WE91: Without ink, without chocolate, without cola - an hour of my life, gone!

image.png
Sourced from Pixabay

image.png
Prompt Source:
image.png

  • I hope you'll appreciate my take on this post, bit of a twist on it, given this story with three things literally just happened minutes before I read this prompt!
    --

You know what’s one of the best things about Australia? We get to the weekend before the rest of the world. And the worst? We start the working week ahead of you too!

4.50pm Sunday night – it wasn’t an exciting part of my day, I had the iron on and was ironing my work shirts for the next two weeks. I had five pressed and five to go – and then my wife comes out with, ‘I need to print before 8am for a parcel pick-up. We need ink’.

This is where the adventure started – I remembered that our supermarkets sell computer ink, so off I went to Woolworths– a ten minute drive north. I got to the shops, and spent a good chunk of time looking at the very limited ink range. I was hunting a HP Ink Cartridge, 62 XL.

They had 61 XL. They had 63 XL. They had 64 XL. They had 65 XL. There wasn’t even a space for the 62! I walked out quite sheepishly. I hate going into those places and not buying anything, I always feel people will be suspicious of me stealing (which, for the record, I’ve never done, but it does look sus).

The other competing supermarket chain here, Coles, was ten minutes back south to my house, then on another ten minutes. You can see where this is going right?

Twenty minutes later I was parking and finding the stationary aisle in the shops. I stood there looking like an idiot. People walked by me, I continued to stare – at... not ink. I asked a store employee, and got a reflective look, ‘You know, we havn’t sold ink for at least five or six years’. You can imagine my face. I went straight to the chocolate aisle and picked up a mint Kit-Kat and a bottle of Coke.

An hour after I left, I arrived back home with only a litre of cola. The Kit-Kat? I ate it, and my wife will never find out about it. In a final act of desperation, I suggested she put the ink cartridges back in and try to print again.

The pages came out, a perfectly printed sheet. Made me wish I bought more chocolate.

Sort:  

I hate going into those places and not buying anything, I always feel people will be suspicious of me stealing

Me too and I'm a cop!!! lololol I have an abnormal fear of them attempting to stop me and accuse me of stealing lololol

Hey at least you had a coke and some chocolate, not all was lost.....lololol

Morning @papacrusher - was trying to think how I found this community, and it just clicked. I would have been on your profile page and voila - ended up finding WE91!

How very cool!?!?! The head honcho of this place is a very dear friend and fellow Aussie. I think the Chats might be his favorite band, but don't tell him I said that lololol

To be honest; never heard of 'The Chats' myself!

well, now you are dead to me! lololololol just kidding I have a thing for punk rock and came across them a few years ago.

My word this made me laugh and commiserate with you. I have done this before and that feeling when you leave the supermarket ... I swear that only honest people feel that suspicious feeling because - well - we're honest lol.

I totally felt that last line! Gosh what a way to end your weekend.

What's the moral of the story? ALWAYS buy extra chocolate (and maybe a spare toner cartridge when you order your next batch too)


Thank you for supporting the #weekend-engagement posting topics concept WE91

91.png

original im src

Morning @andrastia - glad I was able to brighten your day with this little tale. There is another part to this story, perhaps. I had actually gone to the shops earlier that day (bread, milk, that kind of thing) - and as it turns out, that Kit-Kat was not my first chcoolate purchase of the day. I have no self-control, I really can only buy one choc at a time - or else, they're all gone!

Have a fab week
Tim

Hi Tim

Good morning to you. Lol, this makes your story even better. Don't tell anyone but yesterday I finished off two slabs of chocolate, not bars...100g slabs! So please don't feel bad, it happens to the best of us 😄

Have a good day

G'day mate thanks for joing in the WE91 posting topic concept.

A Kit Kat can cure a multitude of ills but non-required-printer-ink-missions isn't one of them. Still, you gave it a good go and the chocolate, whilst not much of a consolation for your troubles, was better than none.

I'm in the same boat as you...Sunday night and work tomorrow...only, I'm not ironing. Thankfully.


Thanks for getting involved this week, your first time I think.

Morning @galenkp - yep, this was my first post - but earmarking this community for the weekly prompt. I'm still relatively new to HIVE (2 months, is that still new?) and finding my places where I enjoy coming to. I came across someone else's WE91 post and that curiosity led me here. Appreciative to have found this group.

Have a super week
Tim

Hey mate, yeah 2 months is still relatively new compared to som, but that doesn't mean much. Do what you're doing, find a few places you feel comfortable and just have some fun; that's what it's all about.

Thanks for getting involved with my concept, it's good to have you on board this week.

Have a good week.

Which reminds me my ink toner lights have been warning me for a week to two, better order or end up in the same boat at you....

Salvation in a KitKat sounds right, wife sure would not have comforted you if that page didn't print!

!LUV

Morning @joanstewart - it's funny isn't it? The need for something as silly as computer ink. I guess if we think back 20 years it was something that we always needed, but now, I don't know about you - but we print an awful lot less. I guess that's the thing about being digital. I guess that makes the ink question an easy one to put off.

Quick, order up now! ;)
Tim

Small things bug us, which reminds me I must still place an order 😁, have an amazing week.

Lol! That's quite an adventure I think. You went out for ink but ended up eating KitKat then bringing home a cola. Glad the printer worked :)

Arrived without ink and chocolate don't say anything to your wife because you may have a bad week. Lol

I like that chocolate, actually all of them.

Congratulations @lordtimoty! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 10000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 15000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the March 1st Hive Power Up Day
Our Hive Power Delegations to the February PUM Winners
Today is the beginning of a new Hive Power Up Month!
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!