You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 44: See || Hear || Feel - Win HIVE

in Weekend Experiences3 years ago (edited)

As I am starting to write my answer, I just realize that I still haven't decided on which of these 3 senses I would prefer to live without.
I remember Anica, my Bulgarian great-grandmother asking to feel my face and hands when I was little because she couldn't see me, asking to hear my voice while I tell her a few words, a poem, or a song. I was scared of the situation, being about 5-6 years old. But I felt her love and kindness, while she was touching me and cuddling me...and from the tone of her voice. I still wonder how she could live so many years being blind...
At less than 1 year, I had surgery behind both of my ears for otitis. In time, I lost hearing from acute otitis a few times. Last summer, it happened for 10 days while I was living in a tent at the seaside. My senses were sharpening...kinesthetic, olfactive, gustative...I was enjoying life but couldn't hear ...nada!
For the last 5 months, I have been doing 3 RMNs trying to find out why some of the doctors I have seen said I might paralyze...the answers are still not very satisfying.

Therefore, I'll go for HEARING.
Why?

I still want to walk, run, swim, do deep-dives, enjoy making love in any position that I want :) I want to FEEL life.
I am a visual learner, 60% so seeing is very important for me, as well. I'll keep that :)

Hearing is an attribute of our heart in my opinion, just like the other senses. And, I have managed to understand non-verbal communication since 2003, when I first started my neuro-linguistic Programming training. I know now that "I hear you" might often stay for I understand you and what you're feeling. I can understand people even if they don't tell me everything, even if it happens for them to lie, or even if they don't talk at all. Sometimes, we can see in their eyes what they want to tell us. I might miss one of my best friends, which is music. I might miss my beloved ones' voice. I might miss my own voice, my singing moments, my crying moments, my soul might want to verbalize through sounds and hear sounds to connect with.
For now, I am grateful for the health that I have and hope to improve.

Thank you, @galenkp for yet another exceptional topic for this week.

With appreciation,
@regenerette

alina_tudorache_guiding_coaching_at_the_university.jpg

PS: That speaking conference I have been delivering training and workshops for 2 days was the highest challenge for my auditory system. Those microphones didn't work and not all the participants could hear me. It happened the same for me, I could hardly hear them. So I asked them to get closer and be less formal. It was more frustrating than all the cases of otitis that I had :))

Sort:  

Thanks for this really cool response and an insight into your personal troubles around hearing.

I have to say that for me losing hearing was my choice also and for pretty much the same reasons you say as well. Not having hearing would be terrible, but sight or touch? No way, I' would never give them up...Again, for the same reasons you mention.

All of our senses are so vital to our experiences in life and losing one, or all would be so tragic and limiting on life. Losing hearing is probably the lesser of evils in my mind as the other senses, sight, touch and smell for instance would be able to compensate a little easier. Losing my sight isn't something I would feel comfortable with at all.

!ENGAGE 25

It is true that all of our senses are vital, but it is strong when you have all your senses well, and due to some circumstances you lose one.
I know a boy who was born without being able to see, but he gets on very well, he walks alone in the street, and he is also an excellent and well-known flutist. This is how they manage to develop other senses.

Yes, there are many such cases. But losing sight after having it for so long must be terrible.

Yes it is. My grandfather once lost his sight and it was strong for him, I think for everyone at home, he was upset, but he managed to cope, then they operated And he saw again.

They fixed his eyes? Amazing what they can do these days!

No hahaha. I had a cataract. And they could correct the sick.

@galenkp thank you for another challenging post. It has created great interaction and I loved to take a break yesterday from what I was doing and read other people's responses and comments to some. I am so curious about this weekend's topic!

For this week...You mentioned survival a while back...But I can't say more. :)

I am a Leo (a curious cat as well). I'll ave to be patient until next week-end and see. Which is quite a challege in itself for me.

 3 years ago (edited) 

They say patience is a virtue but shut up with all of that and tell me now! Lol.

Haha!

I shall practice it and if I cannot anymore, I'll write you during this week...begging, probably, that you disclose more!
Hugs and good-night!

Night! Have a good, and patient week.

There has already been too much ENGAGE today.