What if you had no electricity [WE110]

Happy weekend Hivers!!!!! Hope we all are enjoying the weekend. For me, weekend is a time to sleep and relax my nerves for the past week activities and get refreshed for the next week tasks. It is also a time to set new goals for the week and strategize on how to achieve them. It is also a period I have the luxury of time to be active on Hive community. It is during the weekend I interact with hivers on the platform, I write and post most of my articles on the platform.

I have gone through the topic for this week challenge and I must say they are all interesting. At first, I was confuse on which topic to write on but I feel I can relate with the topic “Imagine Life Without Electricity” because I have been in an environment where there is no electricity and I know how it was hard to make progress in such environment.
It is important to recognize and appreciate Thomas Edison who invented electricity. He was an America investor born on 11th February 1847. It took him 9,999 times to invent the light bulb but got it in the 10,000 attempt. Here are some of his inventions: phonography, durable light bulb, carbon microphone, electricity distribution system among others.

What would my life look like without electricity?

The thought of this question made me to pause for a minute and think. My life without electricity would be boring, unproductive and I must say I would be living a conventional lifestyle. I am a teacher and I teach mathematics both online and offline. Most of my income is through the jobs I do online. I can imagine my life without electricity then I will be earning peanut on a monthly basis.


image.png

Most times I relax at home by watching sport like football, cricket, tennis, badminton just to mention a few. Then, without electricity, I believe my life will be very boring. I can’t advance in career without electricity because I undertake many courses online and earn some degrees and some professional certification. Without electricity I will not be able to advance in career.

With the aid of electricity and light bulb, we can beautiful our environment and homes with colorful light that brightens the environment.


image.png


image.png

source

Sometimes I imagine how our great grandparents coped without electricity and electric bulb. I can’t I imagine using other crude source of light that causes heat and most times they produce fumes that are harmful to the body. Some of those sources of light are harmful to the eyes. I must confess, Thomas Edison deserve accolades from everyone enjoying the product of his invention.

Electricity has great impact in technology, communication network, transportation and logistics and many other sectors.

How would you handle it?

Human being has great adaptation ability, though it will be difficult for humans to adapt to the situation but they must find a way out. Growing up in the slum where there was no electricity it was very difficult for us to live an average life because everything was done in a crude way. Then, life happened we move to a better environment where there was electricity maybe once in a week. As children I could remember how we would scream our lungs out in excitement whenever the power holding company put on the light in the neighbourhood.

Definitely, I will go into farming if there is no electricity because you can hardly find any skill that does not require electricity for production. I know this will be draining and very frustrating to tilt to another career which is does not require electricity.

What problems/benefits do you think you could encounter?

Considering my life without electricity I am very sure there is no benefit because life would seem horrible and tiring.
For the problems I will encounter are numerous to mention all here now but I will mention but a few.

  1. I will not improve in my career and also as an individual
  2. Life would be boring and unproductive
  3. I have to change career to a farmer or owing a kiosk.
  4. I will not be to communicate to people who are not in the same environment with me, be a member of hive and also trade in crypto.
  5. Things would be done in a crude way which makes work to be very slow.

Would it be good or bad?

Oh!!! No. It would be very bad, unpleasant and horrible situation for me.

Finally, I can’t stay in a dark place especially at night because I imagine ghost coming to my bed side to torment me that is why I always sleep with my light on.


image.png

source

Imagine no electricity, and then I would find it difficult to have a sweet night rest.

Thanks for reading through my post.

Sort:  

WE THX IM.png

The original #weekend-engagement concept by @galenkp featured in the
WEEKEND EXPERIENCES community.

Image belongs to @galenkp

And to think that there are still communities that do not know electricity.
After living peacefully thanks to electric energy, going back to the past is something we refuse to accept.

I liked your content, I laughed imagining many children shouting for the light to come as you described it. 😂

Thanks @lisrl26 for reading through my post. Exactly, we c refuse to go back to the past where there is no electricity.

Congratulations @leosmart! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 10 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the June PUM Winners
Yearly Authors Challenge Status
Feedback from the July Hive Power Up Day