You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 24: Passions [Get paid for yours]

in Weekend Experiences3 years ago (edited)

If only it was finished?
You mean that you never completed the restoration?
Ever heard of a Unimog?
I just missed one at an army sale and that's what I will get when I am old lol.
The back is perfect to converts into a camper van and it can climb mountains, plus it can even tow 10 Hiluxes or Rangers 🤣

Sort:  

It is a work in progress, it's a project. Yeah, I know what a Unimog is. Similar to an Oka.

Ah! Now I remember that you posted the project a time ago.
I presume a Unimog is an Oka :)
You Aussies must always be different :)

Blessings!

A Unimog isn't an OKA but an OKA is similar, designed for rugged off-road use and hauling big loads. Similar, but different. We have Unimogs here - The military use them as do private operators.

http://oka-atv.com/

Thank you and I have never heard of an Oka.
Will have a look at the link and sure that I am going to like it.

Yeah man! A perfect truck. I suppose they cost the price of a house.
Something like this can be very great to travel with in Botswana as the elephants will not bother it!
How come that you don't have one? It's ideal for a couple to travel with and one can even mount a 125cc motorbike on the back of this truck for short trips.

There's a couple reasons why I don't have one. I don't have $150,000 to spend on a vehicle I may only use for the 4 weeks of annual leave I have and secondly because I don't think it's the right vehicle for what I need to do, it's overkill. If anything I'd be ok with a 4x4 Iveco Daily which are only around low $100,000. I have a Toyota Landcruiser though which does what I need right now. I'm not one to waste money on things I don't need.

Ah! Like I thought, the price of a house.
Sound thinking that you have and that's why I only have a small VW Polo.
But as we have many dirt roads, I have recently changed the wheels from it's 17" low profiles. They are a pain on ground roads.

So I got 15" rims and fitted tires with more rubber to make up the 17".
Of course I would also love a Toyota Landcruiser but...
So, I am also in your wastage of money club :)

You know, for the last 20 years I've wanted a Landcruiser but chose not to have one. It's not because I couldn't buy one, more that I couldn't buy it in the way I wanted to at that point. So I waited. I had some nice trucks, very capable off-roaders like Hilux, Ranger and D-max, but the Landcruiser had to wait. In 2018 I decided to get it done and you know what? It was worth the wait. It's not the most costly car I have purchased, but the best I have had, the most suited...It wasn't cheap, $100K is a lot of money here, but I am happy to have spent it and glad I waited. Instant gratification is one thing, the value I find in saving, working hard for something and then achieving it is quite another thing altogether. Would I like an Iveco Daily, an OKA or Unimog, a Hummer (with .50 cal on top) etc. Yeah of course, but I'm content with what I have.

You said about your Polo before, nice little car but probably not so good on the dirt as you say...How has the 15's and the additional tyre-wall you gained performed? Better suspension over the rough roads I'd say.