearing. That is totally out of the world.
I literally can't do without sounds and good ones at that. No way!.
What a pretty hard choice you made, I wonder if you would have been able to survive that but thank God this is just but a topic to be discussed @kemmyb 😁

It's almost an eerie hypothetical to think about. Without smell you can't taste. Without touch how are you gonna know when dessert is in your mouth? No way I'd give up my eyesight.

I'm hoping he gives us a fourth option before the end of the weekend.

Hehehe, I chose hearing! I'm thinking sense of hearing is easy to manage. Then again, is it really easy to manage? I would not want to find out. Also, I need my sense of touch and sight, just like you too!

Will he give us a fourth option? I doubt. But this exercise is good. Helps us understand what people in this position go through.

You have not chosen an option yet. @dandays
!giphy okay!

You have not chosen an option yet.

I'll have what she's having. That makes it so much easier, I'll just follow your lead.

untitled.gif

Ok. That's the second time you've sent that TI gif, I was confused the first time.

Totally makes sense now.

Fourth choice is to give up your sense of apathy.

Although... Without this I would have nothing, this is my one true companion along the journey of life... Damn I will try and think up a 5th option before the weekend is over...

5th option STAT!

I thought a fourth option would be a good idea. Thanks a lot, Steve! You ruined everything you apathetic bastage!

Ahahahaha Edward nihilism is my middle name, what can I tell ya?

What about sense of self importance?

Aahh crap no, what self respecting Englishman could ever do away with that and you've spent too long here, you're probably infected by the British variant of that... To the batcave drawing board it is once more 😒

Dear Sir Steven Edward Wood and his majesty:

You're making it a lot easier to say eye sight.

Cheerie-0, chap!

Ask my family, my colleagues my non-existent friends, they would tell you that after 5 minutes in my company and you would circle the hearing option three times!!!

Although they also despite my gratuitous overuse of cross it out strikethrough too, so what do they know?

you would circle the hearing option three times!!!

Three? What happens now?! I already circled it four times.

😂😂😂 Now you want a 5th option??

So I'm a Princess, big deal!!

The more options he's making available, the easier it's getting to say eye sight.

Could you image losing your apathy?!? And then he just listed a fifth option—self respect. No way. I'd rather feel my way around in the dark.

So now your got me thinking... dangerous!

Consider options; song just popped into my head, so you need sight to be reading this, touch to type an eager retort, and them ears to hear it... think that's what they there for Chose....

Cat Stevens - Moon Shadow - Yup from YouTube....

Grreeeeaaat song! I link YouTube tracks all the time. I'm still unable to answer the question Joan. I'm too fearful of waking up like "I knew I shouldn't have said that!"

I know, right? Its like the mans greed is insatiable, I'm glad you are seeing this @kemmyb everyone thinks he is 'such a nice dude' they don't get to see this side of him! 😂

I do agree that not hearing the annoying things would definitely be a bonus in this scenario lol. I don't know if hearing aides count but we could certainly adapt to a life without hearing!