You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement week 21: It's all about food y'all!

Most food lovers who have visited Spain have tried Paella, probably the most popular food from the country. As much as I love eating it I want to talk to you about Fideuá. This is basically as a Paella but instead of rice, you use fideos (thin, short angel hair pasta).

image.png

Although it is served all year long in restaurants, it is a summer dish you can find in any beach restaurant in the country. I am not a great cooker but I love trying it myself although every once in a while we just order it from one of the local restaurants. It is a fantastic dish to eat with friends or family outside on a summer sunny day.

If you feel like trying yourself, here's a link with instructions on how to prepare one, as well as the corresponding video. Hope you enjoy it!

Sort:  

Ohhhhhhh. I'm a fatboy and a big eater. I can tell I'm going to like this week's category.

That looks so good. I can see prawns and shrimp and muscles and pasta and just pure goodness!

So is this an expensive dish or is it priced for the masses? I have definite favorites in both categories :)

Thanks for playing early this week! You are probably going to shape my response a bit. I'm thinking!

My inner fat man is going to come out with this weeks topic lol.

LOL. Inner fat man. Made me chuckle. !ENGAGE 10

Lol, inner fat man.

I've been thinking about this topic for a while...I hope it turns out to be a good one. Who doesn't like food right? How could it not be good?

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

I feel ya bro. @bigtom13 "The Fatboy" comment... Lmao.

Constant battle for me being a trucker. Some end up being 400 pounds after a few years of it.

I am holding steady at 225-230 lb. range. 40-50 over for only being 5'6" in height.

Wow! This is serious, no wonder you guys are almost the size of the truck. 😳

I seen a driver couple weeks back. Sitting on 2 regular sized chairs. Filling both of them at a diner table with enough food on it for 3 people.

I was gonna snap a picture. But felt sad for the guy and moved along.

Lack of self control, food addiction is real. I usually only eat one time a day. And a light snack in the afternoon/early evening.

😂 😅 🤣,whoa! OMG! That's really funny but I know you are at least almost it's size 🙄😃😆😄

I'm sitting right on 250 at 6'4". I'd like to be rid of 25 but...

Not really expensive, in a regular restaurant you may pay €15 per person. There are two or three food manufacturers who sell them here in Spain, not sure if you can find them in the US or Australia but you need to complement the pasta with the seafood as all they provide is the broth. You can give it a try following the instructions from the video, it is not hard to do.
Here's the link to one of the only companies I would recommend to purchase from.

My stuff never looks pretty like that but I'll give it a try. It just looks scrumptious!

Thanks for the link.

15E...Just under $25AUD...Not too badly priced. I figure it'd come in decent sized serves so doesn't seem too costly. I'd say here in Australia paella is probably more prevalent; I've certainly never heard of, or seen, Fideuá.

It's on my radar now though and will give it a try if I can find it.

yes, it looks like seafood spaghetti, and spaghetti is almost always good.

Oh yes - I remember this! I had a spanish boyfriend back in the day who had grown up in Manilla before California and Melbourne, Australia) and HIS MOM MADE THIS. A standard Sunday after church 'thing".

Those noodles are incredibly common here in Thailand too and we use them all year round as "junk food" and food emergency staples - they just need to sit in hot water for a few moments and they're good to go.

Thanks for some nice memories today!

!ENGAGE 25

Your Sunday after church thing sounds more exciting than mine. I just had boring old roast beef or chicken or pork that we'd raised. It was actually quite good, and my grandmother busted her ass every Sunday. She may have made a rollover in her grave with that line :)

Yum!

I love paella and am pretty sure I'd like this too! I've never heard of it though, I guess maybe it takes a back-seat role to the more famous paella. It certainly looks good though and I can imagine the taste, pasta instead or rice.

This is a good start to the weekend topic mate, well done!

God! I would definitely try Fideuá ! I'm not a rice lover so 🤷🏻‍♀️ hahaha it's a definitely YES to this one

Not a rice lover?! That's blasphemy to me 🤣. Maybe I eat too much rice!

