IDODO RIVER (WONDER LAND OF MY INNER CHILD) @sonofremi

in Weekend Experiences2 years ago (edited)

Hey there am Kenechukwu Ogbuishi, this is my first ever post in this community. I will telling you about a place that made up my childhood, this place represents a time when my life seemed simple, I didn't really care about the problems of the world, and I could only see the earth through the eyes of a child. I hope you enjoy, I hope to make more post in this community.

Question for the weekend

Tell us about one of your most favoured, enjoyable, beautiful or idyllic moments spent in nature - Where and when was it, what did you do there. Your garden, the woods, the seaside, tropical paradise or desert, a park in the city or the wide open plains; anywhere counts as long as it was a moment spent with nature.

images (46).jpeg
Source

When I was about 3 to 4 years my father worked as a dry cleaner, he still had other part time jobs as a teacher but he needed to support his family and provide so he tried his best to be a hard worker. To start the business he used our home as his first workplace, he contracted a carpenter to construct a wooden table and he used the table to iron/press customers clothes. I would always remember playing and meeting my dad om his work bench, focused on people's clothes.

As a start up business in dry cleaning some resources are needed for the business to thrive, those resources include water, electricity and gas/fuel. But at that point in time, we weren't financially stable to fund the resources for the business. But my dad came up with an alternative. Growing up, my mother had a job that took all her time, and caused her to be transfer to different states in my country, that kind of movement cannot be done with children so she had leave us in the custody of our father. My dad also had work on his hands and he also needed to take care us. Oneday he found a way to solve the problem of lack of resources.

Oneday, father called me and my brother to use a bag to pack clothes and follow him. We got into the car and he drove to a bridge, he packed his car and we carried the clothes on our hands. We went below the bridge then we found a small river, my eyes glittered because I had never seen a body of water in my life because we don't live in a rivernile area. He took the clothes from us and stay at one part of the river to wash them. He left me and my brother to go and explore. I immediately took off all my clothes and dived into the water, I felt the current on my feet and the sun made the water glittered. My brother playful splashed me water and we began to play.

20210723_094225.jpg
A rare picture of me at Idodo River

My father had found a way to kill two birds with one stone, he had found a way to wash clothes for dry cleaning work and also keep an eye on us. After that day, we were always happy for a visit to Idodo river , we had our favourite spot where we play with the sand and made some friends of our own age . Some people also came to fish after fishing they would fry some and offer us to eat. This particular spot played a huge role in my childhood and it became an escape from me.

After a few years my father got a contact with a dry cleaning company and we had to move. This year would make it 15 years since my last visit to Idodo river. I would still like to go there in the future to rekindle lost memories, maybe someday I would give it a try.

Thanks for reading this far, I am @sonofremi and it's a pleasure to be here in this community

20211126_191434_0000.jpg

Sort:  

Wonderful memory to have, and a photograph of that cute little guy who knew to take his clothing off and enjoy the water.

I hope you return to the river with your brother and spend time one day remembering these precious moments in nature.

@tipu curate

Maybe oneday I would go, it's now on my bucket list. Thanks for reading 🖤

Hopefully still in good condition as you remember, our rivers have got to be so dirty in some areas!

We can only be hopefully.

Hello, we have chosen this post to be curated by MCGI Cares(Hive) community. We are inviting you to join our community that study the words of God.

BES-MCGI-Cares-Banner-Web-ver01-1024x827-1.jpg

Idodo river sounds like a very memorable place for you. I hope you will have a time in the near future to visit it again :)

Sometimes We have to silence the noise around us and see the world through the eyes of children. That place is special to me, I would definitely think of visiting it again.

That is so true. Nature teaches us to appreciate everything around us :) I hope you will one day :)

Congratulations @sonofremi! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 4500 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 4750 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Saint-Nicholas challenge for well-behaved girls and boys
Feedback from the December 1st Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - Winners List