You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend Canning: 500 Pounds of Tomatoes

What a fun story to read and way to go towards your journey to sustainable consumption and self discovery.
So, are these filled bottles came out of 200 pound tomatoes or it's only the first two bottles? I am confused. But, that looks like a lot of fun. I have never done it before.
We do somewhat similar with cucumbers and daikon. Not sauce but pickle it and keep it stored for later months.

Sort:  

Thanks man! The pictures during the how-to were from my work with it. The pictures with our son and the cabinet full were when the 500 pounds were all finished. I will edit to make it more apparent lol.

It was a lot of fun and something we think we will do around the Labor Day holiday in America since it falls at the prime season for tomato picking which is cool. It’s nice to have little traditions which is what we want our son to learn and remember.

What’s daikon again? I’ve heard the name but I’m not incredibly familiar with it. I love homemade pickles! We made those too this summer. My wife made a great batch and I made a disgusting batch hahaha. The flavoring ingredients are like baking, they need to be precise otherwise it’s brutal lol.

Daikon is white long radish. We have both species widely used in our cuisine as salad and pickles.
The canning pics looking good and I must have miscalculated the numbers :P

Ah yes that's what it is! I love radishes but I don't too often see the Daikon ones at the local grocery stores. I might not be looking for it particularly but I will have to try to now. The radishes give a nice kick to salads for sure.

I think having it pickled sounds great, I'm not sure if I've had many other things besides cucumbers, pickled. Avenue for future exploration for sure.

We have Daikons in Asian stores here in Toronto. But, you can find them in any major retail grocery stores to be honest. We pickle Daikon using mustard seeds and mustard oil for the pungent smell and keeping them safe from infection. It's a traditional way to pickle them with peppers and chillies. There are so many ways to test your tastebuds if you are willing to accept the global food culture 😇

Yeah we have numerous Asian markets, some of my favorite ones are the Cambodian ones I used to go to. Lots of great stuff in there!

I've thankfully had a pretty diverse food upbringing via my friends. Had a lot of Spanish friends and a few Cambodian friends and some others but I've eaten at their places and have had some very interesting things! Thankfully my parents weren't "meat and potatoes" type of people either and we had a lot of different things growing up.

I'll have to pick up a Daikon and give it a try this weekend!

!ENGAGE 25

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.