Blocking user*** hahahahhaha

I love the dish it looks so tasty but I didn't get the names of the ingredients used in preparing in according to the video, or maybe I'm not familiar with the names I heard apart from pasta, onion, tomatoes, garlic. Please list the ingredients

It's not hard to do, if you check the link from the post there are written instructions with the ingredients.

Thanks, will do that

You did it very well to present the fideua, as a lot of people heard of pallea, but not so of fideua.

The color of it alone makes me want to gobble some of it! What are the black items in your photo by the way?

Those are mussels, but the good part is you can add any seafood you like on top of the pasta.

I haven't had a good dish of mussels in a long time. I did get to enjoy a little seafood this summer but mussels wasn't on the menu at the time. Next year for sure!

Wow! This looks delicious, I just feel like having a taste, I'm tempted. 😋

Damn that looks delicious! I haven't had a Paella dish in years! I think the last one I had was in Puerto Rico and it was absolute amazing. This here looks incredible, I think the thin angel hair pasta would add such a nice element to it that I can already know I would love it. It seems cool that it's one of those delicious dishes that flies under the radar.

There's a very American, Boston lunch food that a lot of people don't know but it's equally delicious. A roast beef sandwich with cheese, mayonnaise and barbecue sauce. I'm not a huge beef fan but a roast beef sandwich is one thing I have to get at least once a year because the combination of all 3 are fantastic! Most people that come to the Boston area get lobster or something more popular but we've got our fair share of equally delicious things that aren't as famous to people who don't live in the area, like your dish. I want one now hehe

I love trying local delicious jewels not many people know. Popular food is great to try but at a certain point, the offer is so big, only a few places keep authenticity. I'd love to try that Boston Lunch!

it looks good, I love pasta, okay i just like to eat, but it does look very good, and something I would likely try at a restaurant.

Very interesting... It looks like something my @pooky-jax would like.

Only recently, in the last 10 years or so, Have I started eating things that I never thought I would.

I did not even try crab legs until I was in my 40's. Boy was I missing out on some great foods.

So I would probably try this..?

I'm with bigtom on this one. No crab meat for 40 years??

Alaska snow crab --my favorite seafood.

Yep. Still gives me the heeebeee jeeebeees crackin' those giant sea bugs open to get to the meat. But Oh So Good dipped in sweet butter. Soooo Goood.!!

Such an interesting pallet. See, I like crab without anything. No butter, lemon, nothing. When it melts without anything.. oh man.

You need to try some Dunganess from northern Puget Sound. I think it's better than Snow Crab. Just sayin'

It's the deshelling that goes with dungeness Tom. That and the sharp armor they got.

Yep. You've got to work for the good stuff with them.

Didn't try Crab until you were 40? You were culturally deprived my friend. Just sayin'

Hahahaha am sorry I couldn't hold the laughter

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Paella looks yum and impressive huh We don't have any Spanish Restaurant here 😐 Well, I may find it somewhere else hopefully. 😍

It was Christmas prep and test this weekend, to see if Smallsteps can handle some special gingerbread cookies. at the very least, she enjoyed the baking and the taste of them :) I baked you something special too!

hahaha, I am not gonna ask who was the one who ate it!

Did @galenkp make a reply? If he did I haven't seen it yet...

On what?

The cookie Taraz sent you.

I just ate it, no comment required. Mum taught me never talk with my mouth full. :)

I'll remember that.

I love Paella!

I've never eaten this dish before. It looks delicious. You say it's a summer dish, but it looks like it could be a fulfilling meal in the cooler months. Angel hair pasta I love. It would probably pair well with other types of seafood and probably and meat, perhaps chicken.

The dish looks like what I've eaten before in my country as Shrimp Creole. But's prepared with rice.

Thanks for sharing.

There are a bunch of different varieties, the nice thing is you can add seafood, meat, veggies, or whatever you want.