You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 59: The invite

Huh! Great topic!
I will not mention a single hive user to avoid favoritism 😅 since I can't pick one decidedly, but the other two invitations are indeed worth pondering upon!

I admire a great deal of people who became an integral part of human history, but I don't think I'd feel all at ease with dinner with them. I'd therefore choose Werner Herzog.

image.png

I've closely followed his life and the events within it, I've seen about 25 films he made, he is an inspiration for me, as well as a major influence. He also feels like a very amiable person altogether. It would be an honor to sit at a dinner with him.

As for fictional characters—I'm utterly clueless! But I've recently read Ursula K. LeGuin's The Left Hand of Darkness, and one of the characters there, Estraven/Harth, was quite fascinating. He/she's from a human species that can both be a man and a woman based on their sexual time cycle.

She/he had some commendable qualities we usually seek in a companion.

image.png

Sort:  

Oh wow you are definitely very familiar with his work. Real qs I am wondering here is what restaurant would you pick if you had the choice? or if this was an invitation for an at home dinner opportunity, what would you make?

Yes, he's one of the very few great artists living today.

Knowing Herzog, the dinner could be out in the open. In the backyard, or any clearing surrounded by woods. I'd like such a place as well.
Restaurants can be noisy and distracting sometimes!

Wow I love this idea. Out in the open with nature. That is very peaceful and personally I find that a lot better than restaurant settings. I like the point you brought up here about restaurants being noisy because that can definitely be the case.

 3 years ago  

Hi there, I'm not surprised you mentioned a film maker and for good reason too. Movies are a huge influence on people, and have been since their inception. I've heard of Herzog however cant actually recall if I've seen any of his movies so I'm going to say I probably haven't. I'll have to chase some down.

Thanks for joining in this week, it's good to see you drop back in.

I missed the last one, I've been forgetful and distracted and lose what day is it. I go by dates mostly (he he).
But it's always a privilege to take part in these discussions.

Herzog made films mostly in German, except his documentary films. If you can try one, I'd suggest "Lessons of Darkness", it's a docu sci-fi, about 1 hour.

An alien observer goes through the wreckage of the gulf war.

Some frames from the film,

image.png

image.png

image.png

 3 years ago  

Sounds interesting. I'll see if I can chase it down and have a look.